Two Car Carport Size: Which Width and Depth to Buy for Two Vehicles
CarportBay Editorial Team Last verified
Sellers list a two car carport at 18 to 24 feet wide and mostly 20 to 21 feet deep, and they disagree on which size is standard. At 20 feet wide, two 2025 Honda Civics leave 32.7 inches between them, while two 2026 Ford F-150s leave 26.7 inches.

| Vehicle pair | 18 ft wide | 20 ft wide | 22 ft wide | 24 ft wide |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Two 2025 Honda Civic Sedans | 24.7 in, tight | 32.7 in | 40.7 in | 48.7 in |
| Two 2025 Toyota Camrys | 23.7 in, tight | 31.7 in | 39.7 in | 47.7 in |
| Two 2026 Ford F-150s | 18.7 in, tight | 26.7 in, tight | 34.7 in | 42.7 in |
| Two 2026 Ford F-150s, mirrors extended | 8.2 in, too little | 16.2 in, tight | 24.2 in, tight | 32.2 in |
Which two car carport size do sellers call standard?
Fifteen sources read in October 2026 put a two car carport between 18 and 24 ft wide, with one source reaching 26 ft. Of the fifteen, 12 name 20 ft as the low end of standard. For other footprints, see CarportBay's carport sizing guide.
Carport.com, in a 2016 page updated in 2019, gives 18 ft as its standard two car width. Alan's Factory Outlet gave 22 ft in an October 2023 help article, and California All Steel calls 22 to 24 ft the "practical standard" in a December 2025 guide.
Depth clusters at 20 to 21 ft. MaxSteel Buildings (February 17, 2026) lists 22 to 26 ft for SUVs and trucks.
Related reading: what size carport do I need and carport dimensions in feet and inches.
Fifteen sources, side by side
| Source | Date | Smallest | Standard | Largest | Depth |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Google search feature, "two car carport size" | 2026-10-06 | 18 | 20 | 24 | 20 to 24 |
| Carport Central, two car page | 2026-07-02 | 18 | 20 | 24 | 21 |
| Carports R Us, size chart | 2026 | 20 | 20 | 24 | 20 or 21 |
| Alan's Factory Outlet, 2 car carport page | 2026-06-15 | 20 | 20 | 24 | 20 to 30 |
| Alan's Factory Outlet, sizes page | 2026-06-01 | 20 | 20 to 24 | 24 | not stated |
| Bulldog Steel Structures, size guide | 2026-05 | 18 | 20 to 22 | 24 | 21 to 26 (chart) |
| MaxSteel Buildings, sizing guide | 2026-02-17 | 18 | 20 to 22 | 24 | 22 to 26 (SUVs, trucks) |
| California All Steel, width guide | 2025-12-23 | 20 | 22 to 24 | 26 | not stated |
| Plan7Architect, double carport guide | 2025-07-28 | 18 | 20 | 23 | 18 to 20 |
| Eagle Carports, size guide blog | 2025-04-10 | 18 | 20 to 22 | 24 | 21 minimum |
| Homenish, size blog | 2024-02-05 | 20 | 20 | 20 | 22 |
| Alan's Factory Outlet, help article | 2023-10-01, over 3 years old | 20 | 22 | 24 | 20 |
| Quictent, size blog | 2023-03-18, over 3 years old | 20 | 20 to 22 | 24 | 20 to 25 |
| Carport.com, two car page | 2016-02-12, updated 2019-05-01, over 3 years old | 18 | 18 | 18 | 21 |
| EMB Metal Buildings, two-car page | undated | 18 | 20 | 24 | 20 |
Table 2 lists the 15 sources: 2 name 22 ft and 1 names 18 ft as the low end of standard. Rows older than three years are marked. Plan7Architect publishes 6 m figures for a non-US audience.
How wide must a two car carport be?
A two car carport must leave a usable gap beside and between the vehicles, and at 20 feet wide two 2025 Honda Civics leave 32.7 inches per space.
Gap per space is the clear width between a vehicle and the next vehicle or the carport leg. Two vehicles leave three spaces: two outer and one between. The page works it as the carport width in inches, minus both vehicle widths, divided by 3.
How much room do two named vehicles leave at each width?
Two 2026 Ford F-150s leave 26.7 inches per space in a 20-foot-wide two car carport, 34.7 inches at 22 feet and 42.7 inches at 24 feet.
| Vehicle pair | 18 ft | 20 ft | 21 ft | 22 ft | 23 ft | 24 ft | 26 ft |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Two 2025 Honda Civic Sedans | 24.7 in, tight | 32.7 in | 36.7 in | 40.7 in | 44.7 in | 48.7 in | 56.7 in |
| Two 2025 Toyota Camrys | 23.7 in, tight | 31.7 in | 35.7 in | 39.7 in | 43.7 in | 47.7 in | 55.7 in |
| Two 2026 Ford F-150s | 18.7 in, tight | 26.7 in, tight | 30.7 in | 34.7 in | 38.7 in | 42.7 in | 50.7 in |
| Two 2026 Ford F-150s, mirrors extended | 8.2 in, too little | 16.2 in, tight | 20.2 in, tight | 24.2 in, tight | 28.2 in, tight | 32.2 in | 40.2 in |
| Two 2025 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 crew cabs | 17.9 in, tight | 25.9 in, tight | 29.9 in, tight | 33.9 in | 37.9 in | 41.9 in | 49.9 in |
Widths: Honda Civic Sedan 70.9 in (Honda), Toyota Camry 72.4 in (Cars.com), Ford F-150 79.9 in and 95.7 in with mirrors extended (Ford), Chevrolet Silverado 1500 crew cab 81.1 in (Dimensions.com).
At 20 ft wide (240 in), two 2025 Honda Civics (70.9 in each) leave 98.2 in, or 32.7 in in each of three spaces.
At 20 ft, two full-size pickups meet a 24 in gap and miss a 30 in gap. Each footprint has its own page: 18x20 carport size and 24x24 carport size.

What width does a 12, 24, 30 or 36 inch gap need?
Two 2026 Ford F-150s need 20.82 feet of width for a 30 inch gap per space, and two 2025 Honda Civics need 19.32 feet. For the trucks, 159.8 in of vehicle plus three 30 in spaces is 249.8 in.
| Vehicle pair | 12 in gap | 24 in gap | 30 in gap | 36 in gap | Smallest listed width for 30 in |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Two 2025 Honda Civic Sedans | 14.82 ft | 17.82 ft | 19.32 ft | 20.82 ft | 20 ft |
| Two 2025 Toyota Camrys | 15.07 ft | 18.07 ft | 19.57 ft | 21.07 ft | 20 ft |
| A 2025 Toyota Camry and a 2026 Ford F-150 | 15.69 ft | 18.69 ft | 20.19 ft | 21.69 ft | 22 ft |
| Two 2026 Ford F-150s | 16.32 ft | 19.32 ft | 20.82 ft | 22.32 ft | 22 ft |
| Two 2026 Ford F-150s, mirrors extended | 18.95 ft | 21.95 ft | 23.45 ft | 24.95 ft | 24 ft |
| Two 2025 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 crew cabs | 16.52 ft | 19.52 ft | 21.02 ft | 22.52 ft | 22 ft |
The last column is the smallest width that a seller lists, among 18, 20, 22, 24 and 26 ft, that reaches a 30 in gap.
What do "tight", "snug" and "comfortable" mean in inches?
California All Steel puts the minimum door gap at 24 inches and the ideal at 30 to 36 inches. Bulldog Steel Structures (May 2026) says a 6-foot-wide car needs about 9 feet, which for two 72 in cars is 18 ft and 24 in per space. MaxSteel Buildings (February 17, 2026) advises 2 to 5 ft of buffer per vehicle and gives no formula. CarportBay reads below 30 in as tight and below 12 in as too little room to open a door, working rules and not a code or a seller standard.
| Seller word | Source and date | Width | Gap per space |
|---|---|---|---|
| "tight door clearance" | Alan's Factory Outlet help article, 2023-10-01 | 20 ft | Civic pair 32.7 in; Camry pair 31.7 in |
| "tight clearance" | California All Steel, 2025-12-23 | 20 ft | Civic pair 32.7 in; Camry pair 31.7 in |
| "snug fit" | MaxSteel Buildings, 2026-02-17 | 18 ft | Civic pair 24.7 in; F-150 pair 18.7 in |
| "standard comfortable spacing" | MaxSteel Buildings, 2026-02-17 | 20 to 22 ft | Camry pair 31.7 to 39.7 in; F-150 pair 26.7 to 34.7 in |
| "comfortable for two full-size vehicles" | Bulldog Steel Structures, 2026-05 | 20 to 22 ft | F-150 pair 26.7 to 34.7 in; Silverado pair 25.9 to 33.9 in |
| "the practical standard for most homeowners" | California All Steel, 2025-12-23 | 22 to 24 ft | Camry pair 39.7 to 47.7 in |
| "extra room for trucks or SUVs" | MaxSteel Buildings, 2026-02-17 | 24 ft | F-150 pair 42.7 in |
| "room to open doors between full-size trucks" | Carports R Us, 2026 | 24 ft | F-150 pair 42.7 in; with mirrors extended 32.2 in |
The same width carries opposite words. At 20 ft, the 32.7 in that two Civics leave is called tight by Alan's, a minimum by California All Steel and standard by Carports R Us and EMB.
How deep and how tall should a two car carport be?
Most sellers list a two car carport 20 or 21 feet deep. At 20 feet that leaves 46.5 inches behind a 2025 Toyota Camry and falls 3.9 inches short of the longest 2026 Ford F-150. At 21 ft, that truck has 8.1 in to spare.
Leg height is a separate choice. Bulldog lists legs of 7 to 9 ft and MaxSteel 10 to 12 ft, so sellers do not agree on one height. A 7 ft leg leaves 3.3 in above a 2026 F-150 that is 80.7 in tall. The two car carport dimensions page holds the full depth and height tables.
What does a 20x20 or 20x21 label mean?
A two car carport labelled 20x20 has a frame 20 feet wide and 20 feet long, and one labelled 20x21 is the same width with a frame 1 foot longer.
Carports R Us lists the two car size as "20x20 (20x21)" in 2026 and says roof length runs about 1 ft longer than frame length.
Bulldog's May 2026 chart lists both 18x21 and 20x21, and Alan's lists 20x20 and 24x20. At a 20 ft width, one foot of length is 400 sq ft against 420 sq ft.
A listing should say whether its second number is frame length or roof length, because a shorter frame changes the depth left. For sizes by footprint, see 2 car carport dimensions; for one footprint in detail, see 20x20 carport size.
When do two cars need more than a standard size?
A two car carport that also holds storage needs 6 to 10 feet more width or length, according to Bulldog Steel Structures. Alan's Factory Outlet calls that size a 2 1/2 car carport.
Bulldog's May 2026 chart lists a 24x36 for two vehicles plus a workshop, and Homenish (February 5, 2024) offers a tandem 12x40.
End to end, two 2025 Toyota Camrys measure 387.0 in and leave 93.0 in to spare in a 40 ft depth. Two 2026 Ford F-150s measure 487.8 in and run 7.8 in over.
Roof styles are covered in what a two car carport is and the styles it comes in, and double carports and their roof styles covers the other wording sellers use.
Check your own two vehicles (Fit Checker)
The Fit Checker returns the gap per space, the depth left and the height margin for two vehicles.
Choose a 2025 Toyota Camry, 2025 Honda CR-V, 2026 Ford F-150 or 2025 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 crew cab, or enter your own width, length and height. For a 2025 Honda Civic Sedan, enter 70.9 in wide, 184.8 in long and 55.7 in high.
Fit Checker
Pick a width, a depth, two vehicles and a leg height.
A gap under 30 in is marked tight, and one under 12 in leaves too little room to open a door. Both lines are CarportBay working rules, not a code or a seller standard.
When a two car carport size is the wrong choice
A 20 ft wide two car carport is the wrong choice for two full-size pickups with mirrors extended, which leaves 16.2 inches per space.
At 18 ft wide the same trucks leave 8.2 in with mirrors extended, too little to open a door, and 18.7 in without. Two compact cars have a limit too: at 18 ft, two 2025 Toyota Camrys leave 23.7 in, under the 24 in minimum California All Steel gives.
Depth can rule a size out too: a 20 ft depth is 3.9 in short of the longest F-150 and 1.4 in short of a 2025 Silverado 1500 crew cab.

Does a two car carport need a permit?
Every two car carport size on this page covers 360 sq ft or more. That is above the 200 sq ft that item 1 of 2021 International Residential Code (IRC) R105.2 exempts for one-story detached accessory structures. It is also above the 120 sq ft in the 2022 California Residential Code. Neither item names carports, and local codes differ.
Confirm current requirements with your local building department before beginning construction. Permit rules by state and city are covered in how carport permit rules work.
Share your ZIP code and project details, and we match you with installers and manufacturers that serve your area.
A good size is 20 to 22 feet wide and 20 to 21 feet deep for two cars or small SUVs. Two full-size pickups need 24 feet of width. At 22 feet, two 2025 Toyota Camrys leave 39.7 inches per space. Sellers differ; Table 2 lists fifteen sources.
Yes for two cars: two 2025 Toyota Camrys leave 31.7 inches per space. Two 2026 Ford F-150s leave 26.7 inches, and 16.2 inches with mirrors extended; the longest F-150 is 3.9 inches longer than a 20-foot depth.
Sellers do not agree. Of fifteen sources read in October 2026, 12 put the low end of standard at 20 feet, 2 at 22 feet and one page from 2016 at 18 feet. Table 2 lists each source with its date.
A 20x20 is the smallest size Alan's Factory Outlet gives for a fully enclosed two-car garage. That is a garage with two garage doors, per its help article of October 1, 2023. As a carport it is the same 400 square foot footprint; converting it is covered on the garage conversion page.
A 20 by 21 foot two car carport is 6.10 by 6.40 meters, and 24 feet wide is 7.32 meters. Plan7Architect's 6 meter figure is a metric design size, not a US seller size. Feet convert to meters by multiplying by 0.3048.
It can. A 20x20 is 400 square feet, above the 200 square feet in the IRC exemption for one-story detached accessory structures and the 120 in California. Your local rule decides, so confirm current requirements with your local building department.
Two 2026 Ford F-150s leave 26.7 inches per space at 20 feet and 34.7 inches at 22 feet. Eagle Carports (April 10, 2025) advises 24 feet for full-size vans and trucks, and California All Steel (December 23, 2025) advises 24 to 26 feet.
Converting a carport into a garage is covered in turning a carport into a garage.
Next steps: dimensions, price and kits
A two car carport size is settled by three checks: the width from Table 4, the depth for the longest vehicle and the leg height for the tallest.
Need the full dimensions, prices and metric sizes for two cars? See two car carport dimensions.
Prefer to install it yourself? Then compare two car carport kits and the sizes they come in. To have one delivered and installed, see the have a two car carport delivered and installed guide.
Sources
Vehicle widths, lengths and heights come from the makers or the listings named below, size statements from seller and publisher pages, and the code figures from published copies of the 2021 IRC and the 2022 California Residential Code. All were read on October 6, 2026 unless noted.
- Honda, 2025 Civic Sedan specifications: Civic dimensions.
- Honda, 2025 CR-V specifications: CR-V dimensions.
- Ford, F-150 specifications: F-150 width with and without mirrors, length and height.
- Cars.com, 2025 Toyota Camry: Camry dimensions, secondary listing.
- Dimensions.com, Silverado 1500 Crew Cab: Silverado dimensions, secondary listing.
- Alan's Factory Outlet, 2 car carport: page modified June 15, 2026.
- Alan's Factory Outlet, sizes and garage dimensions: page modified June 1, 2026.
- Alan's Factory Outlet, help article: page dated October 1, 2023.
- Bulldog Steel Structures, carport size guide: May 2026.
- Bulldog Steel Structures, two cars and extra storage: undated.
- California All Steel, how wide a carport needs to be: December 23, 2025.
- Carport Central, two car carports: modified July 2, 2026.
- Coast to Coast Carports, two car carports: listed widths of 18 to 26 ft.
- Carport.com, standard two car carport: February 12, 2016, updated May 1, 2019.
- Carports R Us, carport sizes: 2026.
- Eagle Carports, carport size guide: April 10, 2025.
- Engineered Metal Buildings, two-car carports: undated.
- Homenish, standard carport sizes: February 5, 2024.
- MaxSteel Buildings, metal carport sizing guide: February 17, 2026.
- Plan7Architect, how big a double carport should be: July 28, 2025, metric figures for a non-US audience.
- Quictent, what carport size to choose: March 18, 2023.
- Grant County, WA copy of 2021 IRC R105.2: 200 sq ft exemption.
- El Dorado County, CA copy of 2022 California Residential Code R105.2: 120 sq ft exemption.
Last verified: October 2026
Last verified: October 2026. Seller pages were read on October 6, 2026, and vehicle widths come from the makers or the listings named above. This page is rechecked every six months.
Ready to move forward
Get Matched With Installers Near You
Tell us a bit about your project and we will connect you with vetted installers and manufacturers who serve your area. There is no cost or obligation to request information.
See the affiliate disclosure page for how referrals work.