18x20 Carport Size Guide: Vehicle Fit in 360 Sq Ft and Cost
CarportBay Editorial Team Last verified
An 18x20 carport covers 360 sq ft. With the 18 ft side as the width, one mid-size car leaves about 6 ft on each side. Two cars fit with about 2 ft between and beside them, which is tight. Three cars do not fit across. October 2026 seller listings start near $1,400, and one cost guide gives $3,000–$7,200 installed.

On this page
Fit Checker
Choose which way the 360 sq ft footprint runs, then pick one to three vehicles to see the space per gap, the depth left and the height margin.
How big is an 18x20 carport?
An 18x20 carport measures 18 ft by 20 ft, so it covers 360 sq ft. Width is written first, so the 18 ft side is the width unless the carport is turned. In inches that is 216 in by 240 in, the footprint used for every figure here.
That is 120 sq ft more than a 12x20 and 40 sq ft less than a 20x20. For the narrower footprint, see the 12x20 carport dimensions.
Door gap is the open width beside and between parked vehicles. Leg height, or eave height, is the height of the vertical posts. Clear width is the space between the legs.
Sellers measure nominal width differently, so confirm the frame width. With 2.5 in leg tubing at each outer edge, as Alan's Factory Outlet and Keen's Buildings list, the clear width is about 211 in. That trims a two-Camry gap from 23.7 in to 22.1 in. For other widths and depths, use the carport size guide and sizing calculator.
How many cars fit in an 18x20 carport?
An 18x20 carport fits one car with room on both sides, or two cars side by side with tight gaps. The gap is the open width beside and between vehicles: the footprint width minus the summed vehicle widths, divided by the vehicle count plus 1.
Every figure below is arithmetic on published vehicle dimensions, worked out by the Editorial Team and never measured on site. Widths exclude mirrors unless a row says so.
| Vehicle set | Body widths (in) | Free width across 18 ft (in) | Space per gap across 18 ft (216 in) | Space per gap across 20 ft (240 in) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| One 2025 Toyota Camry | 72.4 | 143.6 | 71.8 in (6.0 ft) each side | 83.8 in (7.0 ft) each side |
| One 2025 Honda CR-V | 73.5 | 142.5 | 71.25 in (5.9 ft) each side | 83.25 in (6.9 ft) each side |
| One 2026 Ford F-150 | 79.9 | 136.1 | 68.05 in (5.7 ft) each side | 80.05 in (6.7 ft) each side |
| One 2025 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 crew cab | 81.1 | 134.9 | 67.45 in (5.6 ft) each side | 79.45 in (6.6 ft) each side |
| Two 2025 Toyota Camrys | 72.4 each | 71.2 | 23.7 in (2.0 ft) | 31.7 in (2.6 ft) |
| Two 2025 Honda CR-Vs | 73.5 each | 69.0 | 23.0 in (1.9 ft) | 31.0 in (2.6 ft) |
| A 2025 Toyota Camry and a 2025 Honda CR-V | 72.4, 73.5 | 70.1 | 23.4 in (2.0 ft) | 31.4 in (2.6 ft) |
| A 2025 Toyota Camry and a 2026 Ford F-150 | 72.4, 79.9 | 63.7 | 21.2 in (1.8 ft) | 29.2 in (2.4 ft) |
| Two 2026 Ford F-150s | 79.9 each | 56.2 | 18.7 in (1.6 ft) | 26.7 in (2.2 ft) |
| Two 2025 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 crew cabs | 81.1 each | 53.8 | 17.9 in (1.5 ft) | 25.9 in (2.2 ft) |
| Two 2026 Ford F-150s, mirrors extended | 95.7 each | 24.6 | 8.2 in | 16.2 in (1.4 ft) |
| Three 2025 Toyota Camrys | 72.4 each | -1.2 | Does not fit (1.2 in too wide) | 5.7 in |
One vehicle with room to spare (18 ft wide)
One 2025 Toyota Camry, 72.4 in wide, leaves 71.8 in (6.0 ft) on each side. Johnson Carports calls the size a roomy single-car carport.
Two vehicles side by side (18 ft wide)
Two 2025 Toyota Camrys leave 23.7 in (2.0 ft) per gap across the 18 ft width. Two 2026 Ford F-150s leave 18.7 in, and with mirrors extended to 95.7 in the gap drops to 8.2 in. Each is under CarportBay's 30 in marker for a tight gap. Planning a 2 car carport starts with the gap between vehicles.

Alan's Factory Outlet says two cars in an 18x20 will probably dent doors over time and recommends at least 20 ft of width for two cars. Footprints from 20 ft wide are covered in the two-car carport dimensions.
Three vehicles and pickups
Three 2025 Toyota Camrys need 217.2 in against 216 in, so three cars do not fit across. Pickups fill the depth instead: a 2025 Silverado 1500 crew cab is 241.4 in long and the longest 2026 F-150 is 243.9 in, against 240 in.
| Vehicle | Length (in) | In a 20 ft depth (240 in) | In an 18 ft depth (216 in) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 Toyota Camry | 193.5 | 46.5 in left | 22.5 in left |
| 2025 Honda CR-V | 184.8 | 55.2 in left | 31.2 in left |
| 2026 Ford F-150, shortest configuration | 209.4 | 30.6 in left | 6.6 in left |
| 2026 Ford F-150, longest configuration | 243.9 | 3.9 in past | 27.9 in past |
| 2025 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 crew cab, standard bed | 241.4 | 1.4 in past | 25.4 in past |
Is an 18x20 carport the same as a 20x18 or an 18x21?
An 18x20 carport and a 20x18 carport cover the same 360 sq ft; only the side that is the width differs. The first number is the width, so an 18x20 is 18 ft wide by 20 ft deep and a 20x18 is 20 ft wide by 18 ft deep.
Turned to 20 ft wide, two 2025 Toyota Camrys leave 31.7 in (2.6 ft) per gap, against 23.7 in at 18 ft. One Camry then leaves 22.5 in of depth, against 46.5 in (Table 2).
Some sellers list an 18x21 as its own size. Carport.com shows an 18 ft by 21 ft carport at 378 sq ft, and Alan's Factory Outlet lists a 6 in roof extension at each end of a 20 ft frame. Confirm which length a listing measures. For the single-car footprint, see 18x21 carport single-car dimensions.
How tall should the legs of an 18x20 carport be?
The legs of an 18x20 carport should clear your tallest vehicle with room to spare. Alan's Factory Outlet lists a 6 ft standard leg and advises a side height about 1 ft above the tallest vehicle.
Table 3 shows the margin in inches between each vehicle roof and four leg heights. A 6 ft leg is 72 in, which is 3.4 in lower than a 2025 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 (75.4 in) and 8.7 in lower than the tallest 2026 Ford F-150 (80.7 in). A 7 ft leg clears the F-150 by 3.3 in and an 8 ft leg by 15.3 in.
| Vehicle | Height (in) | 6 ft leg (72 in) | 7 ft leg (84 in) | 8 ft leg (96 in) | 9 ft leg (108 in) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 Toyota Camry | 56.9 | +15.1 | +27.1 | +39.1 | +51.1 |
| 2025 Honda CR-V | 66.5 | +5.5 | +17.5 | +29.5 | +41.5 |
| 2025 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 crew cab | 75.4 | -3.4 | +8.6 | +20.6 | +32.6 |
| 2026 Ford F-150 (tallest figure) | 80.7 | -8.7 | +3.3 | +15.3 | +27.3 |
Clearance height is measured under the lowest beam and can differ from the leg height.
What does an 18x20 carport cost in 2026?
Listed prices for an 18x20 carport in October 2026 run from $1,369 for a frame-only kit to $5,135 for a side-entry listing, and one cost guide gives $3,000–$7,200 installed.
| Layer | Seller or source | Listed price | Date | Installation included |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kit | VersaTube Classic 18W x 20L x 7H | $2,425 | 2026-10-05 | No (DIY kit, shipping included) |
| Kit | VersaTube frame-only 20W x 18L, Menards | $1,369.00 | 2026-10-05 | No (frame only) |
| Kit | Sheds Direct 18x20 | $2,419 | 2026-10-05 | Not stated in the listing |
| Seller-installed | Alan's Factory Outlet, regular roof | $1,395.00 | 2026-10-05 | Yes, where the seller serves |
| Seller-installed | Alan's Factory Outlet, boxed eave | $1,595.00 | 2026-10-05 | Yes, where the seller serves |
| Seller-installed | Alan's Factory Outlet, vertical roof | $1,795.00 | 2026-10-05 | Yes, where the seller serves |
| Seller-installed | Keen's Buildings, 6 ft rounded roof and A-frame | $1,870.00 and $1,995.00 | 2026-10-05 | Yes |
| Seller-installed | Prestige, 6 ft, 7 ft and 9 ft vertical | $1,835, $2,035 and $3,570 | 2026-10-05 | Not stated in the listing |
| Seller-installed | Gold Tier; Metal America; Metal Garage | $1,514.70; $1,799.99; $1,605.00 | 2026-10-05 | Not stated in the listing |
| Seller-installed | Coast to Coast; Steel Carports | $3,465 (from); $3,385 and $5,135 | 2026-10-05 | Not stated in the listing; Coast to Coast says the final price varies by state |
| Cost guide | HomeGuide | $3,000–$7,200 | Updated 2026-01-16 | Installed range |
| Cost guide | Angi, per sq ft (no 18x20 row) | $12–$40 per sq ft | Updated 2026-09-22 | Professional install |
Kit-only versus installed prices
A kit price covers the structure and leaves out installation, slab and permit. VersaTube lists its Classic kit at $2,425 with shipping included, or $6.74 per sq ft. A seller-installed price adds labor and delivery: Alan's Factory Outlet lists $1,395.00 for a regular roof, or $3.88 per sq ft, and Keen's Buildings lists $1,870.00, or $5.19 per sq ft. Kit prices on this page are for the structure only. See the carport kit buying guide for which kits include legs, panels and hardware.
Why listed prices differ
Build type, specification and site work move a listed price. A frame-only kit, a seller-installed carport and a cost-guide range are different products, and leg height, roof style and steel gauge change each. HomeGuide adds a permit at $75 to $300 and site preparation at $1,000 to $7,000 or more.
HomeGuide prints $8 to $20 per sq ft installed, which is $2,880 to $7,200 for 360 sq ft, against the $3,000 low end it prints for an 18x20.
Does an 18x20 carport need a concrete slab?
Whether an 18x20 carport needs a slab depends on the seller's installation specification and your local code. Alan's Factory Outlet lists installation on ground, gravel, asphalt or concrete and says a concrete pad should be 1 ft longer and wider than the carport. That is 19 ft by 21 ft (399 sq ft).
HomeGuide lists concrete slab work at $5 to $10 per sq ft, which is $1,995 to $3,990 for that pad and a separate line from the prices in Table 4. For the steps on a kit you assemble yourself, see DIY carport kit installation steps.
Does an 18x20 carport need a permit?
An 18x20 carport covers 360 sq ft, which is 1.8 times the 200 sq ft permit exemption in IRC 2021 R105.2 for one-story detached accessory structures. IRC is the International Residential Code. Table 5 lists four published thresholds.
| Code or source | Threshold stated | An 18x20 carport (360 sq ft) | Source (read October 5, 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|
| IRC 2021 R105.2, item 1 | Up to 200 sq ft, one-story detached accessory structures | 1.8 times the line | Grant County, WA |
| Federal Way, WA, and Phoenix, AZ (PBCC 105.2.1) | 200 sq ft, one-story detached accessory structure; Phoenix counts the aggregate | 1.8 times the line | Federal Way, WA and Phoenix, AZ |
| California 2025 codes | 120 sq ft, one-story detached sheds, playhouses and similar uses | 3.0 times the line | Mammoth Lakes, CA |
| Henrico County, VA | 256 sq ft, one-story sheds, playhouses and similar uses | 1.41 times the line | Henrico County, VA |
This table gives general information from the codes cited above. Confirm current requirements with your local building department before beginning construction.
None of these texts names carports; California's 120 sq ft and Henrico County's 256 sq ft are written for sheds, playhouses and similar uses. Jurisdictions adopt different code editions, so the threshold where you build can differ from Table 5.
When does another size fit better than an 18x20?
An 18x20 carport suits one vehicle with side room or two vehicles with tight gaps, and other needs point to another footprint. Table 6 compares neighboring sizes.
| Footprint | Area | Two Camrys: gap per space | Two F-150s: gap per space | Longest F-150: depth left |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12x20 (12 ft wide) | 240 sq ft | Does not fit | Does not fit | 3.9 in past |
| 18x20 (18 ft wide, this page) | 360 sq ft | 23.7 in | 18.7 in | 3.9 in past |
| 20x20 (20 ft wide) | 400 sq ft | 31.7 in | 26.7 in | 3.9 in past |
| 24x24 (24 ft wide) | 576 sq ft | 47.7 in | 42.7 in | 44.1 in left |
| 20x30 (20 ft wide) | 600 sq ft | 31.7 in | 26.7 in | 116.1 in left |
Choose a 20 ft width when two cars must keep CarportBay's 30 in marker: two Camrys leave 31.7 in per gap at 20 ft. See the 20x20 carport for the 20 ft width.
Choose a 24 ft width when two full-size pickups need more door room: two F-150s leave 42.7 in per gap at 24 ft, against 18.7 in at 18 ft. See the 24x24 carport dimensions for that footprint.
Choose a deeper footprint when crew-cab pickups must fit within the depth: a 24x24 leaves 44.1 in behind the longest F-150 and a 20x30 leaves 116.1 in. See the 20x30 carport dimensions for the 20x30 footprint.
Choose a narrower footprint when one car and a wide side workspace are the goal: a Camry leaves 71.8 in on each side at 18 ft and 35.8 in at 12 ft.
Can an 18x20 carport hold an RV or a boat?
An 18x20 carport can shelter some RVs and boats, and height matters before length. Storage.com lists Class C motorhomes at 20 to 33 ft and Class B camper vans at 17 to 23 ft, so the 20 ft depth equals the shortest Class C. It is 3 ft shorter than the longest Class B. Check the vehicle's height against Table 3 first. For RV fit, see RV carport sizing; for boats, see boat carport sizing.
18x20 carport questions
An 18x20 carport and a 20x18 carport cover the same 360 sq ft and differ only in which side is the width. Two 2025 Toyota Camrys leave about 23.7 in per gap across 18 ft and 31.7 in across 20 ft. Sellers list an 18x21 as a separate size, so check the frame length in each listing.
An 18x20 carport fits one car with room to spare, or two cars side by side with tight gaps. Two 2025 Toyota Camrys leave about 23.7 in per gap, under CarportBay's 30 in marker. Three Camrys need 217.2 in against 216 in, so three cars do not fit across.
Two cars fit more comfortably in a carport at least 20 ft wide. Two 2025 Toyota Camrys leave about 31.7 in per gap across 20 ft, against 23.7 in across 18 ft, and Alan's Factory Outlet advises at least 20 ft.
Two full-size pickups fit side by side in 18 ft only with little room. Two 2026 Ford F-150s leave about 18.7 in per gap and two 2025 Chevrolet Silverado 1500s about 17.9 in. A crew-cab Silverado 1500 is also 1.4 in longer than the 240 in depth.
Seller-installed 18x20 carport listings start near $1,400, and HomeGuide (updated 2026-01-16) gives $3,000–$7,200 installed. Alan's Factory Outlet listed $1,395.00 and Keen's Buildings $1,870.00 on 2026-10-05, and a VersaTube Classic kit at $2,425. Kit-only prices exclude installation, slab and permit.
An 18x20 carport covers 360 sq ft, 1.8 times the 200 sq ft exemption in IRC 2021 R105.2 for one-story detached accessory structures. Local rules decide, so confirm current requirements with your local building department before you build.
Choose a leg height that clears your tallest vehicle with margin. A 6 ft leg is 3.4 in lower than a 2025 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 (75.4 in) and 8.7 in lower than a 2026 Ford F-150 (80.7 in). A 7 ft leg clears the F-150 by 3.3 in and an 8 ft leg by 15.3 in.
Next steps for your 18x20 carport
Test your own vehicles against an 18x20 carport in the Fit Checker near the top of this page, then confirm the frame width with the seller.
To compare kits, see the carport kit buying guide. To look at another footprint, return to the carport size guide and sizing calculator.
Sources
Vehicle dimensions come from the makers or the listings named below, prices from seller and retailer listings and cost guides, and codes from the code bodies and local permit pages. All were checked on October 5, 2026 unless noted.
- Honda, 2025 CR-V specifications: CR-V dimensions.
- Ford, F-150 specifications: F-150 width with and without mirrors.
- Cars.com, 2025 Toyota Camry: Camry dimensions, secondary listing.
- Dimensions.com, Silverado 1500 Crew Cab: Silverado dimensions, secondary listing.
- Grant County, WA, IRC 2021 R105.2: 200 sq ft exemption.
- Federal Way, WA, residential permit exemptions: 200 sq ft exemption.
- Phoenix, AZ, work exempt from permit: 200 sq ft aggregate, PBCC 105.2.1.
- Town of Mammoth Lakes, CA: 120 sq ft threshold under the 2025 California codes.
- Henrico County, VA: 256 sq ft threshold.
- Alan's Factory Outlet, 18x20 regular roof: price, tubing, leg height, pad, two-car guidance.
- Alan's Factory Outlet, 18x20 boxed eave: price.
- Alan's Factory Outlet, 18x20 vertical roof: price.
- Keen's Buildings, 18x20 carport: installed price, tubing, leg heights, standard widths.
- VersaTube, Classic Carport 18W x 20L x 7H: kit price, tubing, frame-only orientation.
- Johnson Carports, 18x20 metal carport: single-car description.
- Carport.com, 18x21 regular style carport: 18 ft by 21 ft listing.
- Google Shopping, 18x20 carport: listed prices for the rows marked as listings.
- HomeGuide, metal carport prices: installed range, slab, permit and site preparation costs, updated January 16, 2026.
- Angi, carport cost: per sq ft range, updated September 22, 2026.
- Storage.com, average RV sizes: Class B and Class C lengths.
Last verified: October 5, 2026
Last verified: October 2026. Each price row shows its own date.