2 Car Carport Dimensions: Sizes at 20, 22 and 24 Ft Wide, Fit and Cost
CarportBay Editorial Team Last verified
A two-car carport is usually 20 ft wide by 20 ft deep, or 400 sq ft. Two 2025 Toyota Camrys leave 31.7 in per gap at 20 ft, and two 2026 F-150s leave 26.7 in. October 2026 listings for 20x20 to 24x30 frames run $1,695 to $7,133. Every size here exceeds the 200 sq ft permit baseline.

On this page
Fit Checker
Pick a width, a depth, two vehicles and a leg height to see the gap per space, the depth left and the height margin for the footprint you choose.
What are the standard dimensions of a 2 car carport?
A 2 car carport is usually 20 ft wide by 20 ft deep, which covers 400 sq ft. Seller listings also run 22x20 (440 sq ft), 24x20 (480 sq ft), 24x24 (576 sq ft) and 24x30 (720 sq ft). Width comes first and depth second, so a 24x20 is 24 ft wide by 20 ft deep.
Three working tiers come from Tables 1 and 2. They are compact at 18 to 20 ft wide, standard at 22 to 24 ft wide, and large at 24 ft wide by 24 to 30 ft deep. In metric, 20 ft is 6.10 m, 24 ft is 7.32 m and 400 sq ft is 37.2 sq m.
Angi (updated 2026-07-08) names 24 by 20 ft as the standard two-car size and 20 by 18 ft as the smallest for two cars side by side. Roof styles and materials for a 2 car carport have their own guide. For every size, use the carport size guide and sizing calculator. Other sizes sit in carport dimensions by size.
How wide should a 2 car carport be?
A 2 car carport needs door-opening room for both vehicles. A gap is the space beside the left vehicle, between the two vehicles and beside the right vehicle, and the three gaps are equal. Table 1 shows each gap at five widths.
| Vehicle set | Widths (in) | 18 ft wide | 20 ft wide | 22 ft wide | 24 ft wide | 26 ft wide |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Two 2025 Toyota Camrys | 72.4 each | 23.7 in (under 30) | 31.7 in | 39.7 in | 47.7 in | 55.7 in |
| Two 2025 Honda CR-Vs | 73.5 each | 23.0 in (under 30) | 31.0 in | 39.0 in | 47.0 in | 55.0 in |
| A 2025 Toyota Camry and a 2025 Honda CR-V | 72.4 and 73.5 | 23.4 in (under 30) | 31.4 in | 39.4 in | 47.4 in | 55.4 in |
| Two 2026 Ford F-150s | 79.9 each | 18.7 in (under 30) | 26.7 in (under 30) | 34.7 in | 42.7 in | 50.7 in |
| Two 2026 Ford F-150s, mirrors extended | 95.7 each | 8.2 in (under 12) | 16.2 in (under 30) | 24.2 in (under 30) | 32.2 in | 40.2 in |
| Two 2025 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 crew cabs | 81.1 each | 17.9 in (under 30) | 25.9 in (under 30) | 33.9 in | 41.9 in | 49.9 in |
| Two 2025 Toyota Camrys, clear width (2.5 in leg tubing at each outer edge) | 72.4 each | 22.1 in (under 30) | 30.1 in | 38.1 in | 46.1 in | 54.1 in |
CarportBay's own markers: a gap under 30 in is tight, and a gap under 12 in leaves no room to open a door. Neither is an industry standard. Figures are arithmetic on published vehicle dimensions, not a test.
Two cars side by side
Two 2025 Toyota Camrys leave 31.7 in per gap at 20 ft, 39.7 in at 22 ft and 47.7 in at 24 ft. An 18 ft width leaves 23.7 in, under the marker. See 18x20 carport dimensions for that width. The 20x20 carport page covers the 31.7 in option. One Camry alone leaves 83.8 in each side at 20 ft; see single-car carport dimensions.
Two pickups side by side
Two 2026 Ford F-150s leave 26.7 in per gap at 20 ft, 34.7 in at 22 ft and 42.7 in at 24 ft. With mirrors extended (95.7 in wide each) they leave 32.2 in at 24 ft. Two 2025 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 crew cabs leave 41.9 in at 24 ft. The 24x24 carport dimensions page works the 24 ft width in full.

Nominal width and clear width
Nominal width is the outside dimension of the frame, and clear width is the space between the legs. With 2.5 in of leg tubing at each outer edge, clear width is 5 in less and each gap loses about 1.7 in. Two Camrys at 20 ft then leave 30.1 in, only 0.1 in over the 30 in marker. Tubing differs by seller, so confirm the frame width.
How deep should a 2 car carport be?
A 2 car carport should be deeper than the longest vehicle it holds. Depth left is the depth minus the vehicle length, shared between front and rear. Table 2 shows it at six depths.
| Vehicle | Length (in) | 20 ft deep | 21 ft deep | 22 ft deep | 24 ft deep | 26 ft deep | 30 ft deep |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 Toyota Camry | 193.5 | 46.5 in | 58.5 in | 70.5 in | 94.5 in | 118.5 in | 166.5 in |
| 2025 Honda CR-V | 184.8 | 55.2 in | 67.2 in | 79.2 in | 103.2 in | 127.2 in | 175.2 in |
| 2026 Ford F-150, shortest configuration | 209.4 | 30.6 in | 42.6 in | 54.6 in | 78.6 in | 102.6 in | 150.6 in |
| 2026 Ford F-150, longest configuration | 243.9 | 3.9 in short | 8.1 in | 20.1 in | 44.1 in | 68.1 in | 116.1 in |
| 2025 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 crew cab, standard bed | 241.4 | 1.4 in short | 10.6 in | 22.6 in | 46.6 in | 70.6 in | 118.6 in |
At 20 ft deep, a Camry leaves 46.5 in and a CR-V 55.2 in. The longest 2026 F-150 (243.9 in) is 3.9 in longer than the depth, and a 2025 Silverado 1500 crew cab (241.4 in) is 1.4 in longer. The shortest F-150 (209.4 in) leaves 30.6 in. A 24 ft depth leaves 44.1 in behind the longest F-150. A 30 ft depth leaves 116.1 in; see 20x30 carport dimensions.
How tall should the legs of a 2 car carport be?
A 2 car carport needs legs taller than the tallest vehicle. Leg height, also called eave height, is measured from the ground to the lowest point of the frame. Table 3 compares four vehicles with legs from 6 to 9 ft.
| Vehicle | Height (in) | 6 ft leg | 7 ft leg | 8 ft leg | 9 ft leg |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 Toyota Camry | 56.9 | +15.1 | +27.1 | +39.1 | +51.1 |
| 2025 Honda CR-V | 66.5 | +5.5 | +17.5 | +29.5 | +41.5 |
| 2025 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 crew cab | 75.4 | -3.4 | +8.6 | +20.6 | +32.6 |
| 2026 Ford F-150 (tallest figure) | 80.7 | -8.7 | +3.3 | +15.3 | +27.3 |
A 6 ft leg is lower than a 2026 F-150 (80.7 in, short by 8.7 in) and a 2025 Silverado 1500 (75.4 in, short by 3.4 in). A 7 ft leg clears them by 3.3 in and 8.6 in. Roof racks and ladder racks add height, so confirm clearance under any beam with the seller. Vehicles taller than 80.7 in, including most RVs, need a taller leg; see RV carport sizing.
Can two cars park end to end in a carport?
Two cars can park end to end in a 2 car carport that is deep enough. Table 4 divides the depth left by three spaces: front, middle and rear.
| Layout | Combined length (in) | 36 ft deep | 40 ft deep |
|---|---|---|---|
| Two 2025 Toyota Camrys end to end | 387.0 | 15.0 in per space | 31.0 in per space |
| Two 2025 Honda CR-Vs end to end | 369.6 | 20.8 in per space | 36.8 in per space |
| Two 2026 Ford F-150s end to end, longest configuration | 487.8 | 55.8 in short in total | 7.8 in short in total |
Two Camrys need 387.0 in, so a 36 ft depth leaves 15.0 in per space and a 40 ft depth leaves 31.0 in. Two F-150s in the longest configuration need 487.8 in, which is 55.8 in more than 36 ft and 7.8 in more than 40 ft. One Camry in a single-file layout leaves 23.8 in each side at 10 ft wide and 35.8 in at 12 ft. Angi (updated 2026-07-08) names 36 by 10 ft as the smallest end-to-end size.
Which 2 car carport size fits your vehicles?
The right 2 car carport size depends on the vehicles, the doors and what else shares the footprint. Table 5 repeats the gap arithmetic for seven footprints.
| Footprint (ft) | Area | Times the 200 sq ft line | Two Camrys, gap | Two F-150s, gap |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 18x20 | 360 sq ft | 1.8 times | 23.7 in | 18.7 in (under 30) |
| 20x20 | 400 sq ft | 2.0 times | 31.7 in | 26.7 in (under 30) |
| 22x20 | 440 sq ft | 2.2 times | 39.7 in | 34.7 in |
| 22x22 | 484 sq ft | 2.4 times | 39.7 in | 34.7 in |
| 24x20 | 480 sq ft | 2.4 times | 47.7 in | 42.7 in |
| 24x24 | 576 sq ft | 2.9 times | 47.7 in | 42.7 in |
| 24x30 | 720 sq ft | 3.6 times | 47.7 in | 42.7 in |
Go wider when two cars must keep the 30 in marker: 20 ft gives 31.7 in for two Camrys and 22 ft gives 39.7 in. Start with the 20x20 carport page. An 18 ft width is covered in 18x20 carport dimensions.
Go wider for two full-size pickups: 24 ft gives 42.7 in per gap against 26.7 in at 20 ft. See 24x24 carport dimensions.
Go deeper for crew-cab pickups: 24 ft leaves 44.1 in behind an F-150 and 46.6 in behind a Silverado. A 30 ft depth is covered in 20x30 carport dimensions.
Go larger when storage shares the space: a 24x24 is 576 sq ft, 96 sq ft more than a 24x20. See all carport sizes in one chart for every size.
How much does a 2 car carport cost?
The price of a 2 car carport depends on what the listing describes. Table 6 shows each seller, size, date read and whether installation is included, then adds two dated cost guides.
| Layer | Seller | Size (ft) | Area | Price | Per sq ft | Date read | Installation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seller, installed | Alan's Factory Outlet | 20x20x6 | 400 sq ft | $1,695 | $4.24 | 2026-10-05 | Free |
| Seller, installation not stated | Prestige Steel Structures | 20x20x8 | 400 sq ft | $2,970 | $7.43 | 2026-10-05 | Not stated |
| Seller, installed | Panhandle Metals | 22x20x6 | 440 sq ft | $3,055 | $6.94 | 2026-10-05 | Included |
| Seller, installed | Boss Buildings | 24x20x9 | 480 sq ft | $3,850 | $8.02 | 2026-10-05 | Included |
| Seller, installed | Alan's Factory Outlet | 24x25x6 | 600 sq ft | $2,495 | $4.16 | 2026-10-05 | Free |
| Seller, installed | Boss Buildings | 22x30x9 | 660 sq ft | $4,810 | $7.29 | 2026-10-05 | Included |
| Seller, installed | Legacy Carports | 20x30x10 | 600 sq ft | $4,575 | $7.63 | 2026-10-05 | Free |
| Seller, installation not stated | Eagle Carports | 24x30x9 | 720 sq ft | $7,132.62 | $9.91 | 2026-10-05 | Not stated |
| Cost guide | HomeGuide | 20x20 | 400 sq ft | $3,200–$12,000 | $8–$20 | 2026-01-16 | Installed |
| Cost guide | Angi | 21x24x6 | 504 sq ft | $4,000–$14,000 | $12–$40 | 2026-09-22 | Installed |
Seller listings for 20x20 to 24x30 frames ran $1,695 to $7,133 on 2026-10-05, or $4.16 to $9.91 per sq ft. Leg height, roof style, frame gauge, the state served, the slab and the permit change the total. Listed prices cover the structure; several sellers list a starting price that varies by state. See the carport kit buying guide for which kits include legs, panels and hardware.
Does a 2 car carport need a permit?
Every 2 car carport size on this page covers more than the 200 sq ft baseline in the 2021 International Residential Code (IRC). Local rules decide the outcome, so Table 7 names each rule and its source.
| Code or source | Rule stated | For a 2 car carport | Source (read October 5, 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|
| IRC 2021 R105.2, item 1 | One-story detached accessory structures up to 200 sq ft are exempt | 400 sq ft is 2.0 times the line, 484 is 2.4, 576 is 2.9 and 720 is 3.6 | Grant County, WA copy of the 2021 IRC |
| Portland, OR, Building Official Determination 21-01 | Detached carports up to 200 sq ft are exempt; attached ones only 3 ft or more from property lines. Area is measured at the roof drip line. A zoning permit still applies | The overhang counts toward the area | Portland Permitting & Development |
| City of San Antonio, TX, carport fact sheet (20240125) | Permit required, $160 through the portal or $170 in person. Carports must be 20 ft deep including the area under the carport. Front setback 10 ft, side 3 ft | Every size here needs the permit and meets the depth | City of San Antonio |
This table gives general information from the codes and documents cited above. Confirm current requirements with your local building department before beginning construction.
Is a 2 car carport the same size as a 2 car garage?
A 2 car carport and a 2 car garage cover similar footprints. Eagle Carports (guide last modified 2025-09-25) gives 20 to 24 ft wide by 20 to 24 ft deep for a two-car garage, which is 400 to 576 sq ft. A 20x20 to 24x24 carport matches that range, and a 24x24 carport leaves 47.7 in per gap for two Camrys.
A 24x24 carport covers 576 sq ft, or 53.5 sq m, the same footprint as a 24x24 garage. The 2018 IRC, Section R309.2, says a carport is open on at least two sides (Pacific, MO copy).
2 car carport dimensions: common questions
Common questions about 2 car carport dimensions, answered from Tables 1 to 7. To build one yourself, see DIY carport kit installation steps.
A 20x20 carport fits two 2025 Toyota Camrys side by side with 31.7 in per gap. Two 2026 Ford F-150s leave 26.7 in per gap, under CarportBay's 30 in marker, and the longest F-150 (243.9 in) is 3.9 in longer than the 20 ft depth. Pickups have more room at 24 ft wide, where the gap is 42.7 in.
Two 2025 Camrys keep 31.7 in per gap in a 20 ft width, and two 2026 F-150s keep 42.7 in in a 24 ft width. Depth should exceed the longest vehicle: 193.5 in for a Camry and up to 243.9 in for an F-150, so a 24 ft depth leaves 44.1 in behind the longest F-150.
A 24 ft wide by 24 ft deep carport leaves 42.7 in per gap and 44.1 in of depth for two 2026 Ford F-150s. Two 2025 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 crew cabs leave 41.9 in per gap and 46.6 in of depth. Alan's Factory Outlet advises 24 to 28 ft wide for two average trucks (updated 2026-01-26).
A 2 car carport at 20 ft by 20 ft measures 6.10 m by 6.10 m, or 37.2 sq m. A 24 ft by 24 ft carport is 7.32 m by 7.32 m, or 53.5 sq m.
Seller listings for 20x20 to 24x30 frames ran $1,695 to $7,133 on 2026-10-05. HomeGuide (updated 2026-01-16) lists $3,200 to $12,000 for a 20x20 across materials, and Angi (updated 2026-09-22) lists $4,000 to $14,000 for a 21 by 24 by 6 ft unit. Table 6 labels each price.
Every two-car size here is over the 200 sq ft exemption in IRC 2021 R105.2 item 1. Local rules differ: Portland measures the area at the roof drip line, and San Antonio requires a carport permit. Confirm current requirements with your local building department.
A 20x20 to 24x24 carport covers the same 400 to 576 sq ft as a typical 2 car garage. Eagle Carports' guide gives 20 to 24 ft by 20 to 24 ft for a two-car garage.
Next steps for your 2 car carport
Pick your footprint with the carport size guide and sizing calculator. See what a kit includes in the carport kit buying guide.
Sources
Vehicle dimensions come from the makers or the listings named below, prices from seller pages and cost guides, and codes from the code bodies and city documents. All were read on October 5, 2026 unless noted.
- Honda, 2025 CR-V specifications: CR-V dimensions.
- Ford, F-150 specifications: F-150 width with and without mirrors, length range and height.
- Cars.com, 2025 Toyota Camry: Camry dimensions, secondary listing.
- Dimensions.com, Silverado 1500 Crew Cab: Silverado dimensions, secondary listing.
- Alan's Factory Outlet, 20x20 regular roof: price, delivery and installation.
- Alan's Factory Outlet, 24x25 regular roof: price, leg height.
- Alan's Factory Outlet, carport size for two trucks: 24 to 28 ft width for two trucks.
- Prestige Steel Structures, 20x20x8: price.
- Boss Buildings, 20x20x8: price, installation.
- Panhandle Metals, 22x20x6: price, installation.
- Boss Buildings, 22x25x8: price, installation.
- Boss Buildings, 24x20x9: price, installation.
- Boss Buildings, 22x30x9: price, installation.
- Legacy Carports, 20x30 vertical roof: price, leg height, installation.
- Eagle Carports, 24x30x9 vertical roof: price.
- Carport.com, 18x21 two car carport: price, gauge, installation.
- HomeGuide, cost to build a carport: 20x20 range and metal per sq ft rate.
- Angi, carport installation cost: two-car range and per sq ft rate.
- Angi, carport sizes: standard, smallest and end-to-end sizes.
- Eagle Carports, dimensions of a 2-car garage: garage dimensions.
- Grant County, WA, copy of the 2021 IRC section R105.2: 200 sq ft exemption.
- Portland, OR, Building Official Determination 21-01: drip-line rule, attached carports.
- City of San Antonio, carport fact sheet: permit, fee, depth and setbacks.
- City of Pacific, MO, copy of the 2018 IRC section R309.2: open on at least two sides.
Last verified: October 5, 2026
Last verified: October 2026. Prices were read on October 5, 2026, and each price row shows its own date.