Skip to main content
CarportBay

Carport Kits Compared: Steel, Aluminum, Wood and Fabric by Size

CarportBay Editorial Team Reviewed

Carport kits are prefabricated carports that ship as parts for you or a hired crew to assemble. Among permanent kits, steel tube-frame models cost least in the October 2026 listings, at $2.61 to $7.38 per square foot, while wood, polycarbonate and aluminum kits ran $8.17 to $22.83. Most listings leave out the foundation, permit and labor.

Kit-only price per sq ft by kit type, read October 5, 2026
Kit typeKit-only price per sq ftRoof
Steel tube frame$2.61 to $7.38Metal panels
Wood, cedar frame$8.17 to $11.00Steel panels
Steel frame, clear roof$19.28Polycarbonate
Aluminum frame$21.12 to $22.83Polycarbonate
Fabric canopy$1.00PE cover
Two-car steel carport 20x20 ft over a 2023 Honda Accord and a 2022 Toyota RAV4 on a suburban driveway beside a ranch house
A 20x20 footprint is 400 square feet, the size kit listings describe as room for two cars.

What is a carport kit, and which kit types are there?

A carport kit is a set of prefabricated parts that you or a hired crew assemble on your site. Prefab carport kits and prefabricated carport kits name the same product.

  • Steel kits use a tube frame under metal roof panels; Arrow lists a 15-gauge frame, and ProBuilt Steel says a lower gauge is thicker steel.
  • Wooden carport kits and cedar carport kits use a cedar frame under a steel roof. See wood carport kits.
  • Aluminum carport kits pair an aluminum frame with polycarbonate, a clear plastic roof panel.
  • Fabric canopies, the tarp carport kits, use a polyethylene (PE) cover over a galvanized frame.

Portable carport kits are the fabric row. Pole barn carport kits are a separate build; Hansen Pole Buildings states $7,000 to $18,000 for its small size. Enclosed carport kits and carport enclosure kits add sidewalls. For the parts in the box, read what a carport kit includes.

Single-car aluminum carport with a clear polycarbonate roof over a 2022 Mazda CX-5 in Soul Red beside a suburban house
Aluminum kits with polycarbonate roofs read $21.12 and $22.83 per square foot in October 2026.

Kit, built on site or dealer-installed: which fits?

The three paths differ in cost, assembler, delivery time and warranty.

Kit, built on site and dealer-installed, by criterion
CriterionKitBuilt on site by a contractorDealer-installed
Cost as sources state itMueller 20x20 kit-only sale price $1,795, tax and freight excludedAngi (September 22, 2026): installed average $6,372, typical $3,131 to $9,683Alan's 20x20 regular roof from $1,695, free delivery and installation in 21 states
Who assemblesThe buyer or a hired crew, with Mueller's drawings and instructionsA contractorThe dealer's crew
Delivery timeVersaTube lists shipping in 5 to 10 business daysNot stated in sources readACE Steel lists 3 to 4 weeks; Alan's lists none
WarrantyMueller: 45-year limited paint warranty; Arrow at Lowe's: 10-yearNot stated in sources readNo term read

Carport extension kits and carport awning kits attach to a wall and are not priced here.

What do carport kits cost by type and size?

Steel tube-frame kits cost $2.61 to $7.38 per square foot in October 2026. Kit-only price means the listing price for the parts, before tax, freight, foundation, permit and labor.

For carports kits, cheap carport kits and inexpensive carport kits, the lowest total is the fabric canopy at $199.99; the lowest permanent kit is a Home Depot steel listing at $1,043.48.

Kit-only price per square foot by type

Kit-only price per sq ft, by kit type and listing
KitSellerKit-only pricePer sq ft
Steel tube frame
Mueller 12x20Mueller$1,095$4.56
Mueller 20x20Mueller$1,795$4.49
Mueller 24x24Mueller$2,595$4.51
VersaTube 12x20x7Home Depot$1,099$4.58
VersaTube 18x20x10Home Depot$2,299.99$6.39
Arrow 20x20x9ShedsDirect$2,701.95 (out of stock)$6.75
Arrow 10x20x9Walmart marketplace seller$1,476.99$7.38
12 third-party 20x20 steel listingsThe Home Depot$1,043.48 to $1,999$2.61 to $5.00
Wood, cedar frame, steel roof
amerlife 20x20x9.2Home Depot$3,266.59$8.17
Kingsport 20x20x8Home Depot$4,398.99$11.00
Steel frame, clear roof
Sunjoy Newville 20x14x10Home Depot$5,398$19.28
Aluminum frame, polycarbonate roof
Canopia Arizona Wave 10x16ShedsDirect$3,379.95$21.12
Canopia Oslo 20x30ShedsDirect$13,699.95 (out of stock)$22.83
Fabric canopy
Outsunny 10x20 portableAosom$199.99$1.00

Read October 5, 2026; prices change often. Two of the 13 named listings were out of stock at the read.

Last verified:

The rows split by frame and roof material, not roof shape, so flat roof carport kits and single slope carport kits are not priced separately.

Bar chart of kit-only price per square foot for steel, wood, clear-roof, aluminum and fabric carport kits, October 2026
Kit-only price per square foot by kit type, one bar per listing, read October 5, 2026. Diagram: CarportBay.

Kit-only price by size: 12x20, 20x20 and 24x24

For carport building kits, Mueller's kit-only price per sq ft is $4.56 at 12x20, $4.49 at 20x20 and $4.51 at 24x24.

Kit-only price by size
SizeListingKit-only pricePer sq ft
12x20 (240 sq ft)Mueller kit-only price$1,095$4.56
20x20 (400 sq ft)Mueller kit-only price$1,795$4.49
20x20 (400 sq ft)12 Home Depot third-party steel listings$1,043.48 to $1,999$2.61 to $5.00
24x24 (576 sq ft)Mueller kit-only price$2,595$4.51

Last verified:

For cheap carports kits and small carport kits, the 12x20 (240 sq ft) is the entry size here; for large carport kits, the 24x24 (576 sq ft). The 20x20 carport size guide covers that footprint.

What a 20x20 kit price leaves out

On a 20x20 (400 sq ft), the kit price is the first of five layers. For the parts in the box, read what a carport kit includes. Covered carport kits and carport garage kits sit on the same layers.

Diagram of what a 20x20 carport kit price covers and which costs sit on top: freight, foundation, permit and assembly labor
On a 20x20, the kit price is one layer; freight terms, foundation, permit and labor are separate layers. Diagram: CarportBay.
What a 20x20 kit price leaves out, by layer
LayerSource figure, and total for 400 sq ftSource and date
1. KitMueller 20x20 kit-only price: $1,795Mueller, Inc., read October 2026
2. Freight termsMueller excludes freight; ShedsDirect shows free LTL curbside shipping; HomeGuide says delivery is "included in most kit prices" (not summed)Mueller, Inc., read October 2026ShedsDirect, read October 2026HomeGuide, January 2026
3. FoundationAngi $4 to $8 per sq ft: $1,600 to $3,200; HomeGuide $5 to $10 per sq ft: $2,000 to $4,000Angi, September 2026HomeGuide, January 2026
4. PermitHomeGuide $75 to $300; Angi $60 to $800HomeGuide, January 2026Angi, September 2026
5. Assembly laborHomeGuide kit labor $3 to $5 per sq ft: $1,200 to $2,000; Angi labor $3 to $10 per sq ft (all carport types): $1,200 to $4,000HomeGuide, January 2026Angi, September 2026

Angi and HomeGuide scope their ranges differently, so no total is printed.

How do you read a carport kit's wind and snow rating?

A kit listing's wind or snow rating is the seller's figure. In ASCE 7, wind speed is a 3-second gust, per StructureMag. A psf is a pound per square foot of load.

Wind and snow ratings, as each listing states them
ListingWindSnowStandard named, and notes
Arrow 20x20x9 (ShedsDirect)100 mph35 psfNone on the listing. ShelterLogic's Arrow page cites ASCE 7-05; Lowe's labels the figures "for reference only".ShelterLogic pageLowe's page
Canopia Arizona Wave 10x16 (ShedsDirect)75 mph15.4 psfNone; concrete footings required.
Canopia Oslo 20x30 (ShedsDirect)75 mph10 psf with edge posts; 20 psf with posts 4 ft insideNone.
VersaTube 12x20x7 (Home Depot)Not listed40 lb with the optional snow brace kitNone.
VersaTube 18x20x10 (Home Depot)By quoteBy quote"Higher snow and wind loads require a Store Special Order quote."
Mueller kitsNot listedNot listedMueller says it does not represent its kits as meeting a specific code or engineering criteria.

Last verified:

Heavy duty carport kits is a seller label, not a rating.

Who sets the design load for your site?

Your building department sets the design value for your address, and a seller rating does not replace it. Arrow's ratings assume a securely anchored frame, and the Arizona Wave needs concrete footings.

Who makes carport kits, and where are they sold?

Mueller says it makes the kits it sells; ShedsDirect, Home Depot and Lowe's sell kits that other companies make. Read maker versus dealer explained for the definitions.

Diagram of the carport supply chain from manufacturer to dealer or retailer to buyer, shown left to right, no company names
Kits reach buyers either directly from a maker or through a dealer or retailer. Diagram: CarportBay.
Maker and seller roles, as each company states them, read October 5, 2026
CompanyRole as the company states it
Mueller, Inc.Says it manufactures all the prefabricated buildings it sellsMueller 12x20, 20x20 and 24x24
ShedsDirectNames Arrow as the maker of the Arrow kits it lists; also lists CanopiaArrow 20x20x9; Canopia Arizona Wave and Oslo
The Home DepotSells VersaTube, Sunjoy, amerlife, Kingsport and other brandsVersaTube, Sunjoy Newville, amerlife, Kingsport, 12 third-party steel kits
Lowe'sSells Arrow and Canopia kitsArrow 20x24x9 and 20x20x9; Canopia
Walmart marketplace sellerA third-party seller on Walmart's marketplaceArrow 10x20x9
Canopia by PalramSells under the Canopia by Palram name; ShedsDirect and Lowe's list its kitsArizona Wave and Oslo
Alan's Factory OutletCalls itself an authorized dealer of Carolina Carports, a manufacturer in Dobson, NC per its pageInstalled offers; no kit price used

No page read confirms who owns the Arrow name or its link to ShelterLogic. The best carport kits depend on type, size, rating, maker and terms; boat carport kits and camper carport kits are not priced here.

Returns and freight terms by seller

Return and freight terms, as each seller prints them
SellerReturn term as printedFreight and delivery as printed
The Home DepotWithin 90 days of purchase, in store or onlineHome freight delivery needs unloading capability
Lowe's"Return it in store or ship it back for free", eligibility rules applyNot read
ShedsDirectWithin 30 days, unused and resellable; 25 percent restocking charge on used or tested itemsFree less-than-truckload (LTL) curbside shipping; Arrow 20x20x9 is six boxes, 1,229 lb; report damage within 48 hours
Mueller, Viking, Alan's, Eagle, Carport.comNo return policy found on the pages readCarport.com lists free kit delivery in 40 or more statesCarport.com page

Terms read October 5, 2026; they can change.

Which kit fits your site, vehicles and permit?

Your site, vehicles and city permit rule decide which kit to price. Attached carport kits, garage carport kits, retractable carport kits and solar carport kits are not priced here.

Which kit a situation points to, and why
SituationPoints toBasis
Two carsA 20x20 kit (400 sq ft), Mueller's two-car sizeA 24x24 (576 sq ft) for two large vehicles
Snow or high windA kit whose listing states a rating for the siteAsk the building department; Mueller lists none
Permanent carport on a slabA steel or wood kitSlab, permit and labor priced separately
Temporary or moving-friendly coverA fabric canopy (Outsunny 10x20, $199.99)No rating on the listing

IRC R105.2 item 1, as printed by the City of Sioux Falls and Grant County, Washington (2021 edition), exempts one-story detached accessory structures of 200 sq ft or less from a permit and does not name carports. California uses 120 sq ft, per El Dorado County and the City of Berkeley. LegalClarity advises written homeowners association approval before purchase.

This page provides general information about permit and code requirements based on publicly available sources cited above. Building codes and permit requirements vary by jurisdiction and change over time. This is not a substitute for confirming current requirements with your local building department or consulting a licensed contractor or engineer for your specific project.

What this comparison leaves out

This guide compares kit types and sizes; assembly steps and engineering sit on their own pages.

  • Prices are listing prices read October 5, 2026, and they change.
  • Ratings are the sellers' figures; the building department sets local values.
  • Five facts have no source on the pages read: return policies for five sellers, most code editions, delivery time and warranty for contractor-built carports, and the ICC text of R105.2.

Carport kit questions

Eight questions cover codes, cost, sizes, retailers, delivery and permits.

Where to go next

Each next page takes one decision from this guide further: a material, a size or the permit.

Get free carport quotes

The form is at the end of this page.

Ready to move forward

Get Matched With Installers Near You

Tell us a bit about your project and we will connect you with vetted installers and manufacturers who serve your area. There is no cost or obligation to request information.

See the affiliate disclosure page for how referrals work.