Skip to main content
CarportBay

Wood Carport Kits: Listings, Prices and What Each Kit Includes

CarportBay Editorial Team Reviewed

Wood carport kits are pre-cut wood frames, usually cedar under a steel roof, that you or a hired crew assemble. Kit-only listings read in October 2026 ran from $8.17 to $23.11 per square foot, and the 20x20 listings ran $3,267 to $4,399. Listed prices leave out the foundation, permit and most labor.

Kit-only price and price per sq ft by kit size, read October 6, 2026
Kit sizeKit-only pricePer sq ft
Small, 11x13 to 12x10$1,107 to $1,724$9.22 to $12.06
Single car, 10x22 to 11x20$2,275 to $3,336$10.34 to $15.29
Long, 12x20 to 12x24$2,999 to $3,167$10.42 to $12.50
Two car, 20x20$3,267 to $4,399$8.17 to $11.00
Wide, 14x17 to 14x34$5,500 to $9,200$19.33 to $23.11

Kit-only prices read October 6, 2026 from the listings in the tables below. Each row's seller and date are in those tables.

Cedar-frame wood carport kit, 20x20 ft, with a steel roof over a 2023 Toyota Camry and a 2022 Honda CR-V on a driveway
A 20x20 footprint is 400 square feet. The three 20x20 wood kit listings read on October 6, 2026 ran from $3,267 to $4,399, kit-only.

What is a wood carport kit, and what comes in the box?

A wood carport kit is a set of pre-cut wood parts and a roof that you assemble on your site. Wooden carport kits and cedar carport kits name the same product. The Backyard Discovery and Sunjoy listings pair a cedar frame with a steel roof, and the Pineca listing uses Nordic pine and Scandinavian spruce under tongue-and-groove roof boards.

Each seller describes the box in its own words, so each statement below names its seller.

  • Backyard Discovery lists the Kingsport as pre-cut and pre-drilled, with 6x6 cedar posts and a 29-gauge black galvanized steel roof.
  • Pineca lists hardware as included and excludes the foundation, installation and roof shingle nails.
  • Sunjoy lists pre-cut parts, 5.5 x 5.5 in columns and free shipping on its wood carports.
  • The amerlife and VEIKOUS cards on Home Depot print a price, a size and a color; no maker page was read for either brand.

Read what a carport kit includes for the parts every kit type ships with.

Single-car wood carport kit with cedar posts and a steel roof over a 2022 Mazda CX-5 in Soul Red beside a suburban house
Single-car wood kits in the October 2026 listings ranged from $1,107 for a 12x10 to $2,810 for an 11x20.

Kit, installed timber frame or plans: which route fits?

A kit, an installed frame and a plan set differ in what arrives, who builds it and what is priced.

Kit, installed timber frame and plan set, by criterion
CriterionKitInstalled timber framePlan set
Example read on the pageBackyard Discovery Kingsport 20x20x8Big Timber Carport XL, 22x22Timber Frame HQ 26x36 plans
Price as the source states it$4,398.99 kit-only (Home Depot, October 6, 2026)$33,598 base with delivery and installation, or $69.42 per sq ft over 484 sq ft (price divided by footprint)$127.00 for a 39-page PDF
What arrivesPre-cut, pre-drilled parts, hardware and a roofA complete kit with delivery and installationDrawings only; the materials are sourced separately
Who buildsThe buyer or a hired crew; Backyard Discovery lists professional assembly at $1,820The seller; permits, engineering and HOA approval are the customer's responsibilityThe buyer or a contractor
Priced separatelyFoundation, permit, labor and, at some sellers, freight (the layers table)Engineering +$1,050 to $1,250; permit services +$500 to $875; stain +$699; metal roof colors +$448Engineering, which the plan set excludes, and all materials

The table draws no winner. Only the kit column holds kit-only prices, and the installed and plan-set figures never enter the price table below. To see kits in other materials, compare carport kits by type.

What do wood carport kits cost?

Kit-only wood listings read in October 2026 ran $8.17 to $23.11 per sq ft, and 20x20 kits $3,267 to $4,399.

Kit-only means the price a seller shows for the parts, before the foundation, permit, labor and, at some sellers, freight. The prices come from Home Depot, Sunjoy, Yardistry and Pineca, each read on October 6, 2026.

Kit-only price per square foot by listing

Each row gives one listing's kit-only price and its price per square foot, which is the price divided by the listed width times length.

Last verified:

Wood carport kit listings: kit-only price per sq ft, by size band
ListingSellerKit-only pricePer sq ft
Small
VEIKOUS 12x10, brown cedarHome Depot$1,106.57$9.22
Sunjoy Timberland Compact 11x13Sunjoy (collection page)$1,724.10 (was $2,463)$12.06
Single car
Sunjoy Hanover 11x20, cedarHome Depot$2,275.48$10.34
Sunjoy Newville 10.1x21.6, FSC cedarHome Depot$3,336.46$15.29
Sunjoy Timberland Premium 11x20Sunjoy (collection page)$2,810.40 (was $3,513)$12.77
Long
Backyard Discovery Kingsport 20x12x8Home Depot$2,998.99$12.50
amerlife Cedar Wood Series 12x24x8.2Home Depot$2,999.99 (was $3,125)$10.42
amerlife 12x24x9.5, cedar frameHome Depot$3,112.59 (was $3,366.73)$10.81
amerlife 12x24x9.5, gray roofHome Depot$3,166.99 (was $3,499.99)$11.00
Two car, 20x20
amerlife 20x20x9.2, brown roofHome Depot$3,266.59 (was $3,499.99)$8.17
Pineca Classic Double 20x20, Nordic pine and sprucePineca (direct)$4,299$10.75
Backyard Discovery Kingsport 20x20x8Home Depot$4,398.99$11.00
Wide
Yardistry carport pavilion 14x17Yardistry (direct)$5,499.99 (was $5,999.99)$23.11
Yardistry carport pavilion 14x25Yardistry (direct)$6,999.99 (was $7,599.99)$20.00
Yardistry carport pavilion 14x34Yardistry (direct)$9,199.99 (was $9,799.99)$19.33

Prices are the kit-only listing prices each seller showed on the date read. They change often, and foundation, permit, labor and freight are priced separately.

Home Depot, Sunjoy and Yardistry change prices often. The Home Depot product page for the Kingsport 20x20x8 reads $4,399.00 (was $5,499.00) and for the Hanover reads $2,342.43. The Sunjoy product page for the Timberland Premium reads $4,289.00 and was sold out, so the collection price is used.

Per square foot, the least expensive listings are the 20x20 amerlife at $8.17 and the VEIKOUS 12x10 at $9.22. The Yardistry pavilions cost the most, at $19.33 to $23.11.

Bar chart of kit-only price per square foot for 15 wood carport kit listings from Home Depot and maker sites, October 2026
The 15 wood kit listings read on October 6, 2026 ran from $8.17 to $23.11 per square foot. Diagram: CarportBay.

20x20 wood carport kits compared

Three wood kit listings read in October 2026 are 20x20, and they ran $3,266.59 to $4,398.99, kit-only. A 20x20 footprint is 400 sq ft. The 20x20 carport size guide covers what fits under it.

The three 20x20 wood carport kit listings
ListingSellerKit-only pricePer sq ftWood, posts and roof as listedWhat the page says about the rest
amerlife 20x20x9.2, brown roofHome Depot$3,266.59 (was $3,499.99)$8.17Wood and posts not stated on the card read; a brown roof is namedNot stated on the card read; the product page returned 404
Pineca Classic Double 20x20Pineca (direct)$4,299$10.75Nordic pine and Scandinavian spruce; 0.8 in tongue-and-groove roof boards; roofing felt and shingles optionalFoundation, installation and roof shingle nails are excluded; hardware is included
Backyard Discovery Kingsport 20x20x8Home Depot$4,398.99 (was $5,499.00 on the product page)$11.00100 percent cedar; 6x6 cedar posts; 29-gauge black galvanized steel roofAnchored per the manual; professional assembly $1,820 is sold separately; free shipping in 7 to 17 days

Installed averages in cost guides are scoped differently from these kit-only prices, so the next table shows what a kit price leaves out.

What a 20x20 kit price leaves out

Each layer below is one publisher's own range on its own date, multiplied by 400 sq ft where the source gives a rate per sq ft. The layers are not added together, because the publishers' scopes differ.

Diagram of what a 20x20 wood carport kit price covers and which costs sit on top: foundation, assembly labor and permit
The kit price is the first layer. The foundation, assembly labor and permit are priced separately in the sources read. Diagram: CarportBay.
What a 20x20 wood kit price leaves out, by layer
LayerSource figure and result for 400 sq ftSource and date
1. KitThe three 20x20 listings, kit-only: $3,266.59 to $4,398.99The Home Depot, read October 2026Pineca, read October 2026
2. Freight and deliveryBackyard Discovery: free shipping in 7 to 17 days. Pineca: delivery printed as "4 to 6 weeks" and "8 to 12 weeks", cost not stated. amerlife: not read. Not summed; printed as each seller states itBackyard Discovery, read October 2026Pineca, read October 2026
3. FoundationAngi $4 to $8 per sq ft: $1,600 to $3,200; HomeGuide $5 to $10 per sq ft: $2,000 to $4,000; Pineca excludes the foundationAngi, September 2026HomeGuide, January 2026Pineca, read October 2026
4. Assembly laborHomeGuide kit labor $3 to $5 per sq ft: $1,200 to $2,000; Backyard Discovery lists professional assembly at $1,820; HomeGuide notes some kit prices include delivery and installation laborHomeGuide, January 2026Backyard Discovery, read October 2026
5. PermitHomeGuide $75 to $300; Angi $60 to $800 (no per sq ft rate)HomeGuide, January 2026Angi, September 2026

What does each kit state about wood, posts, roof and anchoring?

Sellers state different things about wood, posts, roof and anchoring, so each listing's own statement is shown with its source. A cell that no page filled reads Not recorded.

What each listing states about wood, posts, roof and anchoring
ListingWoodPostsRoofAnchoring and foundationSource
Backyard Discovery Kingsport 20x20x8100 percent cedar6x6 cedar posts29-gauge black galvanized steel; 3 degree pitchAnchored per the manualBackyard DiscoveryThe Home Depot
Sunjoy Timberland Premium 11x20Premium cedar frame5.5 x 5.5 in solid postsPowder-coated steel gable roofStakes (31.1 mph) or concrete mount (50 mph); wedge anchors for concreteSunjoy
Sunjoy Hanover 11x20; Newville 10.1x21.6Cedar (Hanover); FSC cedar (Newville)Not recordedNot recordedNot recordedThe Home Depot
amerlife 20x20 and 12x24 listings"Cedar frame" on one 12x24 listing and "Cedar Wood Series" on another; others not statedNot recordedBrown or gray roof named on the cardsNot recorded; the product page returned 404The Home Depot
VEIKOUS 12x10Brown cedarNot recordedNot recordedNot recordedThe Home Depot
Yardistry carport pavilionsCedarNot recordedNot readThe page has an FAQ on anchoring; its answers were not recordedYardistry
Pineca Classic Double 20x20Nordic pine and Scandinavian spruceNot recorded0.8 in tongue-and-groove roof boards; felt and shingles optionalFoundation excludedPineca

The wood-care site woodworkingadvisor.com says western red cedar lasts 15 to 30 years above ground and 5 to 15 years in ground contact. Viance names UC3B for above-ground exposed use and UC4A for ground contact, and a treated post's end tag shows its use category. For species, ground contact and lifespan, read wood carport materials and lifespan.

Side view diagram of a wood carport frame with the post, header beam, rafter and steel roof panel labeled
Diagram: CarportBay. The parts of a wood carport frame, with the post, header and rafter sizes one timber-frame listing states.

How do you read a wood kit's wind and snow rating?

Wind and snow figures on wood kit pages are the seller's own, and no page read names a code edition. Backyard Discovery states snow as a depth in inches and Sunjoy as pounds per square foot, so each figure is shown in its own unit with no conversion.

Wind and snow ratings as each source states them
Listing or sourceWindSnowWho states it, and what is named
Backyard Discovery Kingsport 20x20x8Up to 100 mphUp to 30 inches (a depth); roof load 20,800 lbThe maker's and Home Depot's listings; no standard named.The Home Depot page
Sunjoy Timberland Premium 11x2031.1 mph with stakes; 50 mph with a concrete mount16.4 psf (4,400 lb total)Sunjoy's product page; no standard named; sold out at the read.
Yardistry carport pavilionsNot statedNot statedThe page prints no rating.
Pineca Classic Double 20x20Not specifiedNot specifiedThe page says wind and snow are not specified.
Big Timber Carport XL (installed route)130 mph, 3-second gustNot recordedThe seller's page; installed scope; metadata runs through January 2025.
Pergola Depot carport pergola kits"Engineer stamped for 175 mph wind"Not recordedThe seller's page; price lines carry no size.
Western Timber Frame guide"Engineered for your site, starting at 115 mph"Not recordedA seller-written guide, updated September 4, 2026.
Timber Frame HQ 26x36 plansWind, seismic, snow, flood and soil conditions may need extra engineeringSame sentenceThe plan seller says these are the buyer's responsibility.
Pierce County, WA (a local value)Design wind 110 mphGround snow 30 psfThe county's carport guide, updated December 3, 2024. It shows that a local design value comes from the local department.

Wind and snow ratings are the figures each seller or maker prints, in the unit it uses. Your building department sets the design values for your address.

The Pierce County row shows where a design value comes from. The county's carport guide lists design wind 110 mph and ground snow 30 psf, and a local building department sets the value for each address.

Who makes wood carport kits, and where are they sold?

Pineca calls itself a family factory, and Home Depot lists wood kits from Backyard Discovery, amerlife, Sunjoy and VEIKOUS. For what each role means, read maker versus dealer explained.

Maker and seller roles as each company's page states them
CompanyRole as the page states itListings it carries on the pageSource and date
The Home DepotRetailer; lists wood kits from Backyard Discovery, amerlife, Sunjoy and VEIKOUSNine of the 15 price rowsThe Home Depot, read October 6, 2026
Backyard DiscoveryLists the Kingsport on its own site with price, warranty and shipping; the same model is listed at Home Depot. The page read does not say who builds itKingsport 20x20x8 and 20x12x8Backyard Discovery and The Home Depot, read October 6, 2026
SunjoySells wood carports on its own site; the Hanover and Newville appear at Home DepotTimberland Compact and Premium; Hanover; NewvilleSunjoy and The Home Depot, read October 6, 2026
YardistrySells carport pavilions on its own site with assembly services14x17, 14x25 and 14x34Yardistry, read October 6, 2026
PinecaDescribes itself as a Latvia-based family factory since 1993; sells on its US pageClassic Double 20x20Pineca, read October 6, 2026
amerlife and VEIKOUSBrands printed on Home Depot cards. No maker page was readamerlife (four rows); VEIKOUS 12x10The Home Depot, read October 6, 2026
Big Timber StructuresSells an installed timber-frame carport. Used for the routes table onlyCarport XLBig Timber Structures, read October 6, 2026
Pergola Depot (Umidi Ventures, Inc.)Sells carport pergola kits; Melbourne, FL, since 2008. Used for the routes table onlyFour price lines, no sizesPergola Depot, read October 6, 2026
Timber Frame HQSells plan sets; Mountain Rest, SC26x36 plans, $127.00Timber Frame HQ, read October 6, 2026
Western Timber FrameSells timber frames; its guide ranks for wood kit queriesGuide only, no priceWestern Timber Frame, updated September 4, 2026
84 LumberRetailer; says its carport packages are not available in AZ, CA, FL and NVNo prices84 Lumber, read October 6, 2026

Each role is stated as the company's own page describes it on the date shown.

Returns, warranty and freight by seller

Return, warranty and freight terms differ by seller, so each term below is quoted as the seller printed it.

Returns, warranty and freight by seller
SellerReturn term as printedWarranty as printedFreight, delivery and assembly as printed
Home Depot (Kingsport page)Within 90 days5 years (Kingsport)Not recorded
Backyard DiscoveryNot recorded on the page read5 yearsFree shipping in 7 to 17 days; professional assembly $1,820
Sunjoy30-day returnsNo warranty text on the page readFree curbside shipping; "a few hours" to assemble; AssemblyHelp.com named for assemblySunjoy page
YardistryNo policy found on the pages readNot recordedAssembly services with up to a 40 percent install discount
PinecaNo policy found on the pages read"5 Year" and "10-year anti-rot" on one pageDelivery "4 to 6 weeks" and "8 to 12 weeks"; foundation, installation and shingle nails excluded
Pergola DepotNot recordedNot recordedFree shipping in the lower 48; ships by semi-truck; 2 to 3 adults to unload
Timber Frame HQ (plans)30-day money-backNot applicableA PDF download

Return, warranty and delivery terms are quoted from each seller's page on the date shown and can change.

Which wood kit fits your site, vehicles and permit?

Your site, your vehicles and your city's permit rule decide which wood kit size is worth pricing.

Which wood kit fits: situations and what each points to
SituationPoints toBasis
A footprint of 200 sq ft or lessTwo listings: VEIKOUS 12x10 (120 sq ft) and Sunjoy Timberland Compact 11x13 (143 sq ft)IRC R105.2 item 1 as printed by two local governments, carports not named; California's figure is 120 sq ft; Pierce County requires a permit for all carports except membrane structures
One vehicleThe 10.1x21.6 to 11x20 listings (218 to 220 sq ft): Hanover, Newville and Timberland PremiumNo vehicle count was recorded from the listings, so the reader measures the vehicle and adds working room
Two vehiclesThe three 20x20 kits (400 sq ft), or the 14x25 and 14x34 pavilionsSame: no vehicle count was recorded from the listings
A long, narrow siteThe 12x24 amerlife listings (288 sq ft) and the 20x12 Kingsport (240 sq ft)Listed footprints
Snow or high windA listing that states a rating for the site, then a check of the local design valueKingsport and Sunjoy state figures; Yardistry and Pineca state none. Pierce County lists design wind 110 mph and ground snow 30 psf as one local example
A concrete slab or footingAsk which base the rating assumesSunjoy lists wedge anchors for concrete and 50 mph on a concrete mount; Pineca excludes the foundation; Backyard Discovery says anchored per the manual
A site in AZ, CA, FL or NV84 Lumber says its packages are not available thereOther sellers' availability was not read

IRC R105.2 item 1, as printed in 2021 copies kept by the City of Sioux Falls and Grant County, WA, exempts one-story detached accessory structures of 200 sq ft or less and names no carport. California's figure is 120 sq ft, as printed by El Dorado County and the City of Berkeley. Pierce County, WA requires a permit for all carports except membrane structures of 576 sq ft or less. Thirteen of the 15 listings are above 200 sq ft.

This page provides general information about permit and code requirements based on publicly available sources cited above. Building codes and permit requirements vary by jurisdiction and change over time. This is not a substitute for confirming current requirements with your local building department or consulting a licensed contractor or engineer for your specific project.

These rows are readings of the listings above, and your building department decides what applies at your address.

What this comparison leaves out

This comparison covers wood kits only, and each neighboring topic has its own guide.

  • Prices are listing prices read on October 6, 2026, and they change; one Sunjoy product page was sold out at the read.
  • Wind and snow figures are the sellers' own, and the building department sets the local design value.
  • Kit-only prices leave out the foundation, permit, labor and, at some sellers, freight.
  • Five facts have no source on the pages read: return policies for Yardistry, Pineca and Big Timber, a code edition on any listing, the ICC text of R105.2, and the maker pages for amerlife and VEIKOUS.

Wood species, lifespan, assembly steps, engineering and installation are outside this comparison.

Wood carport kit questions

These eight questions cover cost, contents, foundations, assembly, permits, ratings, lifespan and where kits are sold.

Where to go next

Each next page takes one decision from this guide further: the kit family, the 20x20 size or the build steps.

Get free carport quotes

The form is at the end of this page.

Ready to move forward

Get Matched With Installers Near You

Tell us a bit about your project and we will connect you with vetted installers and manufacturers who serve your area. There is no cost or obligation to request information.

See the affiliate disclosure page for how referrals work.