Two Car Carport Kits: Sizes, Ratings and What the Price Leaves Out
CarportBay Editorial Team Reviewed
A two car carport kit can run from 19 ft to 24 ft wide, and the kit price covers only part of the project. A 20x20 Mueller kit at $1,795 is $4.49 per sq ft; at 400 sq ft, foundation, permit and assembly add $2,860 to $8,000 on Angi's ranges. Each kit below is dated.
Last verified:

On this page
What is a two car carport kit?
A two car carport kit is a set of prefabricated frame and roof parts, shipped to the buyer for assembly and sized so two vehicles park under the finished structure. Sellers also write it as a 2 car carport kit or a double carport kit. The kit price is the price of the parts, and foundation, permit and assembly are separate layers. The carport kit buying guide lists the kit types and what each includes.
Who makes the kits on this page, and who sells them?
Which kit sizes fit two cars?
Width decides how much space two vehicles have under a two car carport kit: two 2025 Toyota Camrys leave 28.4 in per gap at 19.17 ft, 31.7 in at 20 ft and 47.7 in at 24 ft. The widths also apply to a 2 car carport sold without a kit.
Space per gap equals the carport width in inches, minus the combined width of the vehicles, divided by the number of vehicles plus one.
Widths used: 2025 Toyota Camry 72.4 in without mirrors, and 2026 Ford F-150 95.7 in with mirrors out (79.9 in without).
CarportBay marks a gap under 30 in as tight. The 30 in line is our own working marker for this page, not a code or an industry standard.
| Carport width | Two Camrys, per gap | Camrys against 30 in | Two F-150s, per gap | F-150s against 30 in | Table 3 kits at this width |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 18 ft | 23.7 in | Tight | 8.2 in | Tight | None in Table 3 |
| 19.17 ft | 28.4 in | Tight | 12.9 in | Tight | Canopia |
| 20 ft | 31.7 in | Not tight | 16.2 in | Tight | Mueller; VersaTube; Arrow; Pineca; Home Depot listings |
| 24 ft | 47.7 in | Not tight | 32.2 in | Not tight | Mueller |
The gaps are arithmetic from published vehicle dimensions, not a test, and mirrors, parking position and door swing change the real space.
The 20x20 carport page shows the gap for any vehicle pair. Run other pairs through the width and gap check for two vehicles. See door space in a double carport for 18 to 26 ft. Read what a 24x24 footprint leaves per gap at 24 ft.
Two Camrys end to end need 32.25 ft of length, and no kit in Table 3 is that deep. See two-car carport dimensions and vehicle lengths for single-file parking.
How do two car carport kits compare?
Table 3 sets two car carport kits side by side by footprint, kit-only price, stated wind and snow figure and warranty, as each maker or seller's own page prints them.
Kit-only prices
A kit price covers the parts: Mueller's 20x20 kit is $1,795 and its 24x24 is $2,595 on Mueller's own page, and each excludes tax, freight, foundation and installation.
| Kit, maker and seller | Footprint | Kit-only price and date | Price per sq ft | Wind and snow as stated | Warranty as stated | Anchoring and foundation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mueller 20x20Made and sold by Mueller | 20x20 ft, 400 sq ft | $1,795 (regular $1,995)Oct 6, 2026 | $4.49 | None stated | 45-year limited paint | Not provided |
| Mueller 24x24Made and sold by Mueller | 24x24 ft, 576 sq ft | $2,595 (regular $2,895)Oct 6, 2026 | $4.51 | None stated | 45-year limited paint | Not provided |
| VersaTube Classic 20x20x7Maker not stated; sold by VersaTube | 20x20 ft, 400 sq ftNominal; frame length printed as 18 ft. | $2,099, shipping includedOct 6, 2026 | $5.25 | None printed | 20-year limited frame and paint | Anchors provided |
| Arrow 20x20x7 carportMaker and seller not stated | 20x20 ft, 400 sq ft | No price printedOct 6, 2026 | Not computed | 100 mph, 35 psf | 10-year limited | Foundation listed at 252 by 252 in |
| Canopia Sydney Double ApexMaker and seller not stated | 19 ft 2 in by 18 ft 9 in, 359.4 sq ftTitle reads 20 ft x 20 ft; page lists 19 ft 2 in wide. | No price printedOct 6, 2026 | Not computed | 75 mph, 13.3 lb per sq ft | 10-year limited | Concrete footings and slab listed |
| Pineca Classic Double 20x20Made and sold by Pineca | Listed as 20x20, 388 sq ftPrice per sq ft uses 388. | $4,299Oct 6, 2026 | $11.08 | Not specified | Not stated | Foundation and installation excluded |
| Home Depot, twelve 20x20 steel listingsThird-party brands, sold by Home Depot | 20x20 ft, 400 sq ft | $1,043.48 to $1,999Oct 5, 2026 | $2.61 to $5.00 | Not read | Not read | Not read |
Prices, sizes and ratings are shown as each named page states them on the date given. They change without notice. A kit-only price leaves out freight, foundation, permit and assembly unless the row says otherwise.
Delivered and installed offers for the same footprint
A delivered and installed offer answers a different question from a kit price: Carport Central lists a 20x20 from $2,400, with delivery and installation in 48 states.
| Offer and seller | Footprint | Price and date | Seller states it includes | Warranty as stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carport Central 20x20, regular roof | 20x20 ft, 400 sq ft | From $2,400Oct 6, 2026 | Gables, 3 ft side panels, 7 ft high; delivery and installation in 48 states | 20-year frame, 10-year panel, 1-year workmanship |
| Legacy Carports two-car carports | Sizes vary by model | $4,506 to $14,531Oct 6, 2026 | Delivery and installation; 2 to 3 weeks | 90-day workmanship |
Prices, sizes and ratings are shown as each named page states them on the date given. They change without notice. A kit-only price leaves out freight, foundation, permit and assembly unless the row says otherwise.
What do the wind, snow and warranty figures say?
The wind, snow and warranty figures for two car carport kits are the figures each maker or seller prints, and they differ. Arrow states 100 mph and 35 psf, Canopia's Sydney double 75 mph and 13.3 lb per sq ft, and Mueller states no rating.
| Kit or offer | Who states it | Wind | Snow | Test or code named | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arrow 20x20x7 | Arrow, Oct 6, 2026 | 100 mph | 35 psf | None named | 10-year limited |
| Canopia Sydney Double Apex | Canopia, Oct 6, 2026 | 75 mph | 13.3 lb per sq ft | None named | 10-year limited |
| Legacy two-car (installed) | Legacy, Oct 6, 2026 | 140 mph, 3-second gust | Up to 35 psf | Wind certified, per page | 90-day workmanship |
| Carport Central 20x20 (installed) | Carport Central, Oct 6, 2026 | No figure; certification offered | No figure | None named | 20-year frame, 10-year panel |
| Mueller 20x20 and 24x24 | Mueller, Oct 6, 2026 | None stated | None stated | No code or engineering criteria represented | 45-year limited paint |
Prices, sizes and ratings are shown as each named page states them on the date given. They change without notice. A kit-only price leaves out freight, foundation, permit and assembly unless the row says otherwise.
Wind and snow ratings are the figures each seller or maker prints. Your building department sets the design values for your address.
The kits hub covers how to read a wind and snow rating.
What does a two car carport kit cost once the kit is bought?
A two car carport kit price is one layer of the project: for a Mueller 20x20 at $1,795 on 400 sq ft, foundation, permit and assembly add $2,860 to $8,000 on Angi's ranges.
Assembly is a layer the kit price leaves out; see what a build adds to the kit price.
| Layer | Source | Rate | At 400 sq ft | At 576 sq ft | Source date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Freight | Mueller | Not stated; quote needed | Not priced | Not priced | Oct 6, 2026 |
| Foundation | Angi | $4 to $8 per sq ft | $1,600 to $3,200 | $2,304 to $4,608 | September 22, 2026 |
| Foundation | HomeGuide | $5 to $10 per sq ft | $2,000 to $4,000 | $2,880 to $5,760 | January 16, 2026 |
| Permit | Angi | $60 to $800 per project | $60 to $800 | $60 to $800 | September 22, 2026 |
| Permit | HomeGuide | $75 to $300 per project | $75 to $300 | $75 to $300 | January 16, 2026 |
| Assembly | Angi | $3 to $10 per sq ft | $1,200 to $4,000 | $1,728 to $5,760 | September 22, 2026 |
| Assembly | HomeGuide | $3 to $5 per sq ft | $1,200 to $2,000 | $1,728 to $2,880 | January 16, 2026 |
| Project with kit, before freight | Angi | Kit plus layers | $4,655 to $9,795 | $6,687 to $13,763 | September 22, 2026 |
| Kit share of project | Angi | Kit over project | 18.3 to 38.6 percent | 18.9 to 38.8 percent | September 22, 2026 |
The layers in Table 5 come from two cost guides and are arithmetic at 400 and 576 sq ft, not a quote. Prices change without notice and are re-read every 30 days.
Does a two car carport kit need a permit?
The 2021 International Residential Code (IRC), section R105.2, lists one-story detached accessory structures of 200 sq ft or less among the work exempt from a permit. Every kit footprint in Table 3 is 359 sq ft or more, which is 1.8 to 2.9 times that line. Local codes and editions differ, so confirm current requirements with your local building department before you buy or build. The carport permit rules and thresholds page covers the detail.
This section gives general information from the code edition cited above. Confirm current requirements with your local building department before beginning construction.
What does a two car carport kit not cover?
A two car carport kit price covers the kit and what its maker states for it, which leaves three limits to read before buying.
Three limits of a kit
A two car carport kit price is a kit price: it covers the parts the page names and leaves out freight, foundation, permit and assembly unless the row says otherwise. Each rating applies as the named maker or seller states it, and Mueller states none and says it does not represent its carports as meeting any specific code. A footprint above 200 sq ft raises permit questions, and fit depends on the vehicles: the Table 2 gaps are arithmetic on published widths, not a test, and mirrors, parking position and door swing change the real space.
Where to go next
Two car carport kit questions
Four questions come up most often about two car carport kits, and each answer below carries its figures and its date.
Mueller's 20x20 kit is $1,795 and its 24x24 is $2,595; VersaTube's Classic 20x20x7 is $2,099 with shipping included. Each excludes foundation, permit and assembly. Carport Central's installed 20x20 starts at $2,400.
A 20 ft width leaves 31.7 inches per gap for two 2025 Toyota Camrys; 18 ft leaves 23.7 and 24 ft leaves 47.7. Two 2026 Ford F-150s with mirrors out leave 16.2 inches at 20 ft.
The kit price alone does not settle it, because foundation, permit and assembly apply to either route. A Mueller 20x20 kit is $1,795; the layers beyond it run $2,860 to $8,000 at 400 sq ft.
In the kits read, no: Mueller's page says foundation and installation are not included, and Arrow and Canopia list foundation requirements. Delivered offers from Legacy and Carport Central include installation.