Metal Carport Kits: Prices, Sizes and What to Know Before You Buy
CarportBay Editorial Team Reviewed
A metal carport kit is a steel frame and roof panels that you assemble on your own site. Kits read on October 6, 2026 ran from $3.12 to $10.44 per sq ft, and 20x20 to 20x21 kits cost $2,099 to $3,610, kit-only. Foundation, permit, labor and some freight are priced separately.
| Measure | Result | Source and date |
|---|---|---|
| 14 listings, per sq ft | $3.12–$10.44 | Seller pages, 2026-10-06 |
| Arrow 12x20x7, three sellers | $748.99–$1,499.99 | Seller pages, 2026-10-06 |
| Three 20x20 to 20x21 kits | $2,099–$3,610 | VersaTube and ShedsForLessDirect, 2026-10-06 |
| Metal carport, installed | $8–$20 per sq ft | HomeGuide, updated 2026-01-16 |
Kit-only prices were read on October 6, 2026 from the seller pages named in the tables below. Each row's seller and date sit in those tables.

On this page
Kit or installed: what does each metal carport price cover?
A metal carport kit is a steel frame, roof panels, hardware and anchors delivered as parts for you or a hired crew to assemble, while an installed metal carport is built on your site by the seller or a contractor. The scopes differ: a VersaTube 20x20x7 kit listed at $2,099 on October 6, 2026, and a delivered-and-installed 20x20 listed from $1,695 in the seller's service areas. The routes table shows what each price covers.
| Route | What the price covers | Example read 2026-10-06 | Listed price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kit you assemble | Frame, roof panels, hardware and anchors as the seller lists them; assembly, foundation and permit are separate | VersaTube Classic 20x20x7, shipping included; ShelterLogic Arrow 12x20x7, free shipping | $2,099 and $1,499.99 |
| Delivered and installed by the seller | Delivery and installation in the seller's service areas; you pour the foundation and get the permit | Direct Metal Structures 20x20x9; Alan's Factory Outlet 12x21 vertical roof | Starting at $1,910 and $1,695 |
| Installed by a contractor you hire | Labor for a kit or for a built-on-site structure; HomeGuide gives kit assembly labor at $3 to $5 per sq ft | HomeGuide metal carport, installed, updated 2026-01-16 | $8–$20 per sq ft |
A metal carport kit is the route this page covers, and its prices are kit-only. Delivered-and-installed rows appear beside the kits in the 20x20 comparison so the scope of each price stays visible, and contractor labor appears in the layers table.
Read what a carport kit includes for the parts every kit type ships with.
Who makes each metal carport kit and who sells it?
VersaTube states that it offers pre-engineered DIY steel carport kits that ship to the home, and ShelterLogic lists the Arrow 12x20x7 as manufactured in the USA. ShedsDirect, Select Sheds and ShedsForLessDirect are retailers that list those brands. The roles table gives each company's role as its own page states it, and a cell says so where a page names no maker.
| Company | Role as its page states it | Source page, read |
|---|---|---|
| VersaTube | Offers pre-engineered DIY steel carport kits that ship to the home; lists dealers; Menards lists VersaTube sheds and carports | versatube.com, 2026-10-06 |
| ShelterLogic (Arrow) | Lists the Arrow 12x20x7 as manufactured in the USA with a 10-year limited warranty | shelterlogic.com, 2026-10-06 |
| ShedsDirect | Retailer that lists Arrow kits, with a retail price shown beside its own price | shedsdirect.com, 2026-10-06 |
| Select Sheds | Retailer that lists the Arrow kit under SKU CPHC122007 | Product page, 2026-10-06 |
| ShedsForLessDirect | Retailer that lists a VersaTube 20x20x10 kit with free curbside freight | Product page, 2026-10-06 |
| Alan's Factory Outlet | Sells prefab metal carport kits for one and two cars with free delivery and installation in its service areas; its help article names its buildersHelp article, read 2026-10-04 | alansfactoryoutlet.com, 2026-10-06 |
| Carport.com | Sells kits and installed buildings; states a kit is the building it would have installed, cut and shipped for you to assemble | carport.com, 2026-10-06 |
| Absolute Steel Buildings | States that it is a manufacturer of metal carport kits shipped by freight | absoluterv.com, 2026-10-06 |
| Eagle Carports | States that it manufactures over 50,000 buildings a year at six plants and sells through authorized dealers | eaglecarports.com, 2026-10-06 |
Each role is stated as the company's own page describes it on the date shown.
How much do metal carport kits cost per square foot?
The 14 metal carport kit listings read on October 6, 2026 ran from $3.12 to $10.44 per sq ft, with the lowest at Select Sheds and the highest on a VersaTube Pinnacle 12x21x7.
Per square foot means the kit-only price divided by the footprint, width times length, rounded to cents. Each row gives the listing's size, price and per sq ft figure, with its seller and the date read.
Last verified:
| Listing | Seller | Size (area) | Price | Per sq ft | What the price covers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Band 1: 12x20 to 12x21 ft | |||||
| ShelterLogic Arrow 12x20x7, charcoal | ShelterLogic (maker page) | 12x20 (240 sq ft) | $1,499.99 | $6.25 | Product page read; free shipping; 10-year limited warranty on the page; nominal size, assembled exterior printed as 12 ft 2 in by 19 ft 8 in (234 sq ft) |
| Arrow 12x20x7 (SKU CPH122007) | ShedsDirect | 12x20 (240 sq ft) | $1,289.95 (was $1,849.95) | $5.37 | Product page read; retail price shown as $1,849.95 |
| Arrow 12x20x7 (SKU CPHC122007) | Select Sheds | 12x20 (240 sq ft) | $748.99 | $3.12 | Product page read; title says 35 PSF snow-rated |
| VersaTube Classic (2x2) 12x20x7 | VersaTube (maker page) | 12x20 (240 sq ft) | $1,499 (was $1,866) | $6.25 | Standard kits page, card read; shipping and anchors not on the card |
| VersaTube Pinnacle 12x21x7 | VersaTube (maker page) | 12x21 (252 sq ft) | $2,632 | $10.44 | Standard kits page, card read |
| Band 2: 20x20 to 20x21 ft | |||||
| VersaTube Classic 20x20x7 | VersaTube (maker page) | 20x20 (400 sq ft) | $2,099 (was $2,607) | $5.25 | Product page read; shipping included; anchors provided; nominal size, actual frame length printed as 18 ft |
| VersaTube Classic 20x20x10 (CM020200100) | ShedsForLessDirect | 20x20 (400 sq ft) | $2,779 (was $4,299.99) | $6.95 | Product page read; free curbside freight; 20-year limited frame and paint warranty |
| VersaTube Pinnacle 20x21x7 | VersaTube (maker page) | 20x21 (420 sq ft) | $3,610 | $8.60 | Standard kits page, card read |
| Band 3: 24x20 to 24x21 ft | |||||
| VersaTube Classic 24x20x7 | VersaTube (maker page) | 24x20 (480 sq ft) | $2,599 (was $3,152) | $5.41 | Standard kits page, card read |
| VersaTube Pinnacle 24x21x9 | VersaTube (maker page) | 24x21 (504 sq ft) | $4,105 | $8.14 | Standard kits page, card read |
| Band 4: 12 ft sides, 12x29 to 14x33.5 ft | |||||
| VersaTube Classic 12x29x12 | VersaTube (maker page) | 12x29 (348 sq ft) | $2,499 (was $3,009) | $7.18 | Standard kits page, card read; 12 ft side height |
| VersaTube Classic 14x33.5x12 | VersaTube (maker page) | 14x33.5 (469 sq ft) | $3,199 (was $3,762) | $6.82 | Standard kits page, card read; 12 ft side height |
| Band 5: Long, 20x42.5 to 24x48 ft | |||||
| VersaTube Classic 20x42.5x12 | VersaTube (maker page) | 20x42.5 (850 sq ft) | $4,699 (was $5,602) | $5.53 | Standard kits page, card read |
| VersaTube Pinnacle 24x48x7 | VersaTube (maker page) | 24x48 (1152 sq ft) | $9,005 | $7.82 | Standard kits page, card read |
Prices are the listing prices each seller showed on October 6, 2026. They change often, and foundation, permit, labor and some freight are priced separately.
VersaTube's site shows a notice that its prices rise on October 10. The VersaTube rows give the prices read on October 6, 2026.
Arrow 12x20x7 listings at three sellers
ShelterLogic's own page lists the Arrow 12x20x7 at $1,499.99, or $6.25 per sq ft over 240 sq ft. ShedsDirect lists it at $1,289.95 with a retail price of $1,849.95 shown beside it, or $5.37 per sq ft, and Select Sheds lists it at $748.99, or $3.12 per sq ft.
The highest of the three prices is 2.00 times the lowest ($1,499.99 divided by $748.99). A Tractor Supply listing for the Arrow 12x20x7 read $1,134.99 on October 5, 2026 on the metal carports page of this site, and that figure sits outside the 14 listings and every range here.
20x20 to 20x21 kits beside delivered-and-installed listings
Three kit listings are 20x20 to 20x21 ft and ran $2,099 to $3,610, kit-only: the VersaTube Classic 20x20x7 at $2,099, the ShedsForLessDirect VersaTube 20x20x10 at $2,779 and the VersaTube Pinnacle 20x21x7 at $3,610.
Last verified:
| Listing | Route | Seller | Size (area) | Price | Per sq ft | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VersaTube Classic 20x20x7 | Kit, kit-only | VersaTube (maker page) | 20x20 (400 sq ft) | $2,099 | $5.25 | 2026-10-06 |
| VersaTube Classic 20x20x10 (CM020200100) | Kit, kit-only | ShedsForLessDirect | 20x20 (400 sq ft) | $2,779 | $6.95 | 2026-10-06 |
| VersaTube Pinnacle 20x21x7 | Kit, kit-only | VersaTube (maker page) | 20x21 (420 sq ft) | $3,610 | $8.60 | 2026-10-06 |
| Direct Metal Structures, regular roof 20x20x9 | Delivered and installed; the page lists delivery and installation with the starting price | Direct Metal Structures | 20x20 (400 sq ft) | $1,910 (starting at) | $4.78 | 2026-10-06 |
| Alan's Factory Outlet, regular roof 20x20 | Delivered and installed by the seller in its service areas | Alan's Factory Outlet | 20x20 (400 sq ft) | $1,695 | $4.24 | 2026-10-06 (card) |
| Alan's Factory Outlet, vertical roof 20x20 | Delivered and installed by the seller in its service areas | Alan's Factory Outlet | 20x20 (400 sq ft) | $1,995 | $4.99 | 2026-10-06 (card) |
| VIWAT 20x20 metal carport | Kit, imported. Card price, product page not read | Home Depot (card) | 20x20 (400 sq ft) | $1,100 | $2.75 | 2026-10-06 (card) |
Delivered-and-installed 20x20 listings started at $1,695 to $1,995, below the lowest kit listing, because the scopes and listed heights differ. The VIWAT 20x20 card on Home Depot shows $1,100, and its product page was not read, so the card sits outside the kit range.
Larger, longer and taller kits
The six listings in the three largest size bands are VersaTube kits. Classic kits ran $5.41 to $7.18 per sq ft and Pinnacle kits ran $7.82 to $8.14, and the two kits with 12 ft sides ran $6.82 to $7.18.
The four rows below are Google Shopping cards for imported kits, and each is kept outside every range.
| Listing | Seller | Size (area) | Price | Per sq ft | Rating on the card |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VIWAT 20x20 metal carport | Home Depot (card) | 20x20 (400 sq ft) | $1,100 | $2.75 | 3.3 (50) |
| VIWAT 10x15 metal carport | Home Depot (card) | 10x15 (150 sq ft) | $575 | $3.83 | 3.1 (63) |
| VEVOR 10x15 metal carport | Home Depot (card) | 10x15 (150 sq ft) | $434.89 | $2.90 | 4.4 (58) |
| VersaTube 12x18x7 carport, 20-year warranty | Menards (card) | 12x18 (216 sq ft) | $899 (was $1,206) | $4.16 | not on card |
Card rows are Google Shopping cards read on October 6, 2026. The product page behind each card was not read, so no card price enters a range, the chart or the page's structured data.
What does a metal carport kit price leave out?
A kit price covers the frame, panels and hardware, and the foundation, permit, assembly labor and some freight are priced separately. For 400 sq ft, publishers put the slab at $1,600 to $4,000 and the permit at $60 to $800.
| Layer | Publisher | Rate | For 400 sq ft | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Foundation (slab) | HomeGuide | $5–$10 per sq ft | $2,000–$4,000 | Updated 2026-01-16 |
| Foundation (slab) | Angi | $4–$8 per sq ft | $1,600–$3,200 | Read 2026-10-06 |
| Kit assembly labor | HomeGuide | $3–$5 per sq ft | $1,200–$2,000 | Updated 2026-01-16 |
| Labor | Angi | $3–$10 per sq ft | $1,200–$4,000 | Read 2026-10-06 |
| Permit | HomeGuide | $75–$300 per project | $75–$300 | Updated 2026-01-16 |
| Permit | Angi | $60–$800 per project | $60–$800 | Read 2026-10-06 |
Freight is stated differently by each seller, and each statement below names its source.
- VersaTube lists shipping as included on its Classic 20x20x7 page.
- ShelterLogic lists free shipping on its Arrow 12x20x7 page.
- ShedsForLessDirect lists free curbside freight on its VersaTube 20x20x10 page.
- Carport.com states that kit delivery is free in the 40+ states it serves.
- The Select Sheds and ShedsDirect pages read show no freight statement.
A 20x20 kit price in numbers
A 20x20 footprint is 400 sq ft. At HomeGuide's rates a slab runs $2,000 to $4,000, kit assembly labor runs $1,200 to $2,000 and a permit runs $75 to $300. At Angi's rates a slab runs $1,600 to $3,200, labor runs $1,200 to $4,000 and a permit runs $60 to $800.
The two publishers scope their layers differently, so each figure stays on its own line and no total is printed. For installed work, HomeGuide gives metal carports at $8 to $20 per sq ft, or $3,200 to $8,000 for 400 sq ft, and Angi gives an average of $6,372 for a metal carport.
What do the listings say about steel, roof and anchoring?
The listings state tube gauge, panel gauge, roof pitch, anchors and warranty in different places, and the specifications table lines up what each page printed. A wind or snow figure is the seller's own number, and the local building department sets the design value for an address.
| Listing | Frame and roof as stated | Anchors | Stated rating | Warranty as stated | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VersaTube Classic 20x20x7 | 2x3 in. 14 and 15 gauge galvanized tube frame; 29 gauge roof panels; 3:12 pitch; trusses 4.5 ft on center | Provided with each kit: rebar anchors for ground, wedge anchor bolts for a slab | Optional extra truss bracing and 26 gauge panels for higher snow or wind; truss bracing is required where a permit is needed | 20-year limited frame; 20-year paint finish; erect within 30 days of delivery to keep warranty | VersaTube |
| ShelterLogic Arrow 12x20x7 | 29 gauge painted galvanized steel roof, horizontal panels; powder-coated frame; slip-fit connection | Listed as included; anchor kits at $39.99 and $89.99 are also sold on the page | 100 mph wind and up to 35 PSF snow or ground load, as the seller states | 10-year limited | ShelterLogic |
| ShedsForLessDirect VersaTube 20x20x10 | VersaTube 20x20x10 kit as the seller lists it, 10 ft height | Not stated on the page read | Not stated on the page read | 20-year limited frame and paint | ShedsForLessDirect |
| Select Sheds Arrow 12x20x7 | Arrow family kit, SKU CPHC122007 | Not stated on the page read | Title says 35 PSF snow-rated | Not stated on the page read | Select Sheds |
| Alan's Factory Outlet | U.S.-made steel; regular, boxed-eave or vertical roof; installed by the seller in its service areas | Installed by the seller | Not stated on the page read | 1-year workmanship | Alan's Factory Outlet |
| Absolute Steel Buildings | Steel frame; its HD System uses 2x4 tube for spans up to 40 ft; call for pricing | Not stated on the page read | Snow load looked up by ZIP code on its page | Panel colors guaranteed 20 to 25 years against fading, chalking, cracking or peeling | Absolute Steel Buildings |
How to read a wind and snow figure
A wind or snow figure on a kit page is the seller's own number. ShelterLogic states 100 mph wind and up to 35 PSF snow or ground load for the Arrow 12x20x7, and the Select Sheds title says 35 PSF snow-rated for the same Arrow family.
VersaTube lists optional extra truss bracing and 26 gauge panels for higher snow or wind, and states that truss bracing is required where a permit is needed. The VersaTube row carries that bracing statement and no mph or PSF figure.
The building department for an address sets the design wind speed and ground snow load there. A seller figure gives a question to ask that office, and the local value decides.
Wind and snow ratings are the figures each seller or maker prints, in the unit it uses. Your building department sets the design values for your address.
Does a metal carport kit need a permit?
The model residential code exempts a one-story detached accessory structure of 200 square feet or less, and every kit listing read here except the smallest imported cards is larger than that. Local rules differ, so the building department decides.
The International Residential Code (2021 and 2024 editions, section R105.2) lists a one-story detached accessory structure of 200 square feet or less as work exempt from a permit; local rules and local amendments differ.
This page provides general information about permit and code requirements based on publicly available sources cited above. Building codes and permit requirements vary by jurisdiction and change over time. This is not a substitute for confirming current requirements with your local building department or consulting a licensed contractor or engineer for your specific project.
| Footprint | Area | Against the 200 sq ft line | Where listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10x15 | 150 sq ft | Under | Imported kit cards (VEVOR, VIWAT) |
| 12x16 | 192 sq ft | Under | No listing read at this size |
| 12x20 | 240 sq ft | Over | ShelterLogic, ShedsDirect, Select Sheds, VersaTube |
| 20x20 | 400 sq ft | Over | VersaTube, ShedsForLessDirect, Alan's, Direct Metal Structures |

The footprint column is width times length. The building department for the address makes the final call on any footprint.
Which metal carport kit route fits your site?
The route and size depend on who will assemble it, the slab you have and the permit rule where you live. The routing table sends each question to the page that covers it.
For every kit type, read carport kits.
| If your question is | Read |
|---|---|
| Prefer to assemble it yourself? | |
| I plan to assemble it myself | how kit assembly works |
| Want it delivered and installed? | |
| I want installed metal carport costs | installed metal carport costs |
What are the limits of these figures?
Four limits apply to every figure here: the prices are one day's listings, the ratings are the sellers' own, kit-only leaves out the work around the kit, and some sellers' pages could not be read.
- Prices are listing prices read on October 6, 2026, and they change; VersaTube's site shows a notice that its prices rise on October 10.
- Wind and snow figures are the sellers' own, and the building department sets the local design value.
- Kit-only prices leave out the foundation, permit, labor and, at some sellers, freight.
- Some facts have no source on the pages read: the product pages behind the four Google Shopping cards, a maker page for the imported VEVOR and VIWAT kits, and every cell the tables mark as not stated.
Lifespan, assembly steps, structural design and installation are outside this comparison.
Metal carport kit questions
These eight answers use the same dated figures as the tables on this page.
Kits read on October 6, 2026 ranged from $3.12 to $10.44 per sq ft, kit-only. Arrow 12x20x7 listings ran $748.99 to $1,499.99 across three sellers, and a VersaTube Classic 20x20x7 listed at $2,099. Foundation, permit and labor are extra.
Listings name the frame, roof panels, hardware and instructions, and some name anchors. VersaTube states that anchors come with each kit, and ShelterLogic lists anchors as included while also selling anchor kits. Read the "included items" line for the kit you want.
Eleven of the 14 kit listings read are under $8 per sq ft, below the $8 low end of HomeGuide's $8 to $20 installed range for metal. A kit price leaves out labor, foundation and permit, so compare totals.
The model code exempts a detached one-story accessory structure of 200 square feet or less. A 12x20 kit is 240 square feet and a 20x20 kit is 400, so both are over that line. Your building department makes the final call.
VersaTube states that most of its carports can be assembled in one day, two days at most for larger sizes, by two to four people. ShelterLogic buyers report anywhere from an afternoon to two and a half days. Seller and buyer statements are shown as such.
They are the seller's own numbers. ShelterLogic states 100 mph and up to 35 PSF for the Arrow 12x20x7, and VersaTube offers extra bracing for higher loads. Your building department sets the design wind and snow values for your address.
Three 20x20 to 20x21 kits were listed at $2,099 to $3,610 on October 6, 2026, kit-only. Delivered-and-installed 20x20 listings started at $1,695 to $1,995 in the seller's service areas, below the kit listings, because the scope differs.
Makers such as VersaTube sell direct, and retailers such as ShedsDirect, Select Sheds and ShedsForLessDirect list the same brands. Big-box sites list imported kits. The roles table names who makes and who sells each kit as its own page states it.
The form is at the end of this page.
Ready to move forward
Get Matched With Installers Near You
Tell us a bit about your project and we will connect you with vetted installers and manufacturers who serve your area. There is no cost or obligation to request information.
See the affiliate disclosure page for how referrals work.