Carport for 2 Cars: Which Listed Sizes Fit Two Vehicles
CarportBay Editorial Team Reviewed
Last verified:
A carport for 2 cars can be 12 ft wide or 24 ft wide, and the width decides whether two vehicles fit. At 13 ft, two 2025 Toyota Camrys have 3.7 in per gap; at 20 ft, they have 31.7 in. This page checks twelve listings against that arithmetic and dates every price.

On this page
What is a carport for 2 cars?
A carport for 2 cars is a roofed, open-sided structure sized so that two vehicles park side by side beneath it. Sellers use more than one wording for it, and listings also write the same structure as a 2 car carport. A gap is the space between two vehicles, or between a vehicle and the nearest leg. Listed widths run from 12 ft to 24 ft, and the sections below show which leave room for two vehicles and their doors.
Shoppers also write it as carports for two cars, car port for 2 cars and car ports for 2 cars, and the fit check below applies to each.
What sizes do sellers list for a carport for 2 cars?
Sellers list a carport for 2 cars at widths from 12 ft to 24 ft, and Table 2 shows each seller's own range.
| Seller | Width listed | Depth listed | What the price includes | Date read |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Engineered Metal Buildings | 18 to 24 ft | 20 ft | Delivery and installation included; models $2,895 to $12,635, 14 gauge | October 6, 2026 |
| Coast to Coast Carports | 18 to 24 ft | 20x20 to 18x35 models | Delivery and assembly in the price | October 6, 2026 |
| Legacy Carports | 12 to 40 ft in 2 ft steps | Not stated as a range | Professional installation, 2 to 3 weeks | October 6, 2026 |
| Carport.com | 18 and 22 ft (18x21, 22x21 and 18x26 listings) | 21 and 26 ft | Delivery and installation included on the 18x21 page | October 6, 2026 |
| AA Metal Buildings | 20 ft (20x20 and 20x24 advised) | 20 to 24 ft | Size advice by vehicle type, in an article dated November 24, 2025 | October 6, 2026 |
| Alan's Factory Outlet | 20 and 24 ft (20x20, 20x30, 24x20 and 24x25) | 20 to 30 ft | Prices start at $2,500; page undated | October 6, 2026 |
| Eagle Buildings | 24 ft (24x30x9 listing) | 30 ft | Specifications listed: 14 gauge galvanized steel frame, 29 gauge sheeting | October 6, 2026 |
Legacy Carports lists widths from 12 ft up to 40 ft in 2 ft steps, and Table 3 stops at 24 ft. AA Metal Buildings states, in an article dated November 24, 2025, that a 20x20 suits two small cars and a 20x24 two sedans or small SUVs. Alan's Factory Outlet lists 20x20, 20x30, 24x20 and 24x25 as popular two-car sizes, with prices starting at $2,500.
Each range is quoted as the seller states it on the date read.
Does a carport listed for 2 cars fit two vehicles?
A carport listed for 2 cars does not always leave room for two vehicles, and Table 3 shows the inches per gap for twelve listings read on October 6, 2026.
Space per gap equals the carport width in inches, minus the combined width of the vehicles, divided by the number of vehicles plus one. Table 3 uses two 2025 Toyota Camrys at 72.4 in wide each, mirrors excluded, and two 2026 Ford F-150s with mirrors out at 95.7 in wide each. CarportBay marks a gap under 30 in as tight; that line is its own marker, not a code or an industry standard.
| Retailer or seller | Title as shown | Size (ft) | Listed price | Price per sq ft | Two 2025 Camrys, per gap | Two 2026 F-150s, mirrors out, per gap |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wayfair | "12x26ft Heavy Duty Metal Carport Kit for 2 Cars" | 12x26 | $489.99 | $1.57 | Does not fit side by side (0.8 in too wide) | Does not fit side by side (47.4 in too wide) |
| Walmart | "13'x26' Heavy Duty Metal Carport Kit Reinforced Frame & Anchors Fits 2 Cars" | 13x26 | $1,302.99 | $3.86 | 3.7 intight | Does not fit side by side (35.4 in too wide) |
| Walmart | "Mellcom 20x20 ft Carport", with "Fits 2 Cars" in the title | 20x20 | $539.99 | $1.35 | 31.7 in | 16.2 intight |
| Wayfair | "20 ft. W x 20 ft. D Metal Carport for Two Cars" | 20x20 | $839.99 | $2.10 | 31.7 in | 16.2 intight |
| Home Depot | "homfan Heavy Duty 20'x25'x13' Metal Carport for 2 Cars" | 20x25 | $1,098.99 | $2.20 | 31.7 in | 16.2 intight |
| Carport.com | "18' x 21' Two Car Carport Regular Style" | 18x21 | $2,470.00 | $6.53 | 23.7 intight | 8.2 intight |
| Carport.com | "Two Car Steel Carport 22' x 21' x 7'" | 22x21 | $3,070.00 | $6.65 | 39.7 in | 24.2 intight |
| Carport.com | "18' x 26' Two Car Carport" | 18x26 | $3,816.00 | $8.15 | 23.7 intight | 8.2 intight |
| Coast to Coast Carports | "18x26x7 ft Two Car Carport" | 18x26 | $2,745.00 | $5.87 | 23.7 intight | 8.2 intight |
| Direct Metal Structures | "16x30 Two Car Metal Carport" | 16x30 | $4,127.00 | $8.60 | 15.7 intight | 0.2 intight |
| Eagle Buildings | "24x30x9 Two Car Carport" | 24x30 | Not listed | Not listed | 47.7 in | 32.2 in |
| Direct Metal Structures | "24x35 Two Car Metal Carport" | 24x35 | $5,585.00 | $6.65 | 47.7 in | 32.2 in |
The table checks side-by-side parking. A listing title that says "for 2 Cars" does not state which layout it means.
The gaps are arithmetic from published vehicle dimensions, not a test, and mirrors, parking position and door swing change the real space. Listing details are shown as read on the date given and change without notice.
Marketplace kits titled "for 2 Cars"
Five marketplace kits at Wayfair, Walmart and Home Depot carry a two-car phrase in the title, at widths from 12 ft to 20 ft. Each row names the retailer and quotes the title as shown.
The 12x26 and 13x26 kits are the narrowest rows. Two Camrys are 0.8 in too wide in total for 12 ft and have 3.7 in per gap at 13 ft. The three 20 ft wide kits leave 31.7 in per gap for two Camrys and 16.2 in for two F-150s with mirrors out.
Seller-listed carports with delivery and installation
Seven carports listed by sellers with delivery and installation range from 16 ft to 24 ft wide. Carport.com lists an 18x21 two car carport, regular style, at $2,470.00, 7 ft tall, with a 14 gauge frame and 29 gauge roof, delivery and installation included. The Carport.com, Coast to Coast and Direct Metal Structures rows give each seller's size and price as listed.
The Eagle Buildings 24x30x9 row shows no price. Only the two 24 ft wide listings leave 30 in or more per gap for both vehicle pairs, at 47.7 in for two Camrys and 32.2 in for two F-150s with mirrors out.
The carport size guide and sizing calculator run the same gap arithmetic for any width and vehicle pair.
How wide does a carport for 2 cars need to be?
Width decides the gap in a carport for 2 cars: two 2025 Toyota Camrys have 15.7 in per gap at 16 ft and 31.7 in at 20 ft.
| Carport width | Two 2025 Toyota Camrys | Two 2025 Honda CR-Vs | Two 2025 Chevrolet Silverado 1500s | Two 2026 Ford F-150s, mirrors out |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12 ft (144 in) | Does not fit side by side (0.8 in too wide) | Does not fit side by side (3.0 in too wide) | Does not fit side by side (18.2 in too wide) | Does not fit side by side (47.4 in too wide) |
| 13 ft (156 in) | 3.7 intight | 3.0 intight | Does not fit side by side (6.2 in too wide) | Does not fit side by side (35.4 in too wide) |
| 16 ft (192 in) | 15.7 intight | 15.0 intight | 9.9 intight | 0.2 intight |
| 18 ft (216 in) | 23.7 intight | 23.0 intight | 17.9 intight | 8.2 intight |
| 20 ft (240 in) | 31.7 in | 31.0 in | 25.9 intight | 16.2 intight |
| 22 ft (264 in) | 39.7 in | 39.0 in | 33.9 in | 24.2 intight |
| 24 ft (288 in) | 47.7 in | 47.0 in | 41.9 in | 32.2 in |
Widths used: 2025 Toyota Camry 72.4 in, 2025 Honda CR-V 73.5 in and 2025 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 crew cab 81.1 in, all without mirrors, and 2026 Ford F-150 95.7 in with mirrors out (79.9 in without).
Two Camrys measure 144.8 in together: 0.8 in too wide at 12 ft (minus 0.3 in per gap), 3.7 in per gap at 13 ft and 31.7 in at 20 ft.
The 18 to 26 ft ladder, with door space by width, is laid out on the page for door space in a double carport. The 20 ft row is the case the 20x20 carport page works through.
Can two cars park end to end in a carport for 2 cars?
In a carport for 2 cars, two 2025 Toyota Camrys parked end to end measure 32.25 ft, longer than every listed depth in Table 3 except the 35 ft one.
Two 2025 Honda CR-Vs need 30.8 ft in a line, and two 2026 Ford F-150s in the longest configuration need 40.65 ft. Only the 24x35 listing is long enough for the Camry and CR-V pairs, and none is long enough for two F-150s.
Two Camrys measure 387 in end to end, so a 26 ft depth, which is 312 in, is 75 in short. The end-to-end table is on the page for two-car carport dimensions and end-to-end parking.
What does a carport for 2 cars cost?
Listed prices for a carport for 2 cars fall into three layers, and Table 6 dates each one: marketplace kits, seller-listed carports with delivery and installation, and national cost guides.
| Layer | What it covers | Range read | Price per sq ft | What the price includes | Date read |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Marketplace kits | Steel or fabric-cover kits at Wayfair, Walmart and Home Depot with a two-car phrase in the title, 12x26 to 20x25 | $489.99 to $1,599.99 | Table 3 rows 1 to 5: $1.35 to $3.86 | The structure, delivered; the listings do not state assembly or anchoring | October 6, 2026 |
| 2a. Seller-listed, sampled | Table 3 rows 6 to 10 and 12 | $2,470 to $5,585 | Table 3 rows 6 to 10 and 12: $5.87 to $8.60 | Carport.com states delivery and installation on its 18x21 page; Coast to Coast states delivery and assembly in the price | October 6, 2026 |
| 2b. Seller-listed, stated ranges | Ranges each seller prints on its own page for two-car models | Coast to Coast $2,195.00 to $10,525.00; Engineered Metal Buildings $2,895 to $12,635; Legacy $4,506 to $14,531 across 12 products | Not computed (mixed sizes) | Coast to Coast and Engineered Metal Buildings: delivery and installation in the price. Legacy: professional installation in 2 to 3 weeks | October 6, 2026 |
| 3. Cost guides | National cost ranges for a two-car carport | HomeGuide $3,200 to $12,000 (20x20 assumed); Angi $4,000 to $14,000 (21 ft long by 24 ft wide by 6 ft tall, for two mid-size cars) | HomeGuide $8 to $20 for installed metal; Angi $12 to $40 installed | Installed cost as each guide states it; neither is a seller price | HomeGuide updated January 16, 2026; Angi updated September 22, 2026 |
Prices change without notice and are re-read every 30 days.
HomeGuide's range assumes a 400 sq ft 20x20 footprint and Angi's a 504 sq ft model, so the two are not set on one per sq ft line. Layer 2a is the sample in Table 3 and is not a market range. Layer 2b is wider because those seller pages cover larger and side-entry models.
The carport kit buying guide lists which kits include legs, panels and hardware.
Last verified:
Share your ZIP code and project details to be matched with installers and manufacturers that serve your area.
Does a carport for 2 cars need a permit, and where do the other questions go?
Permit line
The 2021 International Residential Code (IRC), section R105.2, lists one-story detached accessory structures of 200 sq ft or less among the work exempt from a permit. Every footprint in Table 3 is 312 sq ft or more, which is 1.6 to 4.2 times that line. Local codes and editions differ, so confirm current requirements with your local building department before you buy or build. Thresholds and rules are covered in carport permit rules and thresholds.
Where to go next
Listings worded metal carport for two cars are covered on the 2 car metal carport page. For the steps of a build, see the do-it-yourself installation steps.
More buying help is in the CarportBay buying guide.
Ready to move forward
Get Matched With Installers Near You
Tell us a bit about your project and we will connect you with vetted installers and manufacturers who serve your area. There is no cost or obligation to request information.
See the affiliate disclosure page for how referrals work.