2 Car Metal Carport: Sizes, Listed Prices, Gauge and Permit Rules
CarportBay Editorial Team Reviewed
Last verified:
A 2 car metal carport is listed at 18 to 24 feet wide, and 20x20 listings read on 2026-10-05 run from $1,910 to $3,866. Every two-car footprint is over the 200 square foot model-code permit line. Gauge and wind or snow ratings are each seller's own wording, so ask which code edition a rating uses.
| Question | Answer in the sources |
|---|---|
| How wide is it listed? | 18 to 24 feet |
| What do 20x20 listings cost? | $1,910 to $3,866 |
| Model-code permit line? | 200 square feet |
| Frame gauge sellers state? | 14 gauge, 12 gauge upgrade |

On this page
What size is a 2 car metal carport?
Sellers list a 2 car metal carport at 18 to 24 feet wide, and a 20x20 is 400 square feet. American Metal Buildings gives the common two-car size as 18 to 24 feet wide and 21 feet deep, a one-car size as about 12 feet wide and a three-car size as at least 26 feet wide. The AA Metal Buildings article of 2025-11-24 names 20x24 for two average cars or small SUVs, and 22 to 24 feet wide by 25 to 30 feet long for two big trucks.
| Size | Square feet | Fit, as the size files word it |
|---|---|---|
| 12x20 | 240 | One standard car or small SUV |
| 18x20 | 360 | Recommended size for two standard cars or SUVs |
| 20x20 | 400 | Two standard cars side by side, or one full-size pickup truck |
| 20x25 | 500 | Two vehicles with extra length, or one shorter travel trailer |
| 24x24 | 576 | Recommended size for two full-size trucks |
| 24x30 | 720 | A longer Class C motorhome, or two vehicles plus a boat |
Footprint is width times length, so a 24x24 is 576 square feet. The fit column is the wording in the size files behind the carport size calculator, which also give the 18x20 as the recommended standard double and the 24x24 for two full-size trucks.
How much room is left between two vehicles?
The gap between and beside two vehicles is the carport width in inches, minus the two vehicle widths, divided by 3. The inputs are the maker widths: a 2025 Toyota Camry is 72.4 inches wide, a 2025 Honda CR-V 73.5, and a 2026 Ford F-150 79.9 without mirrors, 83.6 with mirrors folded and 95.7 with mirrors out.
| Carport width | Two Camrys | Two CR-Vs | Two F-150s, mirrors out | Two F-150s, mirrors folded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 18 ft | 23.7 | 23.0 | 8.2 | 16.3 |
| 20 ft | 31.7 | 31.0 | 16.2 | 24.3 |
| 22 ft | 39.7 | 39.0 | 24.2 | 32.3 |
| 24 ft | 47.7 | 47.0 | 32.2 | 40.3 |
Gaps assume the listed width is the clear width between the legs and the vehicles are centred. Confirm the clear width with the seller.
At 20 feet wide, two Camrys leave 31.7 inches in each gap and two F-150s with mirrors out leave 16.2. Depth is a separate check. The longest 2026 F-150 is 243.9 inches long, so a 20-foot depth (240 inches) is 3.9 inches short of it, and a 21-foot depth (252 inches) leaves 8.1 inches.
| Vehicle | Length (in) | 20 ft deep (240 in) | 21 ft deep (252 in) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 Toyota Camry (secondary source) | 193.5 | 46.5 spare | 58.5 spare |
| 2026 Ford F-150, longest length | 243.9 | 3.9 short | 8.1 spare |
| 2025 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 crew cab (secondary source) | 241.4 | 1.4 short | 10.6 spare |

What does a 2 car metal carport cost?
Nine US seller listings read on 2026-10-05 run from $4.78 to $10.42 per square foot. Price per square foot is the listed price divided by width times length, so $1,910 over 400 square feet is $4.78. Each price carries its own scope, and the page compares only rows that share one.
What do nine seller listings show?
The rows run from the lowest price per square foot to the highest, and no seller pays for its place in the order. Every figure is the seller's listed price on the read date, and the scope cell repeats the seller's own words.
| Seller and size | Listed price | Price scope, as the seller states it | Square feet | Price per sq ft (derived) | Read on |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Direct Metal Structures, 20x20, 9 ft eave | $1,910 | Starting price; delivery and installation included | 400 | $4.78 | 2026-10-05 |
| Alan's Factory Outlet, 20x20, vertical roof | $1,995 | Free delivery and setup stated for the 19 states the page lists | 400 | $4.99 | 2026-10-05 |
| Carport Central, 20x20 | $2,400 | Starting at; delivery and installation included in 48 states | 400 | $6.00 | 2026-10-05 |
| carport.com, 22x21x7, boxed eave | $3,070 | Free installation and delivery stated | 462 | $6.65 | 2026-10-05 |
| Prestige Steel Structures, 20x20x8 | $2,970 | Page notes prices vary by location; scope not stated | 400 | $7.43 | 2026-10-05 |
| Engineered Metal Buildings, 20x20x6 | $3,195 | Starting price; delivery and installation included; the page notes its pricing is being updated | 400 | $7.99 | 2026-10-05 |
| American Metal Buildings, 20x20x11 | $3,473 | Scope not stated on the prices page | 400 | $8.68 | 2026-10-05 |
| American Metal Buildings; AA Metal Buildings, 20x20x7 | $3,866 | Both sellers print this price; scope not stated on the prices page | 400 | $9.67 | 2026-10-05 |
| American Metal Buildings, 24x20 | $5,000 | Scope not stated on the prices page | 480 | $10.42 | 2026-10-05 |
Prices are the listed prices on the dates shown. Sellers change them, so confirm the current price and what it includes with the seller before you decide.
The table above reports what each seller states, so you can compare sellers on their own words before you ask anyone for a price.
Among the 20x20 rows that state delivery with installation or setup, the price per square foot runs from $4.78 (Direct Metal Structures) to $7.99 (Engineered Metal Buildings). Rows that state no scope are compared only with each other: $7.43 for Prestige, $8.68 and $9.67 for the two American Metal Buildings 20x20 rows, and $10.42 for its 24x20.
What do cost guides say?
HomeGuide (updated 2026-01-16) gives $3,000 to $8,000 as the average installed cost of a two-car metal carport, $3,200 to $8,000 for a 20x20, and $8 to $20 per square foot. Angi (updated 2026-05-03) gives $4,000 to $12,000 for a 20x20 double carport and $10 to $30 per square foot. At 400 square feet, those rates give $3,200 to $8,000 and $4,000 to $12,000.
The guides give installed ranges. The 20x20 listing prices on this page ($1,910 to $3,866) overlap the lower end of HomeGuide's range and sit under Angi's low end. HomeGuide also gives $75 to $300 as the usual cost of a building permit for a permanent metal carport.
What changes the price?
The listings show five things that qualify a price. Installation: carport.com, Direct Metal Structures, Carport Central and Engineered Metal Buildings state delivery with installation. "Starting" prices: three sellers print them, and two say prices vary by location. Frame gauge: Alan's and Carport Central list a 12-gauge frame as an upgrade. Certification: carport.com lists "Not Certified" as the standard build with certified upgrades. Roof style: Alan's lists a vertical roof, carport.com a boxed eave and Carport Central regular, A-frame or vertical.
Which gauge, warranty and rating wording do sellers state?
US sellers state a 14-gauge frame and 29-gauge panels as standard, and each words its wind and snow rating differently.
Gauge is a number for the thickness of sheet steel, and a lower number is thicker steel. On the Metal Supermarkets mild steel chart, 12 gauge is 0.1046 inch thick and 14 gauge is 0.0747 inch, a ratio of 1.400, so 12 gauge is 40.0% thicker than 14 gauge. Legacy Carports says its 12-gauge upgrade is "roughly 38 percent thicker". The chart values give 40.0%, and this page prints both without adopting Legacy's figure. The chart ends at 28 gauge, so the 29-gauge panels sellers state as standard are not listed on the chart.
| Gauge | Thickness (in) | Where sellers state it |
|---|---|---|
| 12 gauge | 0.1046 | Frame upgrade: Alan's, Carport Central, Coast to Coast, Legacy and AA Metal Buildings |
| 14 gauge | 0.0747 | Standard frame: Direct Metal Structures, American Metal Buildings, carport.com, Legacy, Carport Central, GetCarports and others |
| 26 gauge | 0.0179 | Panel upgrade: Carport Central |
| 29 gauge | Not listed on the chart | Standard panel: sellers above; not listed on the chart |
For the material itself, read metal carport frames, panels and warranties.
Which warranties do sellers state?
Warranty terms are each seller's statement about its own product, quoted from the page read, and "not stated" means the page read gave no term. Six sellers state a 20-year rust-through term, one of them only for its 12-gauge upgrade tubing.
| Seller | Rust-through | Panel | Workmanship |
|---|---|---|---|
| AA Metal Buildings | Not stated | Not stated | 90-day |
| Alan's Factory Outlet | 20 years on the 12-gauge upgrade tubing | Not stated | 1-year |
| American Metal Buildings | 20 years | 10 years, limited | 90-day |
| Carport Central | 20 years, frame | 10 years | 1-year |
| Coast to Coast Carports | 20 years | Not stated | 30-day |
| Garage Buildings | 20 years, steel frame | 10 years, separate warranty | Not stated |
| GetCarports | 20 years | Not stated | Not stated |
| Legacy Carports | Not stated | Not stated | 90-day guarantee |
How do sellers word wind and snow ratings?
The ten rows quote each seller's wording as printed, including Lowe's "WPH" unit, in alphabetical order. The last column shows that no page names a code edition; GetCarports names the IBC without one.
| Seller | Wording as printed | Units | Code edition stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alan's Factory Outlet | "certified for 150 mph winds and 35 psf of snow" | mph, psf | None stated |
| American Metal Buildings | "Engineer-certified structure" | No figure printed | None stated |
| Carport Central | "strongly recommends that you choose a certified building" | No figure printed | None stated |
| carport.com | "Not Certified" as the standard build, with certified upgrades | No figure printed | None stated |
| Coast to Coast Carports | No rating stated | None | None stated |
| Direct Metal Structures | "engineer-certified options are available if you live in a high-wind or heavy-snow area" | No figure printed | None stated |
| Engineered Metal Buildings | "40 PSF Snow Load Certified" | PSF | None stated |
| GetCarports | "up to 170 MPH wind loads", "65 PSF snow loads", "IBC code certified for your local building codes" | MPH, PSF | Names the IBC; no edition |
| Legacy Carports | "certified for 140 MPH wind speed in a 3 second gust" and "snow load rating for up to 35 pounds per square foot" | MPH, pounds per square foot | None stated |
| Lowe's | "Wind Load:100 WPH" and "Snow Load Capacity:35 lbs./Sq. foot" on several kits; "140 WPH" and "20.5 lbs./Sq. foot" on others | WPH, lbs./Sq. foot | None stated |
Ratings are quoted from each listing, and none of them names a code edition. Ask the seller which edition applies, and confirm the wind and snow loads required at your address with your local building department.
To compare two ratings, ask each seller which edition of the International Building Code and which design wind speed and ground snow load it uses. STRUCTURE magazine reported on 2024-04-09 that changes throughout the 2024 IBC, most significantly in Chapter 16, match changes to ASCE 7, so check a rating against the edition your local office has adopted.
Does a 2 car metal carport need a permit?
The US model code exempts one-story detached accessory structures up to 200 square feet, and every two-car footprint is larger. The 2021 International Residential Code, section R105.2, as Grant County, Washington prints it, exempts "One-story detached accessory structures, provided that the floor area does not exceed 200 square feet".
| Line | Square feet | Edition and source |
|---|---|---|
| Model code | 200 | 2021 IRC R105.2, as Grant County, Washington prints it (Grant County, Washington) |
| California | 120 | 2022 California Residential Code R105.2, El Dorado County document; the 2025 codes took effect 2026-01-01 (El Dorado County, California) |
| Virginia | 256 | Uniform Statewide Building Code section 108.2 (13VAC5-63-80), for tool and storage sheds and similar uses (Virginia Administrative Code) |
| Footprint | Square feet | Model code (200) | California (120) | Virginia (256) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12x20 | 240 | 40 over | 120 over | 16 under |
| 18x20 | 360 | 160 over | 240 over | 104 over |
| 20x20 | 400 | 200 over | 280 over | 144 over |
| 24x24 | 576 | 376 over | 456 over | 320 over |
A 20x20 is 400 square feet, 200 square feet over the model-code line. California's figure is from the 2022 California Residential Code, and the 2025 California codes took effect on 2026-01-01, so confirm which edition your county applies. The 2018 IRC section on garages and carports, as the City of Pacific, Missouri prints it, says "Carports shall be open on not less than two sides." The City of San Antonio carports fact sheet, dated 2024-01-25, says a carport needs a permit, at $160 online or $170 in person.
What about one-car and three-car sizes, roof styles and sides?
One-car listings run about 12 feet wide and three-car listings start at about 26 feet wide. Roof style and sides are the other two choices a two-car listing words differently from seller to seller.
How do one-car and three-car sizes compare?
American Metal Buildings lists a one-car carport as usually about 12 feet wide and 21 feet deep, and a three-car carport as usually at least 26 feet wide. Searches also use "single car" and "one car" for the one-car size and "3 car" for the three-car size. A 12x20 is 240 square feet and a 20x30 is 600.
| Wording | Width as listed | Depth as listed |
|---|---|---|
| 1-car (single car, one car) | Usually about 12 ft wide | 21 ft |
| 2-car (two car, double) | 18 to 24 ft wide | 21 ft |
| 3-car | At least 26 ft wide | Not stated |
Which roof styles and sides do listings offer?
The nine listings word the roof as regular, boxed eave or vertical. Alan's lists a vertical roof, carport.com a boxed eave, and Carport Central regular, A-frame and vertical roofs. Sides range from open to partly enclosed: the Prestige listing shows horizontal sides with 2-foot panels and two gable ends. The IRC wording quoted above asks that a carport be open on not less than two sides. Lean-to roofs and roofing sheets are separate topics.
2 car metal carport: common questions
Seven questions cover size, cost, fit, permits, gauge, ratings and lead time for a 2 car metal carport.
Sellers list two-car metal carports from 18 to 24 feet wide, and American Metal Buildings gives 21 feet deep. A 20x20 is 400 square feet and a 24x20 is 480.
Nine listings read on 2026-10-05 run from $4.78 to $10.42 per square foot, and 20x20 listings from $1,910 to $3,866. HomeGuide (updated 2026-01-16) gives $3,000 to $8,000 installed for a two-car carport.
By the arithmetic, a 20x20 fits two cars: gaps of 31.7 inches for two Camrys and 16.2 for two F-150s, mirrors out, if the listed width is clear. A 20-foot depth is 3.9 inches short of the longest F-150.
Every two-car footprint listed is over the 200 square foot model-code line (IRC R105.2, 2021 wording). California's line is 120 and Virginia's is 256. Confirm the rule at your address with your local building department.
Sellers state a 14-gauge frame and 29-gauge panels as standard, with 12-gauge frame upgrades. On the Metal Supermarkets chart, 12 gauge is 0.1046 inch and 14 gauge 0.0747 inch, so 12 gauge is 40.0% thicker.
Each seller words it differently. Legacy states 140 MPH and 35 pounds per square foot, GetCarports 170 MPH and 65 PSF. None of the ten sellers read names a code edition, so ask which edition a rating uses.
Legacy states carports are generally 2-3 weeks from order date to install date for most of its coverage areas. carport.com states most buildings can be completed in just one day's time. Both are the sellers' own statements.
Ready to move forward
Get Matched With Installers Near You
Tell us a bit about your project and we will connect you with vetted installers and manufacturers who serve your area. There is no cost or obligation to request information.
See the affiliate disclosure page for how referrals work.
Where to read next
CarportBay's metal carport, two-car, permit and cost pages go deeper on each point of this 2 car metal carport page.
Sources
Each price, rating and warranty above is quoted from the seller page named, on the read date. Guides and codes are cited with the edition or update date shown.
- Alan's Factory Outlet, 20x20 vertical metal carport (updated 2025-10-17; read 2026-10-05)
- Alan's Factory Outlet, 2-car carports (updated 2026-06-15; read 2026-10-05)
- Direct Metal Structures, 20x20 metal carport (updated 2026-09-23; read 2026-10-05)
- Carport Central, 20x20 metal carport (updated 2024-11-18; read 2026-10-05)
- Engineered Metal Buildings, 20x20x6 two car carport (read 2026-10-05)
- American Metal Buildings, Metal carport prices (updated 2026-04-28; read 2026-10-05)
- American Metal Buildings, 20x20x7 two car carport (updated 2026-02-02; read 2026-10-05)
- American Metal Buildings, Metal carports, size guidance (updated 2023-07-06; read 2026-10-05)
- Prestige Steel Structures, 20x20x8 two car carport (read 2026-10-05)
- carport.com, Two car steel carport 22x21x7 (updated 2026-04-05; read 2026-10-05)
- AA Metal Buildings, Two-car carports (read 2026-10-05)
- AA Metal Buildings, Two car metal carports: a real-world guide to space, sizes and cost (updated 2025-11-24; read 2026-10-05)
- Legacy Carports, 2 car carports (read 2026-10-05)
- Coast to Coast Carports, 20x20 two car carport, vertical roof (read 2026-10-05)
- GetCarports, Two car carport (read 2026-10-05)
- Garage Buildings, 2 car carports (read 2026-10-05)
- Garage Buildings, Warranty (read 2026-10-05)
- Lowe's, 2 car metal frame carports (read 2026-10-05)
- HomeGuide, Metal carport prices (updated 2026-01-16; read 2026-10-05)
- Angi, Metal carport installation cost (updated 2026-05-03; read 2026-10-05)
- Metal Supermarkets, Sheet metal gauge chart (updated 2024-03-05; read 2026-10-05)
- Grant County, Washington, 2021 IRC section R105.2, work exempt from permit (read 2026-10-05)
- El Dorado County, California, 2022 California Residential Code R105.2 permit exemptions (read 2026-10-05)
- El Dorado County, California, 2025 building code adoption (read 2026-10-05)
- Virginia Administrative Code, 13VAC5-63-80, Uniform Statewide Building Code section 108 (read 2026-10-05)
- City of Pacific, Missouri, 2018 IRC section R309, garages and carports (read 2026-10-05)
- City of San Antonio, Carports fact sheet (updated 2024-01-25; read 2026-10-05)
- STRUCTURE magazine, 2024 IBC significant structural changes, part 6: loads (updated 2024-04-09; read 2026-10-05)
Last verified: