Skip to main content
CarportBay

Metal Roof Carport: Roof Styles, Gauge, Pitch and Cost

CarportBay Editorial Team Reviewed

Last verified:

A metal roof carport is a steel frame under steel roof panels. Sellers name three roof styles: regular, boxed eave and vertical. Where a roof gauge is printed, 29 is usual. Panel makers list a 3:12 minimum slope for most exposed-fastener panels, but only two of 17 sellers read print a pitch. Ask for style, gauge and pitch in writing.

The short answers, from the sources read on 2026-10-06
QuestionAnswer in the sources
Roof styles sellers name?Regular, boxed eave, vertical
Usual roof sheet gauge?29, where printed
Most makers' minimum slope?3:12, 14.04 degrees
Listed price per sq ft?$4.49 to $16.71 installed
Steel carport with a boxed-eave gable roof and ribbed metal panels sheltering a 2025 Toyota Camry
A steel carport with a low-slope boxed-eave gable roof and horizontal ribbed metal panels, with a 2025 Toyota Camry parked under it beside a house.

What is a metal roof carport?

A metal roof carport is an open-sided structure with steel roof panels on a steel frame, listed by makers, dealers and retailers by size, roof style and gauge.

Material, price and size across all metal carports sit on the metal carports page, and this page covers the roof.

Five specifications describe the roof. Style is the shape and the panel direction. Gauge is the sheet thickness, and a higher number is thinner. Profile is the rib shape. Pitch is the rise in inches for each 12 inches of run, written x:12. Coating is the zinc, aluminum-zinc or paint layer. Sellers print style often, gauge at 7 of 17 and pitch at 2.

Read how an aluminum carport roof differs from steel, or wood carports built for a metal roof.

Makers such as Eagle Carports build their own carports. Dealers such as Carport Central sell makers' carports under their own names. Retailers such as Home Depot list do-it-yourself kits from third-party brands.

Roof styles as sellers name them, with the price order each seller gives
StylePanel direction and shapeNames sellers printPrice order
RegularHorizontal panels, rounded or bowed cornersRegular (Carport.com, Coast to Coast, Alan's, Carport Central, AA); Sonoran (Absolute Steel)Lowest
Boxed eaveStraight gable sides, horizontal panels, boxed trimBoxed eave, A-frame, A-frame horizontal (Carport.com, American Metal Buildings, Coast to Coast)Next
VerticalBoxed-eave shape, panels run ridge to eave, extra framingVertical, A-frame vertical (Viking, AA, Northedge); Mohave (Absolute Steel)Highest
Single slopeOne roof planeSingle Slope (Absolute Steel)Not stated
Other namesNot defined in the pages readGable (Eagle); San Tan, SofTop (Absolute Steel)Not stated

No seller page read describes a flat roof. SofTop is a tensioned fabric canopy and is not covered.

Which roof style: regular, boxed eave or vertical?

Sellers name three roof styles for a metal carport, regular, boxed eave and vertical, and every seller that states a price order lists regular lowest and vertical highest.

Regular has horizontal panels and rounded corners. Boxed eave, also called A-frame, has straight gable sides with horizontal panels. Vertical keeps the boxed-eave shape, but its panels run from ridge to eave on extra framing, such as hat channels.

Three metal carport roof styles drawn side by side: regular, boxed eave and vertical, from lowest to highest price
Three roof styles as sellers name them: regular with horizontal panels, boxed eave (also called A-frame) with horizontal panels, and vertical with panels running from ridge to eave. Diagram: CarportBay.

Eagle Carports lists a vertical upgrade of +$400 to +$1,200 and ties it to extra framing. A Metal America article dated 2026-03-18 lists +$200 to +$600 for A-frame and +$400 to +$1,200 for vertical. Bargain Metal Buildings lists +$150 to +$200 for A-frame and +$300 to +$400 for vertical on its 12x12 page.

Only one pair is like for like. At Carport.com, a 12x21x8 vertical lists $125 above the boxed eave ($4,085 and $4,210, read 2026-10-06). The 6 ft regular listing at $2,022.91 differs in height as well as style, so it is not read as a roof style premium.

What sellers claim and what they print

Eagle Carports says its vertical roof is "highly resistant to wind uplift" (page read 2026-10-06). The page gives no test or code edition.

Alan's Factory Outlet calls vertical "the strongest roof style available". GetCarports rates snow shedding Poor, Moderate and Strong for regular, A-frame and vertical. Carport.com says a vertical roof reduces standing water. Oregon Carports prints wind and snow pairs for each style. No page read gives a pitch, a test or a code edition for these claims.

In snow load rules, a slippery, unobstructed roof with room below the eave for snow to slide can carry a lower sloped-roof load (Structure magazine). The factor depends on the roof, so this page prints no figure. No code source read requires a vertical roof. carport1.com sets one on buildings over 35 ft long as its own rule.

What gauge, profile and coating should the roof sheet have?

Where a seller prints a roof sheet gauge, 29 gauge is usual, about 0.014 to 0.015 inch thick, and the frame tube is a separate 14 or 12 gauge.

A 14 gauge frame tube is 0.0747 inch thick, about 5 times a 29 gauge roof sheet (0.0747 divided by 0.015). Gauge numbers are nominal and differ by standard and coated basis. Of 17 sellers read, 7 print a roof sheet gauge, and a 14 or 12 gauge frame says nothing about it.

Bar chart of steel thickness in inches for 29, 26, 24 and 22 gauge roof sheet and 14 and 12 gauge frame tube
Steel thickness in inches for four roof sheet gauges and two frame tube gauges, drawn to one scale. A 14 gauge frame tube is about five times as thick as a 29 gauge sheet. Diagram: CarportBay.
Steel thickness by gauge, and where sellers list each gauge (read 2026-10-06)
GaugeThicknessRoleWhere sellers list it
290.014 to 0.015 in (0.36 to 0.38 mm)Roof sheetStandard: Carport Central, Carport.com, Bargain, Legacy, Carport Direct, Alan's
260.018 in (0.45 to 0.46 mm)Roof sheetGeneral Steel kit; Carport Central warranty banner; Alan's Florida buildings; Bargain upgrade
240.024 in (0.61 mm)Roof sheetNo carport seller read lists it for the roof; Metal America calls it common for standing seam
220.030 to 0.031 in (0.76 to 0.79 mm)Roof sheetBargain upgrade (12x12 page)
140.0747 in (1.897 mm)Frame tube, not a roof sheetStandard: Carport Central, Carport.com, Bargain, Legacy, Carport Direct, Alan's, AA
120.1046 in (2.656 mm)Frame tube, not a roof sheetUpgrade: Alan's, Carport.com, Carport Direct, Viking, AA; Coast to Coast for larger sizes

Upgrades are priced. Metal America lists $150 to $500 for a heavier gauge. Bargain lists +$200 to +$300 for 26 gauge and +$500 to +$700 for 22 gauge. Sheffield Metals says denting is cosmetic, puncture is the serious failure, and 29 gauge dents more than 22 or 24 gauge.

Panel profiles, coverage and the minimum slope makers list
ProfileCoverage widthAttachmentMinimum slope listed
Corrugated, exposed fastener24 in (Union Corrugating) to about 32 to 34.7 in (Western States)Exposed fasteners3:12 (Western States, Union Corrugating, Metal America)
R-panel or PBR, exposed fastener36 inExposed fasteners, no clips3:12 (Metal Sales, Metal America); 1:12 with sealant (McElroy)
5V crimp, exposed fastener24 inExposed fasteners3:12 (MBCI, Metal Sales); MBCI calls for a solid deck
Standing seam, mechanical seam16 or 18 in (Metal Sales)Concealed clips1:12 (Metal America); 1/2:12 (Metal Sales Magna-Loc)
Standing seam, snap-lock16 or 18 in (not stated for snap-lock)Concealed clips3:12 (Metal America)

Minimum slopes are the panel makers' own listed figures. A code copy read lists its own minimums and says panels are secured per the manufacturer's instructions. Ask the panel maker or your seller which sheet applies to your roof, and confirm with your local building department.

Four metal roof panel profiles drawn to one scale, each labelled with coverage width and the minimum slope makers list
Four metal roof panel profiles drawn to one scale, each with the coverage width and the minimum slope that panel makers print. The maker's sheet governs. Diagram: CarportBay.

MBCI calls for a solid deck under 5V crimp, and a carport roof may sit on open purlins, so ask the seller how the panel is attached. McElroy says end-lap sealing becomes critical below 3:12.

Metal Architecture lists G60 at 0.6 oz per square foot, G90 at 0.9 oz and aluminum-zinc AZ50 at 0.5 oz. Galvanized steel usually carries no corrosion warranty, and aluminum-zinc carries 20 to 25 years on the substrate. SMP and PVDF are paint types, and a paint warranty is not a roof life: Metal Sales lists 45 years on its DL-3 panel.

Metal Sales names neoprene washers and #10-14 x 1 in screws for a wood deck. MBCI says standard fasteners can begin to rust within 10 to 15 years.

Close view of ribbed steel roof panels on a carport with rows of screw heads and ridge trim at the top
Ribbed steel roof panels on a carport roof, seen from a low angle, with screw heads in straight rows along each panel and the ridge trim along the top edge.

What pitch does a metal carport roof need?

Panel makers list a 3:12 minimum slope, 14.04 degrees, for most exposed-fastener metal roof panels, and only 2 of 17 carport sellers read print a roof pitch.

A metal carport roof pitch is written x:12, which means x inches of rise for each 12 inches of run. The ladder is 1:12 4.76, 2:12 9.46, 3:12 14.04, 4:12 18.43, 5:12 22.62, 6:12 26.57 degrees.

Cross-section of a 20 foot wide gable roof at 3:12 with a 14.04 degree angle, 2.5 foot rise and 10.31 foot rafter
A 20 foot wide gable roof at 3:12 from the end: 14.04 degrees, a 2.5 foot rise over each 10 foot run and a 10.31 foot sloped rafter. Diagram: CarportBay.

In the profile table, corrugated, R-panel and 5V crimp list 3:12, McElroy lists R-panel at 1:12 with sealant, and standing seam is listed from 1/2:12 to 3:12.

Sellers rarely print a pitch. Alan's Factory Outlet prints 3/12 as standard and 4/12 to 6/12 on vertical roofs, in a help-centre article. AA Metal Buildings prints 3:12 on one 20x40 product page. A buyer cannot check a roof against the maker's sheet from the listing alone.

On a 20 foot wide gable, a 3:12 ridge sits 30 inches above the eave line and a 4:12 ridge sits 40 inches, with 2.3 percent more roof surface.

A pitch of 1:12 to 2:12 is low slope, and a low slope roof needs a system the maker lists for it, such as standing seam or sealed R-panel. A flat roof, 0:12, is below every minimum slope read. No flat-roof drainage rule was read.

A Seattle copy of the 2021 International Residential Code lists, in R905.10, 3:12 for lapped seams without sealant, 1/2:12 with sealant and 1/4:12 for standing seam, and says panels are secured per the chapter and the manufacturer's instructions.

Roof surface, rafter and sheet length at 3:12 for five footprints (gable, no overhang, panels run eave to ridge)
Footprint (ft)Area (sq ft)Times the 200 sq ft lineRafter (ft)Roof surface (sq ft)Ridge rise (in)Stock length (ft)Panels per plane (36 in / 24 in)Material at $1.52Material at $2.17
12 x 212521.266.18259.81887 / 11$395$564
18 x 213781.899.28389.627107 / 11$592$845
20 x 204002.0010.31412.330127 / 10$627$895
24 x 215042.5212.37519.536167 / 11$790$1,127
24 x 307203.6012.37742.2361610 / 15$1,128$1,611

Every footprint is over 200 square feet and over 120 square feet.

Enter a width, length, pitch and panel profile to see the arithmetic against the makers' listed minimums.

For one roof plane, read about metal lean to carports with a single slope roof.

How much does a metal roof carport cost?

Metal roof carport listings read on 2026-10-06 run from $4.49 to $16.71 per square foot of footprint with installation, and retail roof panels alone list $1.52 to $2.17 per square foot.

Carport listings by roof style, with price per square foot of footprint (listed price divided by width times length)
Seller and listingRoof stylePriceWhat the price covers$ per sq ft (derived)Read
Regular
Alan's Factory Outlet 12x20, fromRegular$1,295Delivery and installation, qualifying areas$5.402026-10-06
Coast to Coast Carports 12x21x6Regular$1,695Delivery and installation included$6.732026-10-06
Carport.com 12x21x6Regular$2,022.91Delivery and installation included$8.032026-10-06
Bargain Metal Buildings 12x20x9Regular$2,221Delivery and installation included$9.252026-10-06
Boxed eave
Alan's Factory Outlet 20x20, fromBoxed eave$1,795Delivery and installation, qualifying areas$4.492026-10-06
Carport.com 12x21x8Boxed eave$4,085Delivery and installation included$16.212026-10-06
Vertical
Alan's Factory Outlet 24x25, fromVertical$3,095Delivery and installation, qualifying areas$5.162026-10-06
Northedge Steel 24x20x8A-frame vertical$3,687Delivery and installation included$7.682026-10-06
Viking Steel Structures 20x21x7, fromA-frame vertical$3,375Delivery and installation included$8.042026-10-06
Bargain Metal Buildings 24x30x9Vertical$9,731Delivery and installation included$13.522026-10-06
AA Metal Buildings 20x40x12A-frame vertical, pitch printed 3:12$11,093.50Delivery and installation included$13.872026-10-06
Carport.com 12x21x8Vertical$4,210Delivery and installation included$16.712026-10-06

Delivery and installation are included, except where Alan's says "qualifying areas". Compare only rows from the same seller or the same roof style. The rows differ in seller, size, height and scope, so no premium is read from them.

Retail roof panels, material only (Home Depot list prices, 29 gauge)
ProductSize and coverageList price$ per sq ft (derived)Note
Gibraltar 8 ft SM-Rib Galvalume (Home Depot 987601)36 in coverage, 8 ft, 24 sq ft$39.98$1.6729 gauge, 0.015 in
Gibraltar 12 ft SM-Rib, white (Home Depot 987611)36 in coverage, 12 ft, 36 sq ft$78.00$2.1729 gauge, 0.015 in
Fabral 26 in x 8 ft 5V crimp, galvanized (Home Depot 4737001000)24 in coverage, 8 ft, 16 sq ft$29.98$1.8729 gauge
Union Corrugating ribbed 3 x 8 ft, white (Home Depot SP-MR-8800-042)nominal 3 x 8 ft, 24 sq ft; coverage not stated$36.50$1.5229 gauge; 45-year paint warranty

The panel prices are for material only. The Fabral price comes from the category listing, and the Union Corrugating figure is on nominal area, so its true price per square foot is higher.

Prices are the listed prices on the dates shown. Sellers and retailers change them, so confirm the current price and what it includes before you decide. A carport listing and a roof panel are different things, so the two tables are not compared line to line.

A 20x20 gable at 3:12 has 412.3 sq ft of roof surface, so panel material at $1.52 to $2.17 is $627 to $895 before trim, closures, screws, labor, tax and delivery. A seller's carport price also covers the frame, delivery and installation, so the two are never set side by side as a share.

A vertical roof, a heavier sheet and insulation each raise a price. Coast to Coast Carports lists insulation per square foot: Double Bubble $1.50, R17 single $2.00 and Prodex R17 double $3.00. Midwest Steel Carports sells CondenStop, an anti-condensation backing applied at the factory.

A kit is a different purchase. A Garvee 12x20 kit lists at Home Depot for $895, and the buyer installs it. You can see what a carport kit includes.

Get free carport quotes

The tables above report what each source states, so you can compare on their own words before you ask anyone for a price.

How does a metal roof handle rain, hail, fire and age?

In a study McElroy Metal cites, rain on metal reads about 52 dBA against 46 on shingles, and sources put metal roof life at roughly 20 to 60 years by system.

That is a 6 dB gap, and McElroy says open framing with no deck amplifies it. No seller page read mentions rain noise. Condensation needs warm, humid air to meet a cool surface (McElroy). No neutral source read addresses open carports. The Carport Co., a seller, says open carports carry a lower risk.

Interlock Roofing says UL 2218 Class 4 uses a 2 in ball from 20 ft and measures damage that affects waterproofing. Because 29 gauge dents more than 22 or 24 gauge, a 29 gauge panel on open purlins may dent more than a tested assembly, which is CarportBay's inference.

MBCI says metal panels are Class A over a noncombustible deck or framing without testing, and tested otherwise.

Ratings and test classes are for tested panel assemblies, usually on a solid deck. A carport roof as built may differ. Ask the seller what is listed for your carport.

Angi gives 25 to 30 years for steel, the Metal Construction Association 50 to 60 or more for Galvalume standing seam, the U.S. Department of Energy 50 or more, Paramount Building 20 to 40 for exposed fastener, and a Metal America seller article 15 to 25 for 29 gauge.

Lifespan figures here are ranges from the sources named. Roughly 20 to 60 years is CarportBay's summary of them, and exposed-fastener panels sit at the low end.

MBCI says to inspect fasteners at least once a year.

Do wind, snow and permit rules change with a metal roof?

For a metal roof carport, the 2021 model International Residential Code sets a 200 square foot permit exemption, the International Building Code sets 120 for sheds, and local rules differ.

A seller's "certified" means engineer-stamped drawings at a stated wind and snow load, not government approval (Alan's Factory Outlet, Carport.com). No source read ties it to a panel test such as UL 580, UL 1897 or ASTM E1592.

Sellers print wind and snow figures such as 140 mph and 30 psf. None of the pages read names a code edition. Ask the seller which edition applies, and get the design load for your address from your local building department. The ASCE Hazard Tool returns design values by address.

The 2021 IRC, R105.2, exempts one-story detached accessory structures of 200 square feet or less (Grant County, WA and Sioux Falls, SD copies). The IBC, 105.2, lists 120 square feet for shed-type structures (Larimer County, CO and Tukwila, WA copies).

A 20x20 carport is 400 sq ft. That is 200 sq ft over the 200 sq ft line in the 2021 model International Residential Code R105.2 and 280 sq ft over the 120 sq ft line in International Building Code 105.2 and in some California codes. Local rules differ.

Some places measure the roof area at the drip line (Portland, OR), so the overhang counts. A permit exemption does not remove setback, zoning, wind and snow, or HOA rules.

Common questions

Seven questions cover roof style, gauge, pitch, flat roofs, polycarbonate, roof life and cost.

Ready to move forward

Get Matched With Installers Near You

Tell us a bit about your project and we will connect you with vetted installers and manufacturers who serve your area. There is no cost or obligation to request information.

See the affiliate disclosure page for how referrals work.

Where to read next

CarportBay's metal carport, roof-style, material and permit pages go deeper on each point of this metal roof carport page.

Sources

Each figure above is quoted from the page named, on the read date. Seller and retailer pages are cited by name and date. Codes are cited with the edition shown.

  • Carport.com, building styles and 12x21 regular, boxed eave and vertical listings (read 2026-10-06)
  • Coast to Coast Carports, 12x21 regular style listing, roof style names and insulation prices (read 2026-10-06)
  • Alan's Factory Outlet, carport roof style pages and starting prices (read 2026-10-06)
  • Alan's Factory Outlet help centre, roof pitch, materials and certified carport articles (read 2026-10-06)
  • Bargain Metal Buildings, 12x20x9 regular and 24x30x9 vertical listings (read 2026-10-06)
  • Bargain Metal Buildings, 12x12 carport page (style and gauge upgrade prices) (read 2026-10-06)
  • Viking Steel Structures, 20x21x7 A-frame vertical roof carport (read 2026-10-06)
  • Northedge Steel, 24x20x8 A-frame vertical roof carport (read 2026-10-06)
  • AA Metal Buildings, 20x40 steel carport and carport prices (read 2026-10-06)
  • Eagle Carports, carport roof styles and metal carport prices articles (read 2026-10-06)
  • GetCarports, best carport roof style for snow (read 2026-10-06)
  • Oregon Carports, regular, A-frame and vertical carport roof styles (read 2026-10-06)
  • carport1.com, roof styles page (read 2026-10-06)
  • Absolute Steel, available carport styles (read 2026-10-06)
  • General Steel, 18x21 carport kit (read 2026-10-06)
  • Carport Central, metal carport prices and category pages (read 2026-10-06)
  • Legacy Carports, home page and horizontal against vertical roof article (read 2026-10-06)
  • Carport Direct, metal carports and vertical roof carports (read 2026-10-06)
  • American Metal Buildings, A-frame and vertical roof carports (read 2026-10-06)
  • Metal America (seller article dated 2026-03-18), carport with metal roof styles compared (article dated 2026-03-18; read 2026-10-06)
  • Metal America, minimum slope for metal roof and roofing panel gauges (read 2026-10-06)
  • Midwest Steel Carports, insulation and condensation control and steel frame gauge options (read 2026-10-06)
  • The Carport Co., do metal carports sweat (read 2026-10-06)
  • The Home Depot, 29 gauge roof panel listings and the Garvee 12x20 carport (read 2026-10-06)
  • McElroy Metal, R-panel exposed fastener panel (read 2026-10-06)
  • McElroy Metal, are metal roofs noisy when it rains (read 2026-10-06)
  • McElroy Metal, condensation, ventilation and your metal roof (read 2026-10-06)
  • MBCI, 5V crimp panel (read 2026-10-06)
  • MBCI, preventing roof damage from rusted fasteners (read 2026-10-06)
  • MBCI, UL 790 fire ratings (read 2026-10-06)
  • Metal Sales, DL-3 panel sell sheet (read 2026-10-06)
  • Metal Sales, Magna-Loc specification data (read 2026-10-06)
  • Western States Metal Roofing, corrugated metal roofing sheets (read 2026-10-06)
  • Union Corrugating, frequently asked questions (read 2026-10-06)
  • Sheffield Metals, metal roofing and hail (read 2026-10-06)
  • Interlock Roofing, UL 2218 Class 4 impact resistance (read 2026-10-06)
  • Metal Architecture, metallic coatings: differences, specification tips and warranty considerations (read 2026-10-06)
  • Metal Construction Association, life expectancy articles (read 2026-10-06)
  • U.S. Department of Energy, PNNL Building America Solution Center, metal roofs (read 2026-10-06)
  • Angi, how long metal roofs last (read 2026-10-06)
  • Paramount Building, how long an exposed fastener metal roof lasts (read 2026-10-06)
  • City of Seattle SDCI, 2021 Seattle Residential Code, Chapter 9 (R905.10) (read 2026-10-06)
  • Grant County, WA, exempt structures under 2021 IRC R105.2 (read 2026-10-06)
  • City of Sioux Falls, SD, 2021 IRC with strikeouts and commentary (R105.2) (read 2026-10-06)
  • Larimer County, CO, 2024 building code text (IBC 105.2) (read 2026-10-06)
  • City of Tukwila, WA, permit exemptions under the 2021 codes (read 2026-10-06)
  • Structure magazine, ASCE 7-22 flat roof snow load against minimum snow load (read 2026-10-06)
  • Everesteel, galvanized steel gauge chart (read 2026-10-06)
  • Sentrigard, metal roofing gauge guide (read 2026-10-06)

Last verified: