Skip to main content
CarportBay

Galvanized Steel Carports: Coating, Where Rust Starts and Cost

CarportBay Editorial Team Reviewed

Last verified:

Galvanized steel carports have a zinc coating, but a listing rarely says how much zinc or how it was applied. Of 14 carport seller sites read, 11 print galvanized or a zinc coating for the frame and none prints a coating weight. Ask each seller for the process, grade and rust-through terms in writing before you compare prices.

The short answers, from the sources read on 2026-10-06
QuestionAnswer in the sources
Sites printing galvanized frames?11 of 14 read
Sites printing a zinc weight?0 of 14 read
G90 zinc per side?About 19 micrometers
Hot-dip tube minimum (A123)?45 micrometers average
A 2023 Hyundai Tucson parked under a steel carport with a zinc-gray square-tube frame on a suburban driveway
A regular-roof steel carport with a zinc-gray square-tube frame and light tan roof panels, with a 2023 Hyundai Tucson parked under it on a suburban driveway.

What does galvanized mean on a carport?

On a carport, galvanized means zinc-coated steel, and it can describe coated sheet, tube galvanized in a mill line, or a frame dipped in zinc after it is built.

Steel carport frames, gauges and prices sit on the steel carport page, and this page covers the zinc coating.

Sheet or tube made from zinc-coated coil carries zinc on both faces, labelled G60 or G90. Tube galvanized in a mill line carries zinc outside and a zinc-based coating inside. A frame dipped in zinc after it is built carries a thicker zinc-iron layer on every surface, welds and cut ends included. That grouping is CarportBay's summary of trade and maker pages.

Three zinc layers compared in cross section: batch hot-dip, in-line tube and coil sheet
Three kinds of zinc layer drawn on a tube wall: coil sheet, in-line tube and hot-dip after fabrication. Layer thickness is exaggerated and not to scale. Diagram: CarportBay.
Zinc layers in one unit, read 2026-10-06. Calculated rows (calc) use 305.152 g per sq m per oz per sq ft and a zinc density of 7.14 g per cu cm
CoatingSourceZinc weight, oz per sq ftMicrometers per sideMilsTimes G90
G60 coil sheet or tubeASTM A6530.60, both sides12.8 (calc)0.500.67
G90 coil sheet or tubeASTM A6530.90, both sides19.2 (calc); AGA 18, GalvInfo 210.761.00
In-line tube, AGA figureASTM A1057About 0.5, outside face21.4 (calc, one face)0.841.11
In-line tube, AlliedMaker page1.0, outside face42.7 (calc, one face)1.682.22
Hot-dip, tube walls under 1/8 inA123 grade 451.0 per surface45 minimum average1.82.34
Hot-dip, walls 1/16 to under 1/8 inA123 grade 651.5 per surface65 minimum average2.63.38
Hot-dip, walls 1/8 to under 1/4 inA123 grade 751.7 per surface75 minimum average3.03.90

These are the published figures of the sources named, read on the dates shown, and the printed standard governs. They describe zinc layers in general, not any carport here, and the page does not say that any product meets any standard.

Bar chart of zinc thickness per side in micrometers: G60, G90, A123 tubing, A123 shapes
Zinc thickness per side in micrometers for G60, G90 and the ASTM A123 tubing and shapes grades, drawn to one scale. Diagram: CarportBay.

The American Galvanizers Association (AGA) is a trade body for hot-dip galvanizers, so the hot-dip rows come from an interested source. G90 is about 19.2 micrometers a side by calculation, and grade 45 is 2.34 times that. A dipped 14 or 12 gauge wall falls in the grade 45 row. No row says which layer a carport seller uses.

Sellers write metal carport for any metal. Read metal carports across materials and styles and how an aluminum carport differs from steel.

Type a coating weight or thickness from a seller's answer to see the zinc layer in micrometers and mils.

What do carport sellers print about galvanized?

Of 14 carport seller sites read on 2026-10-06, 11 print galvanized or a zinc coating for the frame and none prints a coating weight, grade or standard.

Eagle Carports, Legacy Carports and Absolute Steel print neither word. No seller names a G-number, a zinc weight or an ASTM number, and no product page read names a process.

This table reports what each seller prints on the pages read.

What 14 seller sites print about the frame, read 2026-10-06: 11 of 14 print galvanized or a zinc coating, and 0 of 14 print a coating weight, grade or standard
SellerFrame wording as printedProcess, weight, grade or standardFrame rust-through term
AA Metal Buildings"Galvanized steel frame"None20 years
Absolute Steel (TX)Not statedNoneNot stated
Alan's Factory Outlet"galvanized steel square tubing"; sheet "baked enamel"None20 years on 12 gauge only
American Metal Buildings"galvanized steel components"None"up to 20-year"
American Steel Carports"14 gauge galvanized"; blog claims hot-dip framesBlog says hot-dip, no weight10 years on 14 gauge; 20 on 12
Carport CentralGalvanized frame; blog says hot-dip for sheetsBlog says hot-dip, no weight20 years, 12 and 14 gauge
Carport Direct"Galvanized steel construction"None20 years, 12 and 14 gauge
Carport.com"galvanized frames"None20 years on 12 gauge; 14 gauge 30-day workmanship
Coast to Coast CarportsFrames "galvanized"None20 years on 12 gauge only
Eagle CarportsNot statedNoneNot stated
Keen's BuildingsFrame of "galvanized tubing"None"20-year warranty"
Legacy CarportsNot statedNone"20 year warranty", not a rust-through term
Midwest Steel Carports"a protective zinc coating"None7 years on 14 gauge; 20 on 12
Viking Steel Structures"100% Galvanized Steel"None20 years, limited

Four sellers print 2 1/2 in tube at 14 gauge and 2 1/4 in at 12 gauge, and a tube size says nothing about zinc. Steel carport parts and tube sizes get their own page.

Three sellers call their roof sheet painted or enameled, and none names the coating under the paint.

Retail kits at Home Depot and Tractor Supply print galvanized for the roof, the frame or both, and one listing says galvanized frame in its title and powder coated frame in its body.

Rust-through terms run from 7 to 20 years. Five sellers attach 20 years to 12 gauge only, and the 14 gauge term is 7 years at Midwest and 10 at American Steel Carports, which excludes "water under the base rail." No warranty page read mentions scratches, cut ends, coast or salt.

A warranty length is the seller's term, not a lifespan or a standard.

Ask each seller four things in writing: the zinc process, the coating weight or standard, whether cut ends and welds are touched up, and the 14 gauge rust-through term.

Where does rust start on a galvanized carport?

Sources place rust on a galvanized carport frame at bare steel spots such as cut ends, drilled holes, welds and scratches, and where the zinc has worn away.

Carport frame drawing with six numbered places where rust starts: cut ends, holes, welds, scratches, base and tube interior
Six places where sources say rust starts on a galvanized frame: cut ends, drilled holes, welds, scratches, the base on wet ground and inside the tube. Diagram: CarportBay.
  1. Marker 1: Cut ends of tube. The AGA and Gibraltar describe bare cut edges.
  2. Marker 2: Drilled and bolt holes. Metals Depot, a tube seller, says holes need cold galvanizing compound.
  3. Marker 3: Welds. Metals Depot says welds need it too.
  4. Marker 4: Scratches. The AGA gives distances over which zinc protects a scratch.
  5. Marker 5: Base rail or post base on wet ground. American Steel Carports' warranty names water under the base rail.
  6. Marker 6: Inside the tube. Wheatland, a tube maker, describes a coating inside its in-line tube.

No carport seller page read mentions markers 1, 2, 3, 4 or 6, and the map does not rank the spots.

The AGA says zinc protects bare steel only a short distance: at most slightly over 1/4 in, and down to just over 1/8 in when the bare patch is wider. Scratches under 1/8 in need not be repaired in mild climates, and its trade pages say coastal, marine or chemical exposure means repairing even small ones.

GalvInfo Note 3.6, from the International Zinc Association, a zinc producers' body, reports a 1 mm sheet free of red rust at 6 months and a 2.3 mm sheet rusted within 2 weeks. A 14 gauge wall is about 1.9 mm, nearer the thicker sample. That reading is CarportBay's.

Gibraltar, a roof panel maker, says the edges of its metal are bare steel and field cuts hold up less well than factory cuts. Metals Depot, a tube seller, says saw cuts, drilled holes and welds need cold galvanizing compound. The base rail exclusion is the one seller term that names a wet place.

McElroy Metal, a roof maker, lists copper contact, including from pressure-treated lumber, uncured concrete and ponding water as corrosive to galvanized sheet. No source on carport base rails and concrete was found.

ASTM A153 covers zinc on hot-dip hardware such as bolts (ASTM), and no seller prints a standard for bolts or base plates. No source read defines red rust, so this page sets no threshold for it.

Bolted joint and base plate on a zinc-gray square steel tube carport post, standing on a concrete pad
A carport post base plate and bolted joint on a concrete pad, where a square steel tube joins its footing, with a zinc-gray finish and light weathering.

How long does galvanizing last?

No source read gives one service life for a galvanized carport, because zinc is lost at 0.1 to 8.4 micrometers a year by corrosion class.

A G90 layer is about 19 micrometers a side by calculation, and the setting sets how fast it is used up. The AGA says most North American sites, coastal included, are class C3, and the Hot Dip Galvanizers Association of South Africa ties C4 and C5 to sites within 1 km of the ocean.

Zinc loss by ISO 9223 corrosion class and crude zinc layer years (calculation, not a service life)
ClassZinc loss (micrometers a year)Setting as sources describe itCrude zinc layer years, G90 (calc)
C20.1 to 0.7Rural, low pollution (AGA)26 to 210
C30.7 to 2.1AGA: most North American sites, coastal included8.6 to 30
C42.1 to 4.2HDGASA: within 1 km of the ocean4.3 to 10
C54.2 to 8.4Same HDGASA line as C42.1 to 5
Bars of crude years of a G90 zinc layer for four corrosion classes, C2 to C5, drawn on a log scale
Crude years of a G90 zinc layer for corrosion classes C2 to C5, from layer thickness divided by yearly zinc loss. A calculation and not a prediction. Diagram: CarportBay.

The years here are arithmetic, the zinc layer divided by a corrosion rate. They are not a prediction or a service life.

Portland Bolt, a fastener seller, quotes the AGA chart for a 2.5 mil hot-dip coating: rural 80 or more years, suburban 60, temperate marine 55, tropical marine 50 and industrial 45. That coating is thicker than G60 or G90 and CarportBay did not read the chart, so the values are second-hand and are not applied to G60 or G90.

A City of Nowthen, Minnesota, planner's memo gives about 15 to 20 years for a galvanized roof and cites no test. An Ontario farm factsheet says G90 truss plates show "severe corrosion within 5 to 10 years" in livestock barns. Neither is about a carport.

Two seller blogs claim longer lives, American Steel Carports for hot-dip frames and Metal America for G90 in mild climates, and neither cites a test.

Galvanized or Galvalume?

Galvanized sheet is coated in zinc and Galvalume in a 55 percent aluminum, 43.5 percent zinc alloy, and the makers read claim Galvalume resists corrosion longer.

Galvanized next to Galvalume, as the makers say it, read 2026-10-06
PointGalvanizedGalvalumeWho says
CoatingZinc, ASTM A65355 percent aluminum, 43.5 percent zinc, ASTM A792GalvInfo Note 1.2
Weight labelsG60 is 0.60 oz, G90 0.90 oz per sq ft, both sidesAZ50 is 0.50 oz per sq ft, not the same as G50Steelscape, McElroy
Corrosion claimZinc protects by sacrificing itselfMakers claim at least twice the corrosion resistanceDofasco, Steelscape (makers)
Warranty as printedNone for galvanized sheetUnpainted AZ50 40 years, excluding cut edges and within 1,500 ft of salt waterSteelscape, Dofasco
Conditions warned aboutCopper contact, uncured concrete, pondingAnimal confinement, wet cement, buried soil, copperMcElroy, Dofasco, Steelscape
What carport sellers printFrame: galvanized at 11 of 14; sheet usually paintedNo seller names its sheet coatingSeller pages

Every claim of longer corrosion resistance in the table is a maker's, and no source read compares the two on a carport.

The roof sheet is a separate product from the frame. Metal roof carport panels and coatings are on the metal roof carport page.

How much do galvanized carports cost?

Seller listings read on 2026-10-06 run from $4.49 to $9.67 per square foot of footprint, and no listing prices a carport by its coating.

These are the sellers' and retailers' own listed prices.

Seller listings with price per square foot of footprint, lowest first, read 2026-10-06
Seller and listingPriceWhat the price covers$ per sq ft (derived)
Alan's, 20x20 boxed eave$1,795Starting price; install not stated$4.49
Alan's, 24x25 vertical roof$3,095Starting price; install not stated$5.16
Keen's, 22x25$2,870Sale price$5.22
Keen's, 30x30$4,783Sale price$5.31
Alan's, 12x20 regular roof$1,295Starting price; install not stated$5.40
Carport Direct, 24x26 vertical$4,050Starting at; select areas$6.49
Coast to Coast, 12x21 regular$1,695Free delivery, install$6.73
Keen's, 12x20$1,620Sale price; free install$6.75
Coast to Coast, 20x20 regular$3,305Free delivery, install$8.26
AA Metal Buildings, 20x20x7$3,866Starting at; free install$9.67
Get free carport quotes

The tables above report what each source states, so you can compare on their own words before you ask anyone for a price.

Rows differ in seller, size, roof style and what the price includes, so no premium is read from them. The AA Metal Buildings page is titled 20x21 and lists 20x20x7, so 20 by 20 is the footprint.

Big-box and marketplace kits with their galvanized wording, lowest per square foot first, read 2026-10-06. Kit prices exclude installation
Retailer and kitPriceWhat the listing says about zinc$ per sq ft (derived)
Home Depot, WD28-160 21x12$1,021.40All-metal galvanized steel$4.05
Home Depot, 12x20 marketplace$1,084.62Title: galvanized frame; body: powder coated$4.52
Home Depot, Sudzendf 10x15x8$809.94Galvanized roof; powder coated frame$5.40
Tractor Supply, Arrow 12x24$1,599.99No coating stated$5.56
Tractor Supply, Arrow 20x24x7$2,842.9929 gauge galvanized roof; powder coated frame$5.92
Home Depot, Arrow 12x20x7$1,658Galvanized steel$6.91
Home Depot, VAMOP 12x20x8.6$1,944.43Galvanized steel, no gauge$8.10

Retail kits are a different price basis, because the buyer installs them. Kit prices exclude installation and run from $4.05 to $8.10 per square foot. See what a carport kit includes, before you read kit prices against the seller rows.

Prices change, so confirm the current price and what it includes. The two tables are not compared line to line, and no price here depends on the coating.

How do you care for a galvanized carport?

Sources read describe three care steps for galvanized steel: rinse off salt and dirt, check for scratches and bare edges, and repair damage with a zinc-rich product.

American Steel Carports, a seller, says rust is all about water and advises rinsing. Gibraltar says to wash Galvalume panels near the coast with fresh water at least twice a year. The AGA's check is to look for scratches and bare edges.

For repairs, the AGA, summarizing ASTM A780, lists three methods for hot-dip galvanized steel. Zinc-rich paint has 65 to 69 percent zinc in the dry film and goes on 50 percent thicker than the coating around it. Zinc solder and sprayed zinc are the other two. Clean off rust and oil first.

These repair figures are the AGA's summary of ASTM A780. Follow the maker's directions on any repair product. No source read says whether the A780 steps apply to pre-galvanized tube, so ask your seller.

The AGA, a galvanizing trade body, names ACQ and copper azole treated wood as active corrosion materials for steel and says hot-dip galvanized steel suits them. Wood carports and the steel hardware they use cover a wood frame.

Common questions

Seven questions cover the meaning of galvanized, rust, G90, hot-dip, service life, coastal use and touch-up.

Ready to move forward

Get Matched With Installers Near You

Tell us a bit about your project and we will connect you with vetted installers and manufacturers who serve your area. There is no cost or obligation to request information.

See the affiliate disclosure page for how referrals work.

Where to read next

CarportBay's steel carport, metal carport, aluminum carport and carport kit pages continue from this galvanized steel carports page.

Sources

Each figure above is quoted from the page named, on the read date. Seller and retailer pages are cited by name and date. Standards are cited by number and edition, and no standard text is reproduced.

  • AA Metal Buildings, 20x21 two car carport page (read 2026-10-06)
  • Absolute Steel (TX), home page and price page (read 2026-10-06)
  • Alan's Factory Outlet, home, carports and Florida pages and help center article on materials (read 2026-10-06)
  • American Metal Buildings, metal carports page (read 2026-10-06)
  • American Steel Carports, warranty page and blog posts (read 2026-10-06)
  • Carport Central, home, warranty, blog and 18x20 carport pages (read 2026-10-06)
  • Carport Direct, 24x26 vertical carport and warranty pages (read 2026-10-06)
  • Carport.com, home page and building styles pages (read 2026-10-06)
  • Coast to Coast Carports, metal carports, regular style carports and 12x21 pages (read 2026-10-06)
  • Eagle Carports, home and metal carports pages (read 2026-10-06)
  • Keen's Buildings, carports page (read 2026-10-06)
  • Legacy Carports, home page (read 2026-10-06)
  • Midwest Steel Carports, steel frame gauge options page (read 2026-10-06)
  • Viking Steel Structures, Montana metal carports page (read 2026-10-06)
  • Metal America, blog post on galvanized carports (dated 2026-03-21; read 2026-10-06)
  • Home Depot, kit listings (read 2026-10-06)
  • Tractor Supply, Arrow carport listing and metal carports category page (read 2026-10-06)
  • American Galvanizers Association, ASTM A123/A123M grade table (read 2026-10-06)
  • ASTM International, A123/A123M-17 store page (read 2026-10-06)
  • ASTM International, A153/A153M store page (read 2026-10-06)
  • ASTM International, A653/A653M-20 store page (read 2026-10-06)
  • ASTM International, A780/A780M-20 store page (read 2026-10-06)
  • ASTM International, A1057/A1057M-25 store page (read 2026-10-06)
  • International Zinc Association, GalvInfo, Note 1.2, zinc and zinc-alloy coated sheet (read 2026-10-06)
  • International Zinc Association, GalvInfo, Note 1.6, selecting coating thickness (read 2026-10-06)
  • International Zinc Association, GalvInfo, Note 3.6, protection at cut edges and damage (read 2026-10-06)
  • Steelscape, metallic coating summary (read 2026-10-06)
  • ArcelorMittal Dofasco, Galvalume brochure (read 2026-10-06)
  • ArcelorMittal Dofasco, Galvalume warranty (read 2026-10-06)
  • McElroy Metal, what is the difference between galvanized and Galvalume (read 2026-10-06)
  • McElroy Metal, technical bulletin on conditions corrosive to galvanized and Galvalume (read 2026-10-06)
  • Tube & Pipe Journal, batch hot-dip and in-line galvanizing, by an AGA author (dated 2002-04; read 2026-10-06)
  • Atkore, Gatorshield Plus galvanized steel tubing (read 2026-10-06)
  • Wheatland Tube, mechanical tubing brochure (read 2026-10-06)
  • Metals Depot, galvanized square tube (read 2026-10-06)
  • Gibraltar Building Products, why the edges of a painted galvanized roof rust (read 2026-10-06)
  • Gibraltar Building Products, Galvalume panel rust and washing near the coast (read 2026-10-06)
  • American Galvanizers Association, damaged galvanized steel and storage (read 2026-10-06)
  • American Galvanizers Association, when to repair scratches (read 2026-10-06)
  • American Galvanizers Association, hot-dip galvanized steel in contact with treated wood (read 2026-10-06)
  • American Galvanizers Association, touch-up and repair (read 2026-10-06)
  • American Galvanizers Association, zinc corrosion rates for ISO 9223 categories (read 2026-10-06)
  • Hot Dip Galvanizers Association of South Africa, Info Sheet 8, corrosivity of atmospheres (read 2026-10-06)
  • Portland Bolt, galvanized coating lifespan FAQ, quoting the AGA (read 2026-10-06)
  • City of Nowthen, Minnesota, planning packet with a planner's memo (dated 2019-03; read 2026-10-06)
  • Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Agribusiness, factsheet 25-017 on corrosion of roof truss plates in farm buildings (dated 2025-06; read 2026-10-06)
  • Xometry, gauge table for steel (read 2026-10-06)

Last verified: