RV Carport: Size, Height and Width by RV Class
CarportBay Editorial Team Reviewed
Last verified:
An RV carport needs a leg as tall as the RV plus a pull-in margin, which sellers set from 6 in to 5 ft. A Class A up to 13.5 ft tall needs a 14 ft leg at the tightest margin, 16 ft or more at the widest. Width starts at 12 ft. Length adds 3 to 5 ft.

On this page
RV Size Finder
Pick an RV class or enter your own RV. The finder returns the minimum leg for each seller margin, the minimum width with slide-outs open, the minimum length with the buffer and tongue, and the nearest listed sizes. It starts on a Class A at the class maximum, so a result shows before you type.
What size RV carport fits each RV class?
RV carport size comes from three numbers: leg height, width and length, and the RV's class sets all three. Table 1 lists class ranges from Storage.com and Extra Space Storage beside the legs and footprints sellers pair with each class. Sellers also call it an RV cover.
| RV class | Length (ft) | Width (ft) | Height (ft) | Leg sellers list | Footprints sellers list |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Class A motorhome | 26 to 45 | 8 to 8.5 | 12 to 13.5 | 14 ft (Alan's, Western Timber Frame), at least 14 ft (Coast to Coast), 14 to 16 ft (EMB, MaxSteel), 16 ft or more (General Steel) | 16x40 (Western Timber Frame), 14x45 and 20x45 (Alan's) |
| Class B motorhome | 17 to 23 | 7 to 8 | 9 to 10 | 10 ft (Western Timber Frame), 12 to 14 ft (MaxSteel) | 14x24 (Western Timber Frame), 12x25 (Alan's) |
| Class C motorhome | 20 to 33 | 8 to 8.5 | 10 to 12 | 12 ft (Alan's, Western Timber Frame), 12 to 14 ft (MaxSteel), 13 to 14 ft (EMB) | 14x30 (Western Timber Frame), 12x40 (Alan's) |
| Fifth wheel | 22 to 40 | 8 to 8.5 | 12 to 13.5 | 14 ft (Alan's, EMB), 13 to 14 ft or more (American Steel Carports), 14 to 16 ft or more (MaxSteel) | 14x45 with a 14 ft sidewall (Alan's) |
| Travel trailer | 12 to 35 (tongue not included) | 8 to 8.5 | 9 to 11 | 12 ft (EMB), 14 to 16 ft or more (MaxSteel) | No footprint named for this class in the pages read |
| Toy hauler | 24 to 44 | 8 to 8.5 | 11 to 13 | No leg named for this class in the pages read | No footprint named for this class in the pages read |
Class ranges are not the spec of your RV. RVshare lists Class A at 11 to 13.5 ft and fifth wheels at 11.5 to 13.5 ft. Measure your RV with everything on the roof.
A Class A up to 13.5 ft tall and 45 ft long sets the top of every column, so it drives the largest listings. For one worked footprint, see the 16x40 RV carport guide. Boat clearance is in the boat carport clearance guide.
How tall should an RV carport be?
An RV carport's leg height is the clearance at the eave, where the roof meets the post. The RV passes under that point, so the leg must be the RV's tallest point plus a pull-in margin, the gap above the roof when you drive in. The peak sits 2 to 4.5 ft above the leg at Carports R Us, and Carport.com says clearance is the leg height, not the peak.
Sellers agree on that formula and differ on the margin. Table 2 sets four margins side by side: 6 to 12 in at EMB, 12 to 18 in at Western Timber Frame and GetCarports, 2 to 3 ft at American Steel Carports and 3 to 5 ft at MaxSteel Buildings. Class A leg advice runs from 12 to 14 ft at American Steel Carports to at least 16 ft at General Steel.
| Seller | Class A leg | Margin above the RV | Roof equipment | Page date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Engineered Metal Buildings (EMB) | 14 to 16 ft | 6 to 12 in above the tallest point | Not stated | 2026-03-02 |
| Western Timber Frame | 14 ft | 12 to 18 in above the highest point | Measure to the highest point, air conditioner included | 2026-09-04 |
| GetCarports | Class A stands 12 to 13.5 ft or more | 12 to 18 in above the highest fixed point | Measure to the highest fixed point, air conditioners included | 2026-02-03 |
| American Steel Carports | 12 to 14 ft | 2 to 3 ft above the RV | Rooftop gear adds 8 to 12 in or more | 2025-06-18 |
| MaxSteel Buildings | 14 to 16 ft or more | Cover 3 to 5 ft taller than the RV | An air conditioner adds 12 to 18 in | 2026-08-26 |
| General Steel | At least 16 ft | Most Class A stand 14 ft against a 16 ft minimum | Not stated | not shown |
| Alan's Factory Outlet | 14 ft | Not stated | Rooftop gear adds a foot or more, so size up | 2026-07-17 |
| Coast to Coast Carports | At least 14 ft | Not stated | Not stated | 2023-07-24 |
Table 3 adds each margin to a class's tallest listed height. A Class A at 13.5 ft needs a leg of 14.0 to 14.5 ft at the Tight margin and 16.5 to 18.5 ft at the Widest. The Middle column, 12 to 18 in, is a range two sellers publish, not a standard.
| RV class | Height (ft) | Tight 6 to 12 in | Middle 12 to 18 in (range two sellers publish) | Wide 2 to 3 ft | Widest 3 to 5 ft | Middle plus 12 to 18 in roof gear |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Class A motorhome | 12 to 13.5 | 14.0 to 14.5 | 14.5 to 15.0 | 15.5 to 16.5 | 16.5 to 18.5 | 15.5 to 16.5 |
| Class B motorhome | 9 to 10 | 10.5 to 11.0 | 11.0 to 11.5 | 12.0 to 13.0 | 13.0 to 15.0 | 12.0 to 13.0 |
| Class C motorhome | 10 to 12 | 12.5 to 13.0 | 13.0 to 13.5 | 14.0 to 15.0 | 15.0 to 17.0 | 14.0 to 15.0 |
| Fifth wheel | 12 to 13.5 | 14.0 to 14.5 | 14.5 to 15.0 | 15.5 to 16.5 | 16.5 to 18.5 | 15.5 to 16.5 |
| Travel trailer | 9 to 11 | 11.5 to 12.0 | 12.0 to 12.5 | 13.0 to 14.0 | 14.0 to 16.0 | 13.0 to 14.0 |
| Toy hauler | 11 to 13 | 13.5 to 14.0 | 14.0 to 14.5 | 15.0 to 16.0 | 16.0 to 18.0 | 15.0 to 16.0 |
Listed heights can leave out the rooftop air conditioner. RVshare says so, and MaxSteel says an air conditioner adds 12 to 18 in. The last column of Table 3 adds that to the Middle margin, which puts a Class A at 15.5 to 16.5 ft.
How wide should an RV carport be?
An RV carport's width has to cover the RV's body, the walking room beside it and any slide-outs. Most RVs are built to 102 in (8.5 ft), the width the Federal Highway Administration lists for commercial vehicles, and Florida statute 316.515 sets the same limit for most vehicles. Seller guidance runs from a 12 ft minimum at American Steel Carports to 18 ft or more with slide-outs open at Carport.com.
| Carport width | Space each side of a 102 in RV | Room left with both slide-outs open | What sellers say |
|---|---|---|---|
| 12 ft | 21 in | Over by 0.5 to 2.5 ft | American Steel Carports and Eagle Carports: 12 ft is the minimum for most RVs. Carport.com: 12 ft for a camper. |
| 14 ft | 33 in | 1.5 ft at 2 ft, over by 0.5 ft at 3 ft | Western Timber Frame: 14 ft for Class B and Class C. Coast to Coast: 14 to 16 ft for Class A and 12 to 14 ft for Class C. |
| 16 ft | 45 in | 1.5 to 3.5 ft | Western Timber Frame: 16 ft for Class A. Coast to Coast: 14 to 16 ft for Class A. |
| 18 ft | 57 in | 3.5 to 5.5 ft | Carport.com and Eagle Carports: 18 ft with slide-outs. American Steel Carports: 18 to 24 ft with slide-outs. |
| 20 ft | 69 in | 5.5 to 7.5 ft | General Steel: 20 ft wide for most Class A motorhomes. |
| 24 ft | 93 in | 9.5 to 11.5 ft | American Steel Carports: top of the 18 to 24 ft range when slide-outs are out. |
Slide-outs add 2 to 3 ft per side when open (RVshare). With both sides open, a 102 in RV needs 12.5 to 14.5 ft. A 14 ft carport covers both at the 2 ft allowance and not at 3 ft. The 18 ft tier that Carport.com and Coast to Coast list leaves 3.5 to 5.5 ft of room.
Carport.com lists custom widths to 40 ft and names 26 ft for parking a tow vehicle beside the coach.
How long should an RV carport be?
RV carport length is the RV's length plus a buffer for pulling in and walking around. Eagle Carports advises at least 3 to 5 ft. A towable adds its tongue: Storage.com says a travel trailer's listed length leaves out the hitch tongue, which adds another 2 to 4 ft.
| RV class | Length range (ft) | Buffer (ft) | Minimum carport length at the longest RV (ft) | Nearest 5 ft listed length |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Class A motorhome | 26 to 45 | 3 to 5 | 48.0 to 50.0 | 50 ft |
| Class B motorhome | 17 to 23 | 3 to 5 | 26.0 to 28.0 | 30 ft |
| Class C motorhome | 20 to 33 | 3 to 5 | 36.0 to 38.0 | 40 ft |
| Fifth wheel | 22 to 40 | 3 to 5 | 43.0 to 45.0 | 45 ft |
| Travel trailer | 12 to 35 (tongue not included) | 3 to 5 plus 2 to 4 for the tongue | 40.0 to 44.0 | 40 ft |
| Toy hauler | 24 to 44 | 3 to 5 | 47.0 to 49.0 | 50 ft |
A 45 ft Class A needs 48.0 to 50.0 ft, which lands on a 50 ft listing. Sellers list lengths in 5 ft steps, up to 61 ft at Carport.com. A 40 ft length keeps the buffer for an RV up to 35.0 to 37.0 ft, as the 16x40 RV carport guide works through. An 18x30 footprint keeps it up to 25.0 to 27.0 ft, covered in the RV carport 18x30 size guide. The RV carport 20x30 size guide covers the same length at 20 ft wide.

How do four current RV models fit?
Four RVs worked from their makers' published numbers show the arithmetic. Table 6 gives each one's minimum leg at the four margins and its length with a 3 to 5 ft buffer. Maker names are sources, not recommendations.
| Model | Height | Length | Width | Leg, Tight (ft) | Leg, Middle (ft) | Leg, Wide (ft) | Leg, Widest (ft) | Length with 3 to 5 ft buffer (ft) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 Winnebago Vista 34R (Class A on a Ford F53 chassis) | 148 in (12 ft 4 in) | 425 in (35 ft 5 in) | 101.5 in | 12.8 to 13.3 | 13.3 to 13.8 | 14.3 to 15.3 | 15.3 to 17.3 | 38.4 to 40.4 |
| Winnebago Minnie Winnie 25B (Class C) | 132 in (11 ft) | 316 in (26 ft 4 in) | 101.5 in | 11.5 to 12.0 | 12.0 to 12.5 | 13.0 to 14.0 | 14.0 to 16.0 | 29.3 to 31.3 |
| Grand Design Reflection 150 Series (fifth wheel, tallest and longest floorplans) | 154 in (12 ft 10 in) | 417 in (34 ft 9 in) | not on the page | 13.3 to 13.8 | 13.8 to 14.3 | 14.8 to 15.8 | 15.8 to 17.8 | 37.8 to 39.8 |
| 2025 Airstream Flying Cloud 25FB (travel trailer) | 115 in (9 ft 7 in) | 314 in (26 ft 2 in) | 101.5 in | 10.1 to 10.6 | 10.6 to 11.1 | 11.6 to 12.6 | 12.6 to 14.6 | 29.2 to 31.2 |
The 2024 Winnebago Vista 34R is 148 in tall. A 14 ft leg is 168 in, so it clears the Vista by 20 in, above the 12 to 18 in two sellers publish and below the 2 to 3 ft a third publishes. If the 148 in leaves out the rooftop air conditioner, adding 12 to 18 in leaves 2 to 8 in. Across the four margins the Vista needs a 12.8 to 17.3 ft leg, and a 40 ft carport leaves 4.6 ft beyond its 35 ft 5 in length.
Airstream figures come from an RV Guide spec sheet, and the listed length may leave out the tongue. The Grand Design page lists no body width.
What roof style, gauge and anchoring suit an RV carport?
Roof style, gauge and anchoring change the leg and the price. Sellers list regular, A-frame and vertical roofs, and GetCarports recommends vertical panels for shedding water and snow. AMB offers 12-gauge and 14-gauge steel, and GetCarports points to 4 to 5 ft leg spacing as a common upgrade. Ask the seller for the code edition behind any wind or snow rating before you compare listings. See metal RV carport options for steel frames built for RVs. The 18x30 metal RV carport sizes guide works one footprint. Frame and roof choices are in metal carport frame and roof options.
What do sellers list RV carports for?
Seller listings read on 2026-10-06 ran from $5.69 to $9.77 per sq ft in Table 7. AMB and Alan's include delivery and installation, while the Home Depot Arrow listing is a self-assembly kit. Check what each price leaves out, such as sales tax, foundation work and permit fees.
| Seller and listing | Price | Dollars per sq ft | What the price covers | Date read |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AMB Metal Buildings20x30x10 vertical roof RV cover | $5,300 | $8.83 | Free delivery and installation | 2026-10-06 |
| AMB Metal Buildings26x35x12 metal RV shelter | $8,215 | $9.03 | Free delivery and installation | 2026-10-06 |
| AMB Metal Buildings20x60x12 vertical roof RV carport | $9,790 | $8.16 | Free delivery and installation | 2026-10-06 |
| AMB Metal Buildings24x40x14 steel carport | $8,987 | $9.36 | Free delivery and installation | 2026-10-06 |
| The Home DepotShelterLogic Arrow 14x38x14 RV carport kit | $5,199.99 | $9.77 | Slip-fit kit for self-assembly, no installation | 2026-10-06 |
| Alan's Factory Outlet12x25 carport for a Class B (starts around) | about $1,800 | $6.00 | Free installation, 21 states | 2026-10-06 (page dated 2026-07-17) |
| Alan's Factory Outlet20x45 carport for a Class A (starts around) | about $7,200 | $8.00 | Free installation, 21 states | 2026-10-06 (page dated 2026-07-17) |
| Alan's Factory Outlet30x41 vertical metal carport | $6,995 | $5.69 | Free installation, 21 states | 2026-10-06 (page dated 2026-07-17) |
Prices are listed by each seller on the date shown and change often. AMB lists its prices before sales tax. A listed price is not a quote.
Have your RV's height, width and length ready, and ask each seller for its leg height.
The carport installation steps guide covers what free installation involves.
Does an RV carport need a permit?
The 2021 International Residential Code (IRC) section R105.2 exempts one-story detached accessory structures of 200 sq ft or less, as published by Grant County, Washington. A 12x25 is 300 sq ft, a 16x40 is 640 and a 20x45 is 900, which is 1.5, 3.2 and 4.5 times that line. Local rules differ. Hillsborough County, Florida lists carports larger than 150 sq ft as carrying permit submittal requirements (ProBuilt, 2026-05-13), and Lake Havasu City, Arizona requires a permit above 200 sq ft or for any attached metal port (revised 2022-09-19). The permit rules and thresholds guide has more.
This paragraph gives general information from the codes and documents cited above. Confirm current requirements with your local building department before beginning construction.
RV carport: common questions
Start with the RV's tallest, widest and longest points. A Class A up to 13.5 ft tall and 45 ft long needs a leg of 14 ft or more, a width of 14 ft or more and 48 to 50 ft of length. A Class B van needs a 12 ft leg and 26 to 28 ft.
Seller guidance runs from 12 to 14 ft at American Steel Carports to at least 16 ft at General Steel. Class A motorhomes stand 12 to 13.5 ft, so a 14 ft leg clears the tallest by 6 in. Add 12 to 18 in if roof equipment is not in the listed height.
Seller guidance runs from a 12 ft minimum (American Steel Carports) to 18 ft or more when slide-outs open (Carport.com). A 102 in wide RV leaves 21 in on each side in 12 ft and 57 in in 18 ft. Open slide-outs add 2 to 3 ft per side.
Add 3 to 5 ft to the RV's length (Eagle Carports), plus 2 to 4 ft for a towable's tongue (Storage.com). A 35 ft 5 in Winnebago Vista 34R needs 38.4 to 40.4 ft, so a 40 ft length covers it with 4.6 ft to spare.
It depends on the RV's listed height. A 12 ft leg clears a 10 ft Class B by 24 in and an 11 ft Class C by 12 in. It leaves no margin for a 12 ft Class C, and a Class A or fifth wheel needs a taller leg.
Leg height is the clearance at the eave, where the roof meets the post, and the RV must pass under it. The peak sits 2 to 4.5 ft above the leg at Carports R Us. Carport.com says clearance is the leg height, not the peak.
Seller listings read on 2026-10-06 ran from $5.69 to $9.77 per sq ft. AMB listed a 20x30x10 vertical roof RV cover at $5,300 with free delivery and installation, and Home Depot listed a 14x38x14 Arrow kit at $5,199.99 for self-assembly. Check what each price leaves out, such as sales tax and permit fees.
Next steps for your RV carport
Match your RV class in Table 1, then confirm the leg, width and length with the seller. Read the carport kit buying guide and look at kits with legs, panels and hardware before you ask for quotes. The CarportBay carport guide covers the rest of the decision.
Ready to move forward
Get Matched With Installers Near You
Tell us a bit about your project and we will connect you with vetted installers and manufacturers who serve your area. There is no cost or obligation to request information.
See the affiliate disclosure page for how referrals work.
Sources
Each size, margin and price above is quoted from the source named, on the page date or read date shown. Seller pages are cited by name and date. Codes, federal rules and maker pages link to their publisher.
- Storage.com, Average RV Sizes: Dimensions by Type [2026] (page dated 2026-06-09; read 2026-10-06)
- Extra Space Storage, RV Dimensions by Type (page dated 2026-06-30; read 2026-10-05)
- RVshare, RV Dimensions Explained: Width, Height, Weight and More (page dated 2026-05-06; read 2026-10-06)
- Federal Highway Administration, Freight Management and Operations, Questions and Answers About Vehicle Size and Weight (read 2026-10-06)
- The Florida Senate, Florida Statutes 2025, section 316.515 (read 2026-10-06)
- Grant County, Washington, Copy of the 2021 International Residential Code, section R105.2 (work exempt from permit) (read 2026-10-06)
- Winnebago, 2024 Vista floorplans and specifications (read 2026-10-06)
- Winnebago, Minnie Winnie 25B (read 2026-10-06)
- Grand Design RV, Reflection 150 Series fifth wheel (read 2026-10-06)
- RV Guide, 2025 Airstream Flying Cloud 25FB specifications (read 2026-10-06)
- City of Lake Havasu City, Metal carport and RV port standards (page dated 2022-09-19; read 2026-10-06)
- Engineered Metal Buildings, RV Carport Height Guide (page dated 2026-03-02; read 2026-10-06)
- American Steel Carports, RV Carport Height Guide (page dated 2025-06-18; read 2026-10-06)
- MaxSteel Buildings, RV cover height guide (page dated 2026-08-26; read 2026-10-06)
- Western Timber Frame, Timber frame carport and RV cover (page dated 2026-09-04; read 2026-10-06)
- GetCarports, RV Carport Buying Guide: Height, Snow Loads, and Structural Upgrades (page dated 2026-02-03; read 2026-10-06)
- General Steel, RV Carport Building Packages (read 2026-10-06)
- Alan's Factory Outlet, RV Carports (page dated 2026-07-17; read 2026-10-06)
- Coast to Coast Carports, Which Metal RV Carport Do You Need (page dated 2023-07-24; read 2026-10-06)
- Carport.com, RV carports (read 2026-10-06)
- Eagle Carports, Carport Size Guide for RVs and Trucks (page dated 2025-04-11; read 2026-10-06)
- Carports R Us, Carport sizes (page dated 2026-09-23; read 2026-10-06)
- AMB Metal Buildings, RV carports (read 2026-10-06)
- The Home Depot, Arrow 14 ft. W x 38 ft. D x 14 ft. H Galvanized Steel RV Carport (read 2026-10-06)
- ProBuilt Steel Buildings, 12-Foot RV Carport Permit Checklist (page dated 2026-05-13; read 2026-10-06)
Last verified: